We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kathleen, GA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a nice hotel, but if you're just an average middle class person like me, stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

I don't have any complaints about the room, it's just little things for example, there is a pre-stocked fridge in the room, but the juice was $4. So we went to the store and bought our own. Well, the hotel attempted to charge us because we moved the orange juice to make room for our soda. We asked for a fridge (which is free in most places I stay) and they charged us $5/day. Things like that.

If you like upper end, high priced, pay for everything you touch, you'll like the Intercontinental. If you don't, like I said, stay at the HIE.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottinkga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    504
    245
    91
    77
See reviews for
253
427
108
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had a great meal last night at the Donatello and realized we were not able to drive back home (50 miles) without falling asleep at the wheel. I've learned not to try anymore as it will get you dead. We can't stay at anything that's not upper class (yes, I'm a prude) so we checked on availability at the InterContinental. AAA rate was $87!!! WHAT????? Yes, $87.

The place is what you expect for this chain: nice, safe, clean and upper class. I don't think you could go wrong here, so if it's near where you need to be then stay here!

One note: If you take anything out of the room refrigerator (even if you don't drink/eat it) the computer puts it on your tab. We moved some things out to put our leftovers in it and sure enough those items were itemized on our bill. The front desk girl laughed and said it happened all the time and promptly took them off.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswell4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Hotel was soooooo nice, checked in late and check in was a breeze, staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definately stay here on our next visit to Tampa. Close to everything we needed and walked to it. Parking was a little to be desired, no valet or bell to check in car, drove around to self park and almost didn't find a spot to park in the garage. Very pleased with the modern amenities, I am very picky about hotels and use this site and others to make my decision of where to stay. This is the first time I actually left a review, felt I had to since I use the site to make determination others may use the site as I do. THANKS INTERCONTINENTAL for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here while on business in Tampa -- very convenient location as this is close to te airport and located within a complex that has offices, restaurants, etc. Room was fine and clean but nothing special. My room (and many rooms it seems) faces offices across an indoor courtyeard -- it's close enough that you can clearly see people working in offices and they can see you, so I kept the curtains closed during the entire stay. Had dinner at Shula's Steakhouse and it was subpar. Steak was overcooked and without much flavor, while service was very very slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
400 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it was just as nice as I'd remembered. The location is excellent, minutes from Busch Gardens, walking distance from shopping, and one of the finest steakhouses in Florida is right in the lobby (Shula's - but that's a whole 'nother 5-star review!).

Rooms have high-speed internet access, flat screen TVs, premium bathroom amenities and a bathroom scale. (Definitely don't want to use that while on vacation!) There is a lobby bar and for breakfast, you can do it quickly in the lobby as they have a counter for teas/coffees/pastries, or sit and enjoy your first meal of the day in the restaurant.

The rooftop pool is a nice feature and they do have a fitness center. I'd stay here again most definitely. Staff was super helpful in getting me in and out quickly, too.

Room Tip: Look at their website for internet deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southmiamijill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

i book from 8/4/11 to 8/7/11 we decide to stay one more day the best is very confortable the hotel was so clean a organize service was great the mall is right across the street restaurant re close by ,only one small problem the wireless internet is very slow but the staff is very traine to service the people when i arrive at tampa airport with then minutes came to pick me up

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a nice, quiet hotel that is right across the street from the Westshore mall. We literally walked to the mall. The rooms were exactly how they appear on their website. Everything was nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. The only negative is the charge $5 per night for a microwave if you need one. We did not eat in the resteraunt. We will be back. We got an EXCELLENT price through a discount site.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RN29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#38 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing