We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Loved Shula's Steak House - Definitely will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #34 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is exemplary, very clean, and excellent condition, plus in a great location. The check-in service could have been more friendlier but beyond that, we had a great time in our two-night stay there. The bar was great/fun and the best part was Shula's Steakhouse. The food was 5-star quality as was the service! We look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a business hotel, apparently, but our stay was during the Memorial Day weekend.
The service was excellent, the front desk more than accommodating and pleasant, and the help was very friendly.
The maids seemed to be a bit slow in cleaning the room, but we should have been out and about in the afternoon.
Don Shula's Steakhouse is located on the first floor; there is a mall directly across the street and the Tampa International Airport is about 5 minutes away.
Tastefully designed, the only minor complaint is that the air conditioning seemed not to cool off enough for me.

Room Tip: Book through Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytrails555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Room was very clean, roomy, with upscale furnishings
and luxury bedding. The hotel restaurant is too pricey for us but we found many great choices in
nearby malls where we shopped. Very close proximity to huge mall. I would mention two drawbacks
for this location. Heavy traffic, pattern is one-way and took several times around hotel to figure out entrance and parking. Valet parking is $18 but self parking is available in garage which has very low clearance and tight spaces. Only small vehicles should park here. A few spaces are available outside
the garage for large vehicles. Staff was pleasant. Maid failed to replenish coffee supplies on second day but when we called house keeping it was quickly taken care of. No free breakfast here. Does have In-room fridge and well stocked, expensive mini bar.

Room Tip: We used booking site and got a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The hotel was not like any other intercontinental that I have stayed at before. The sheets had holes in them, a piece of the chair was broken off, and it smelt like cigarette smoke. It is in an office building in an area with nothing really to do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

InterContinental Tampa was a surprisingly good value, and nice place to stay. In a portfolio of inclusions that should be a part of most urban luxury hotel experiences, at the InterContinental Tampa, parking is free and in room internet is free. The recent renovation of this hotel was nicely done, with a vaguely nautical, island/Balinese theme, rich in blues and neutral, natural materials.

The hotel has a unique position as the middle tower in a three tower complex connected by twin atriums--most guest rooms have interior views then, and can be a bit dark. Rooms are standard size and freshly renovated--with high beds, dark blue accent walls, and new furniture, down to flat screen TVs. Bathrooms have been renovated as well, though the features are standard combined tubs/showers--with anemic water pressure.

The fitness center is small, lots of cardio but few weight machines. The pool on the 9th floor features rooftop views of Tampa Bay and the surrounding Westshore neighborhood.

Two substantial shopping malls and the TPA airport are close at hand, and the downtown and Ybor City neighborhoods are about 10 minutes away by car. Tampa is spread out, and most travelers would want to use a car if they stay at the InterContinental.

For a hotel of this stature, the rates are surprisingly low. Standard rates for the night I stayed were $99; an online promotion got me this room for $50. In either instance, the public areas and guest rooms feel like a hotel much more expensive--particularly when the free parking and internet are figured in.

Highly recommend this hotel, and would choose to stay here on a future trip, again.

PS--while identified as an InterContinental hotel, this hotel is owned and operated by Destination Hotels & Resorts.

Room Tip: If natural light is important, req. exterior rm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed for the holiday weekend and no complaints at all. Great place very clean rooms and nice pool. Will stay here again soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel w/ my husband while he was at a work conference. The hotel itself is fine, except for when the toilet wasn't flushing very well and when I opened the one and only (large) window to basically flash a bunch of office people...(the rooms open to a atrium!)
Fine for business meetings, but if you live out of town, stay at Renaissance Hotel at International Mall..much more to do there w/ Bay Street and the mall.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rda506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 164 in Tampa
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $165 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing