We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible exprience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible exprience.”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Arrived late and there was no one to help with bags. After I got to my room it smelled bad. Turned on the air and it was the loudest thing I have heard. At 2:30 am I called the desk and asked if they could fix it while I was out that day. I returned and it was not fixed. I called just for a guy to come up and say he couldn't do anything and they would move my room. As I wait to hear from the desk I pack all my stuff up just for me to call and them say they are going to replace the unit. After an hour I go down to check on when they are going to start and she said he would up in a minute. It has been another hour. I now have packed all my stuff for no reason and can't get comfortable because there will be 3 people replacing the unit. There is also no bathroom tissue holders. The shower head is cocked to one side so you have to get up against the wall to get wet. Everything else about the room is good. I guess if you can get pass all the other issues. Not a good exprience. Don't stay in room 521. It is bad.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    298
    108
    39
    21
See reviews for
254
216
61
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed one night precruise.
This may be the nicest room we have ever seen. There were two double beds * a sectional sofa that opened up to a double. There was a partial divider between the sleeping and sofa area, an area with a desk, a bar area, and sink vanity area. A giant flat screened TV as well as modern tasteful decor. Excellent for our family of 4 and would be great for the business traveler. Free continental breakfast with nice teas & star buck coffee. Nice sitting area in lobby with private alcoves. Very cold outdoor pool. Free shuttle to restaurants malls and airport. Airport shuttle was very quick and nice to use. Great rate on hotwire and given our choice of several floors at check in. Staff very eager to assist you.
One thing that keeps me from giving it a full 5* is the air-conditioning went on and off throughout the night with a clunk and when you turned it off it sounded like dishes breaking. The unit is located by the bed. No shuttle service to the pier, but a cab ride was only $22 with a stop at a convience store on the way, pretty reasonable for 4 and on our own schedule.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennsylvaniafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Manager at Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore, responded to this review, December 17, 2016
Thank you for completing our Trip Advisor Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response to make every guest experience the best it can be. I do apologize for the late response. We did recently renovate and have new staff members. The renovation was completed this year back in March and you should see our new modern look.

If I can be of any assistance to you, please contact me directly. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for a birthday trip and loved it! The size of the room was unbelievable for the rate that they were charging..under $100! Flat screen TV, full-sized sectional sofa, fridge,wetbar, etc. All the comforts of a suite for an standard sized price. The location is great too, very convenient to the mall and many restaurants. We will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

I just returned from a stay at this hotel and was a bit afraid to stay here after reading a few of the reviews on this board. I stay at hotels almost every week and my experience at this hotel was pleasant. I know Hyatt Place is not a full service hotel, they are designed with the business traveler in mind. For this type of hotel I give it 5 stars.

Upon arrival at TPA I called the hotel and was picked up with in 10 - 15 minutes, my check in was a breeze. The front desk clerk provided all the needed information I needed about the hotel, and arranged for a late check out.

The room appeared in very good condition, clean, and smelled fresh. I could not find any toxic or moldy smell any where in the hotel. The A/C worked fine,

Like all other Hyatt Places there is a state-of-the-art media and work center with a 42" high definition flat panel television that will easily integrated with your laptop. The Wi-Fi work perfect, I had no problem downloading files, or doing work via the web.

As well as providing a shuttle to the airport the hotel also provides transportation to the nearby malls, and business parks. If you have a car there is plenty of free parking with easy freeway access nearby to explore all of the Tampa Bay attractions. FYI you need a car in Tampa it is not a very pedestrian friendly city, and the public transit is horrible.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klarkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2009

To be totally honest, the 4th floor room had a comfortable bed, plasma television, and clean bathroom. The sofa was so filthy we were scared to sit on it and the toxic odor hits you in the face immediately! The room our friends stayed in was the same way. No matter the cost, never stay on 4th floor.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanishgal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The only good thing about the stay was it was for only one night. I had the pleasure of checking in late and leaving early. I recommend this place if you like moldy smelling hotels and guest rooms. The smell hit me once I opened the door to my room. The ac unit was loud and leaked all over the carpeting. Disgusting. All night the unit cranked on and off loudly. The decor was sort of 80's motel meets better technology- flat screen tv and gold poly bedspreads. The only thing I liked was that the fitness room- which consists of 2 treadmills and one elliptical, was furnished with good Life Fitness Equipment. Could of used some free weights though. Never again will I stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadKing9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This hotel (recently remodeled -previously AmeriSuites) is a good hotel with reasonable rates, free breakfast with lots of room. Stayed here for 2 nights while attending baseball games at Tropicana Field in St Petes (30 min drive). There were 3 of us in the room which had 2 full beds and a huge L shaped couch in the living area. Also had a refridgerator and microwave and a very large flat screen Tv 45" I believe. It was comfortable and clean but it did have a very small bathroom with the sink area outside of the bathroom. Used the workout room and it had 3 treadmills. Also used the pool which was okay - no whirlpool/jacuzzi. Behind the hotel is a runway for airport but the noise was not an issue. A/c worked well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinebois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.9 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Property: Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Address: 4811 W Main St, Tampa, FL 33607-4501
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Family Hotel in Tampa
#49 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa is an all suite property conveniently located in Westshore business district. We offer complimentary hot a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast each morning, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary parking and shuttle service within 3 miles; which includes Tampa International Airport, and numerous shopping and dining options. Our spacious suites include a mini fridge, 42" flat screen T.V., with a cozy corner living area with sleeper sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing