We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff made the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I visited the Tampa Airport Hyatt Place for an exhibition in town this week and was struck by the professionalism of the staff. I like this chain because of the layout of the hotel and the rooms, its very comfortable. The rooms have a big couch and a place to put your feet up, there is plenty of working space at the desk, and the bed is great. The breakfast and bar area in the lobby seem just big enough, comfortable and serve a great free meal in the morning. This is not, what I would refer to as a full service hotel, however the staff seemed to take there jobs very seriously. They greeted us whenever we arrived or got back, asked us how our day or meal was, asked if they could help us in any way and generally seemed to care. I was traveling with a muslim colleague and he asked them for a breakfast sandwich without the bacon that seemed to come standard. Honestly I expected her to be annoyed by the inconvenience and instead, with a smile, she made him a special sandwich and delivered it with a smile. Not a big deal but these are the little things that make the difference. Management typically has lot to do with a place that is this friendly and I commend them for the great job they are doing. I will be back with my staff next time we visit Tampa.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room upon checkin and they put me in the far corner on the fourth floor. It was...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eglzfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 877 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here because of its closeness to the airport. We arrived after midnight. Overpriced for what we got because of spring break. Average amenities. Thin towels ,scratchy sheets, and an average mattress. We did not partake in breakfast. Starbucks was right down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinCubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and with most places, there are pros and cons. On the pro side, the location is great. It is near lots of shopping and restaurants and major interstates. There is a free shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Good beds and pillows, refrigerator in the room, and a separate sitting area. Large HD TV.

On the minus side, there were questionable stains on the cover of one of the beds and on the black-out curtains. Maybe a bit more attention to spots on these items would be good. We had read about the wonderful breakfast, but think these comments must have been written about another property. The best part of the breakfast was the oatmeal and coffee. Perhaps the hotel could invest in units we've seen at other hotels and restaurants who serve buffets that keep the food warm and covered. The eggs and and egg sandwiches we cold and the biscuits were like
rocks. Maybe the thought was to drown the biscuits in gravy and that would warm them up.
We also gave up on the free wifi because it was so slow, and went down to the lobby to check directions for a restaurant. It would also be helpful to have some kind of TV channel selection.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boogieboybaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

the staff was amazing -extremely helpful & friendly! breakfast was delicious -saved us time, money, & the hassle of going out to eat. room was clean. has a fridge which was nice. the staff & breakfast make it worth the stay here

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptreat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I was greeted by very friendly staff as I had a long day, it was nice to know that all Hyatt are the same . The breakfast was great and so was the shuttle service but the next night I could tell that there was a commotion coming from one of the staff members and the driver, I was shocked at the way this young girl was speaking to him . The girl didn't really look old enough to be working there but I just felt bad for the driver . I will always love the hyatt and always will but this might have turned me off for awhile .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSparks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel though part of a cookie cutter chain stands apart. Staff is welcoming and makes you feel like a truly valued guest.

I appreciate a quiet room with comfortable seating for reading, working, and watching TV. Hyatt Place is the best in my estimation in that category. My only quibble is TV and Internet. Connection speeds are slow and TV is limited in choices. I have stayed at lower ranked hotels that offered full HD TV with the full range of channels. That really should be the default.

Breakfast offerings are superb. Good choice and good quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the airport as airside can be noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonestr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in April. It is a convenient location and close to many things in the Tampa Area. The hotel itself is clean and well taken care of. I liked how the rooms have a separation dividing the living area and sleeping area. The room is pretty spacious and has a separate desk space and wetbar area with a small refrigerator, which comes in handy. They only show the bedroom/living area in the pictures on the website, and after staying there I can see why - the bathroom is a little gloomy and looks like it could use a bit of an update, but its really not that bad.
The free breakfast that you get with your stay is probably the best free breakfast that I've had at a hotel - it includes both hot and cold items and the selection varies slightly each day.
One thing that I really liked about staying at this hotel is that all of the employees here were really nice and professional.
The only negative that I can think of is that the check-in area is not in a good location...if you are waiting there you constantly feel like you are in the way of anyone trying to walk by, but really that's just a minor detail.
I would recommend this hotel to others looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
1.7 mi away
Tampa Airport Marriott
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore

Address: 4811 W Main St, Tampa, FL 33607-4501
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Family Hotel in Tampa
#49 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $117 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Tampa is an all suite property conveniently located in Westshore business district. We offer complimentary hot a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast each morning, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary parking and shuttle service within 3 miles; which includes Tampa International Airport, and numerous shopping and dining options. Our spacious suites include a mini fridge, 42" flat screen T.V., with a cozy corner living area with sleeper sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing