We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't reserve room 160...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport
Ranked #74 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't reserve room 160...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

The staff is really nice and the shuttle drive amazing. But, I took a short nap and awoke with 20 bed bugs on my arm. I've never seen bed in my life. These were very flat and obviously very hungry. In one hour I had 20 bugs on me, what if I had slept all night, I can't even imagine how many bugs would have been on my body.

I recommend you stay at the Extended Stay Deluxe Inn around the corner. The staff isn't that freinds at the Extended Inn... but, the place is clean.

Luv

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank effortlesstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    318
    198
    81
    51
See reviews for
255
259
97
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lee's summit, mo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

This is not what I would expect from LaQuinta. The property is an old motel with VERY THIN walls - I heard every word from the room next door including the TV - as well as road noise from the busy road out front. Wouldn't suggest walking on the carpet in bare feet - and the dresser had visible water damage across the lower third as if it had been in a flood. The only positive is that it's close to the airport and it's cheap. So stay here if you don't care about getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

We live in Gainesville Fl and needed to catch an early morning flight out of Tampa. This hotel suited our needs perfectly. It's not fancy but is clean and has all the little amenities you'd want - hair dryer, frig and microwave. It's conveniently located to restaurants, malls and the airport. My daughter and her fiance stayed in one room and my husband and I stayed in another. We were both very satisfied.

The desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. In the morning they have a small but nice breakfast with several cereals, yogurt, waffles, bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, fruit and coffee. They also have an IHOP just next door.

The next time I fly out of Tampa, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjomcauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Arrived at 11.30 PM, much later than anticipated, left our Hotel in London at 6AM, GMT so the 24 Hour mark was looming , and we were ready for bed.
So to be able to see the La Quinta sign when arriving to collect the hire car was such a boost.
There was no parking at the hotel, but the very helpful guy on reception allowed me to park up at the entrance. He also kindly gave out free bottles of water when I asked for change for the vending machine.
I have stayed in better rooms, but it was Ok , and quite clean. The beds were surprisingly very comfortable
Breakfast was nothing special, but it was free,
Great position to visit International Mall with some excelent shops inc. Abercrombie and Fitch.
Perhaps the best thing was that I only paid £26 via last minute.com!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshbyBaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Maine
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We were arriving very late on December 31st and just needed some place to rest our heads, so we got a great rate of $39 and decided to stay here. Our flight was delayed, so I called to let them know so they wouldn't release our room. We finally arrived at 3 am, and our room had been given away. The parking lot was full, and there was no where to park. They put us in another room, and charged us $113. So, the next morning i had to work it out with a much more helpful front desk person, who fixed it and charged us the original amount. Now, several days later, I check my credit card and we've been charged twice. So now I've had to spend more time talking with the front desk to get this fixed. I think my time is worth a lot more than $43, and I've spent a lot of it just trying to get what we originally booked. They really need to train their staff better, as they seem to have no idea how to run a hotel successfully.

Other than all that hassle, the room was fine for the price we paid -- but not worth it for all the hassle.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
195 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed a couple of nights before going on a cruise from Tampa.
Phoned the hotel about the shuttle which arrived in 10 minutes. Room was big, internet connection worked well, staff very friendly. Big bonus was the International Mall a 5 minute walk (or the shuttle could drop you off) - with shops and a great choice of food. The sushi place was very good. Around the corner from the hotel you could take the bus (30) to down town Tampa a 20 minute ride.
Bath room clean and beds very comfy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

Pros:
Close to the airport, so maybe good for an early flight.

Complaints:
After 2 nights there i had to wash EVERYTHING in my suitcase as it all smelled.
Breakfast was provided, but eating it off foam plates bowls, and especially styrofoam cups meant it had little flavor. IHOP is next door. It wouldn't take much to at least give a reasonable breakfast experience. Fresh muffins, decent coffee etc. real plates and cutlery.
Bed was pretty worn out on today's standards. sagged.
A/c could barely keep up with December heat.
Bath/shower was small.
Hard to find electrical sockets for cell phones, laptop etc
No "welcome sir" upon arrival. More of a "here's your key, there's your room"

Be aware, this is an old-style motel with external doors and small bathrooms. last time i stayed somewhere like this was 10 years ago and about $20 (a fair deal IMO). I've stayed in some nice la Quintas, and thought this would be similar. Obviously I must be more diligent next time and not just assume "same chain,.. same product":

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.3 mi away
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport
Address: 4730 W Spruce St, Tampa, FL 33607-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#48 Family Hotel in Tampa
#57 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The newly renovated La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport is less than a mile from Tampa International, and central to all entertainment areas.While here check out Historic Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Clearwater and St. Pete beaches, Dali Museum, MOSI, St. Pete, Times Forum (Lightning), Tropicana Field (Rays), and Raymond James Stadium (Buccaneers). Transportation is available each day to Seaport in Tampa. The La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport has meeting facilities, a heated outdoor pool, and, off the lobby, our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning. Rooms are spacious, comfy, and filled with amenities; our staff is here to make your stay most enjoyable. See you soon! We are located one mile north of I-275, less than a mile from Tampa International Airport, and across the street from International Mall. Free parking and airport shuttle service is available for registerend guests during stay and we offer Stay and Go parking rates for our hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing