We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport
Ranked #77 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed here on 5/26 for one night as we were flying out of Tampa early the next morning. After spending 11 days between WDW and Key West, I must say the customer service that Terrance at the counter presented was top notch; very "Disneylike" for those that appreciate the service when staying on Disney property.

The room was clean, towels were plentiful, and I appreciated the fact that the sink was located outside of the toilet/shower area, but was still out of view of the large window in the front room.

The shuttle service was prompt, and Terrance even arranged for a shuttle to pick us up at our car rental return the previous night to avoid an extra days rental fees. We actually felt quite silly having him do this after we realized how close it was to Alamo, but he insisted that the shuttle pick us up, as the main road had no sidewalks and we would have been walking on the shoulder of a very busy road. He also offered to print our boarding passes for our early morning flight.

Although we did not utilize the pool, we did sit out there in the evening to endulge in a "beverage" to wind down from a long trip and it seemed to be a good size to do laps if someone was inclined.

We did not utilize the breakfast, but it seemed to have a large seating area and consisted of typical continental breakfast items.

As other reviews have mentioned, the shuttle does leave at a quarter to the hour each hour to go to the airport, but we did not have to stop at any other hotels, so I am not sure if that varies or has changed that they no longer do that.

Overall I would stay there again if I was flying in and out of Tampa. I only wish I had stayed there the night we flew in rather than making the drive to Orlando. If you are looking for a clean place to spend the night, great customer service, and close to the airport, this location fits the bill.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovin2Travel7192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 961 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2008

First the bad:
1) This is a motel, not a hotel.
2) It is REALLY close to the airport, and at times, it vibrates.
3) It is not new, but not bad.
4) Breakfast is prepackaged food, I couldn't find the coffee. IHOP is next door - 'nuff said.
5) For business, there are not enough electrical outlets.
6) There is a table w/chairs and a bed, but no place else to sit.
Now the good:
1) Staff is extremely friendly.
2) Bed is comfy.
3) It is very clean.
4) The pool is nice, and even heated if you care about those things.
5) All amenities are there except for a microwave.
6) Internet connectivity was among the best I have ever seen.
7) It is very inexpensive in comparison with other places.
8) The International Plaza mall is across the street - a very, very good thing.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank YorktownTraveler411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We stayed at this motel for one night before leaving the next morning for our cruise. We called the hotel when we arrived at TPA, and the shuttle arrived within 20 minutes. Check in was quick. There is an IHOP next door, and a Dollar rental car. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side, but not a major issue. We paid $10/person for a shuttle from the hotel to the port, and then an extra $10/person for shuttle transportation after our cruise from the port back to TPA. The shuttle had various times it was leaving in the morning from the motel with 11:00 am being the earliest time. Breakfast was continental, and there was a good offering of food. The area to eat breakfast isn't very large though, and it was very crowded as there were many guests in the hotel leaving for the cruise port that morning. As a plus, they had a free Sunday Tampa paper available in the lobby. Overall, a nice one night stop before our cruise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheresiaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Excellent hotel for an overnight stop.
Rang the hotel from the freephone in the baggage area and was picked up very promptly.
Room was clean and tidy. Although the bathroom was small there was a separate vanity area which I always find useful.
There was a small pool which looked very nice.
Breakfast was good with cereal, breads, muffins etc. with very nice orange juice. Next door was an IHOP where we had a very satisfying meal.
Only a 15 minute walk or short drive to an excellent mall.
Dollar car hire next door which was very efficient.
All in all we had a very good stay and would stay there again and recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, no frills overnight stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welshgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We stayed here one night to be able to take an early morning flight out of Tampa. We noticed that the motel was on the opposite side of the street that led to the airport which meant trying to cross it in bumper to bumper traffic. We had to leave for the airport an hour earlier than planned because of being on the wrong side. Probably wouldn't stay there again because of the rush hour traffic and no stop light to allow you to exit.
Rooms were ok and breakfast buffet was nice. Staff was not exactly friendly but not rude. During the wee hours of the night we were there, we were awakened by loud banging noises coming from somewhere outside. Sounded like some construction site or loud banging on steel somewhere. It continued for about 20 minutes twice that night. I wondered if that was a nightly occurance or just a freak thing. It was like sledge hammers on steel. Would not stay again if I knew it occured often. Could probably find something farther away from airport but would be faster than fighting traffic all coming into Tampa and having to cross that to get in line to go to airport.
Too much hassle.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OkieDokieIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

We used the hotel as a stop before and after our cruise. The free shuttle was fantastic. The hotel is not even 10 minutes from the airport. We called and had a shuttle there very promptly. There is shopping nearby, within walking distance, but the shuttle offered to take us, and gave us their cell number to call when we were done. They offered a ride to and from the pier for 10.00 pp each way. They dropped us off near the door, took care of our luggage, and were there when we got off the ship. The hotel is older, I don't think I would want to stay there for a week, but it very much served our purpose. The front desk help were very helpful and pleasant. We had no problem with the times to get back to the airport for our flight home. We were there on New Years Eve, and the shuttle ran until 1 am to get us back to the hotel. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsjkgoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

The reviews on this property are so widely varied that I can only guess it really makes a difference who you deal with and what room you get. It's possible since we booked with Hotwire we got the pointed end of the stick as it were.

First of all lets get it straight about the "wonderful" shuttle service. Yes, they will pick you up at the airport, but getting back to the airport in a timely manner is a whole 'nother story. The shuttle comes by ONCE EVERY HOUR at a quarter til the hour, and then makes it's lesurely rounds to the other hotels it services. So say your flight leaves at 8 AM, you will have to catch that 5:45 AM shuttle in order to arrive to the airport on time and make it thru the long security lines. A cab to the airport is $10.

Second, we found the R Crumb look alike at the front desk to be quite snide and petulantly, determinedly unhelpful and unpleasant.

Our room, smelling unhealthily of mold mildew and that certain je ne sais quoi of perpetual dampness caves have, was small and dismal, tho not obviously unclean.

The sheets were absolutely the most threadbare I've evr seen - like some spiderwebby tattered frock Stevie Nicks would have worn in the late 70s. They looked grease stained but it was just that they were transluscent in places. When I lay on the bed the fitted sheets popped right off as the elasticity on the corners were just an old memory.

Breakfast is between 7 and 9, if you are taking the shuttle for a flight leaving before 9AM don't count on getting any.

The only thing I enjoyed at all about our stay at this dismal property was the cheerful cab driver who came to take us away from there forever.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Memorial Hwy.
14.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#103 of 163 in Tampa
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport

Address: 4730 W Spruce St, Tampa, FL 33607-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#48 Family Hotel in Tampa
#57 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $83 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The newly renovated La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport is less than a mile from Tampa International, and central to all entertainment areas.While here check out Historic Ybor City, Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Clearwater and St. Pete beaches, Dali Museum, MOSI, St. Pete, Times Forum (Lightning), Tropicana Field (Rays), and Raymond James Stadium (Buccaneers). Transportation is available each day to Seaport in Tampa. The La Quinta Inn Tampa Airport has meeting facilities, a heated outdoor pool, and, off the lobby, our Free Bright Side BreakfastTM every morning. Rooms are spacious, comfy, and filled with amenities; our staff is here to make your stay most enjoyable. See you soon! We are located one mile north of I-275, less than a mile from Tampa International Airport, and across the street from International Mall. Free parking and airport shuttle service is available for registerend guests during stay and we offer Stay and Go parking rates for our hotel guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay Airport Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing