We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very good service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
Ranked #101 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value, very good service!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

With family in Tampa located not too far from the Westshore area, I have stayed in nearly all of the hotels in the vicinity of this hotel. I stayed in the Ramada for two nights this weekend, for the first time.

Here is what I discovered.

Like any property, there are pros and cons to this hotel. The Ramada often offers the best rate in the area for a full-service hotel, has a restaurant, nice pool, free wi-fi, a free breakfast, and a fitness room.

The negatives are typical of a value-oriented property-- and Ramada is a value-oriented chain, not the Ritz-Carlton! The furniture in my room was in good condition but dated. And the exterior of the hotel is a bit faded and ready for new paint.

This hotel got it right where it counted: the water was hot, the bathroom and room in general were clean, the bed was comfortable, there were adequate pillows, the A/C worked fine, the elevators worked fine, etc. The staff were all friendly, helpful, and engaging-- which is what counts the most.

Having grown up in Tampa, I know that this hotel was originally built in the late 1960s. I remember that! I also know that was built in a Florida-modern style of architecture. The riff on that here was that the lower level of the hotel, including the lobby and restaurant, are all enclosed as a single floor, and the upper floors are open-air. The lower level (lobby, meeting rooms, and restaurant) looks like a typical hotel, while the hotel rooms (upper floors) open to breezeway-style corridors.

It's retro. In fact, it's too bad that the owners of this property don't seem to be interested in playing up it's cool retro architecture. It's one of the best features of this hotel! The outdoor breezeways, blue tile around the elevators, and the interior-exterior courtyard are almost out of the pages Atomic Ranch Magazine.

I paid a few dollars more for a deluxe room, instead of a standard. As a Wyndham Rewards member (membership is free), I got some very nice perks, like late check out and a free newspaper. All worth it.

The bottom line on the Ramada? While perhaps not for people who want "cookie cutter" Country Inn and Suites hotels (yuck!), this hotel suits me just fine and I will return. It saves me $50 per night when compared to the Marriott, Wyndham, or Doubletree hotels nearby!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noskaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    324
    410
    263
    235
See reviews for
367
341
169
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel was very basic after advertising recent renovations. I wondered what the hotel looked like before. The ice machine nearest my room was broken. The main elevator was broken, and the second elevator was extremely slow, so I had to take a few flights of stairs. The room was very clean, although not modernized in my opinion. There was a microwave/fridge combo and plenty of towels. The drapes were very good quality and did an excellent job of shielding the sun. The air conditioning unit was a bit loud, but not unbearable. The water temperature and pressure were very good. I saw a roach on the night stand, which bothered me, but I do realize it could have simply been brought from the last travelers belongings just as bed bugs are transported. Wayne and Mike at the front desk were extremely pleasant and helpful. I somehow left my phone off the hook, and the front desk agent had someone come to my door to make sure I awake at 3a like I requested!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

i booked this hotel as i had a late flight into tampa with my family and needed an overnight stay at a reasonable rate, to be fair the hotel is quite close to the airport and was reasonably priced, unfortunately the hotel was quite worn out, the rooms were very old, the carpets were sticky, the bathroom was old and you didnt feel clean using it, the breakfast area was very very basic infact i just had coffee, the staff were pleasant enough. i wouldnt be going back as in my view the hotel needs some serious updating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vod999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I don't like Florida cities, so easy access to the airport on departure day is a big plus....very comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pegwillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobFalk, General Manager at Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for kind comments about the Ramada Tampa Westshore. Please come back and see us again soon.

Bob Falk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here in april to be close to the hockey arena. The hotel is very close to downtown which made it convenient. The beds are comfortable but the room is nothing special. The towels in the room are horrible! We even asked for new towels but got the same old towels back. Sandpaper would have been softer on your body. If you get the place for a good price it's not a bad place to stay but should not be your first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoogge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobFalk, General Manager at Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the towels you received in your room. They should have been for the pool area. We have double checked the towels in the rooms to make sure they are the correct ones which are upgraded.
We at the Ramada Tampa Westshore try to make everything as good as we can and welcome you back to try us again.

Bob Falk
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We checked in around 6 o'clock. Told the hotel that we would need to be at airport in the AM for a 6:45 flight. They arranged for their complementary shuttle. Upon hearing that we would miss the continental breakfast that starts at 6, the man that checked me in provided us with danishes and cereal. He also arranged to have a refrigerator delivered to our room. I asked for a recommendation for dinner that was close, he gave us the name of a great place to go. I wish I would have gotten his name, as he was amazing! We arrived for the airport shuttle the following morning we learned that it was overbooked (I guess they share it with other hotels as well) but the hotel arranged for a taxi for us. They paid for everything. Wow!! A+ service, will for sure stay here again if I am in the Tampa area. Mike was a great help in the AM.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123julie456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobFalk, General Manager at Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Ramada Tampa Westshore. Please come back and see us again soon.

Bob Falk
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Chose this due to proximity to airport for early flight. Didn't eat breakfast. I think it is tad overpriced for an average room. Our room was much bigger than many of the Choice Hotels we usually frequent that is true. It took me forever to find the room, numbering system a bit strange. It is really a motel, not a hotel rooms are outside. The internet was painfully slow. The updating I guess is newer carpet? the bathroom was for sure in need of updating. I liked that the sink was outside of the shower so 2 people can get ready. It was fairly clean, I think the bathrooms just need gutted... Bed was soft. Interaction with our check in person was so fast it was almost rude... Last name, clickty clickity. Here is your key, talked super fast and off she went maybe she had to pee.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Tampa Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Westshore Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport

Property: Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport
Address: 1200 N Westshore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Westshore Airport Hotel offers free airport shuttle to and from Tampa International Airport with limited hours, free wireless internet, business center, fitness center. Enjoy the outdoor heated pool. On-site restaurant "Royal Orchid" serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Great rates and friendly staff await you at the Ramada Westshore Airport Hotel Tampa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Westshore Tampa Airport Hotel Tampa
Westshore Hotel Tampa
Best Western Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing