We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG what a bad night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“OMG what a bad night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is OLD, tired and in desperate need of being torn down and rebuilt anew. It has absolutely no insulation between the walls and you can hear your neighbor's conversations as if they were in your room with you. The neighbor on the one side of snored and the walls were so thin that when I first heard it I thought he was in the room with me! The decor is really old and the carpets are worn and stained. Hallway lights flicker as if you are in a bad horror movie. The fitness room is the second smallest I have ever seen (I travel 75% of the time for my work) and the cross training machine (singular) is overdue for the scrap yard. This place not only provided me with a terrible night's sleep, but when I complained about the condition of the room and facility to the front desk person telling them that this was by far the WORST Marriott Property I had ever stayed at the response I received was "that's your opinion"...Really?!

Room Tip: Their is a brand new Holiday Inn Express around the corner...Stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildone_Z06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownePlaceSuites001, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Harry W,

I want to thank you again for your stay and apologize for the problems that you encountered during your travels. I am glad that I was able to speak with you directly to resolve all inconveniences. Since our conversation the day after your stay, I have addressed all staff on proper and acceptable responses to guests’ needs to ensure that we continue to deliver excellent staff service. Also, our fitness center is scheduled to receive its new elliptical training machine to match our updated treadmill and weight set that is currently being utilized by our guests. I hope that you would consider staying with our hotel again and I look forward to speaking with you in the near future.

At your service,

Holly Rodriguez
General Manager
813.975.9777
holly.rodriguez@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
22
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

For New Years' Eve 2011 we decided to stay in a hotel in Tampa and not have to drive home after midnight. We chose a hotel that called that morning to advise they had a waterline break and had to move us. We ended up at TownePlace Suites in Tampa, just off Fletcher and I-75. We were quite amazed of the 2 room suite, complete with full kitchen and doors separating the living room from the bedroom. We were allowed to check in early in the day to avoid check in after midnight celebration. We were greeted upon arrival, breakfast available in the morning, and thanked upon check out. Wonderful suites in this hidden gem!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACS33607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on July 20, 2012 for two nights. The desk reception clerk was very helpful, since we were 6 (2 adults and 4 teenagers) we requested extra towels, pillows and blankets. The young man at the front desk brought up to our room what we had requested in 15 minutes from when we checked in! I would say EXCELLENT service!!!!
The grab-and-go breakfast was juice, coffee, cereal and muffins, which was good for us. The beds where very comfortable in the rooms (we had a two bedroom suite). However, the sofa bed was small and uncomfortable......not enough sleeping space for two teenangers.
Kitchen is a nice plus; refrigerator is a nice size, everything you need is provided to you; i.e. pots, plates, dishes, liquid detergent, dishwasher detergent, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibiana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nothing really stands out about this one, you've seen one, you've seen them all.

Even though I never cook in hotels, I like the feel of a studio, with a small kitchen. Better fridge than your typical hotel room, I guess and some homey feeling.

I often have to work from hotel rooms, and so like the bigger desks of Residence Inns, and this one was no exception.

A couple of negative points about this one are the fact that this particular property is in bad need of remodeling, which their concierge has confirmed. She said they were on the tail end of their remodeling cycle and that would happen soon. I sure hope so, because everything was very dated, fixtures, carpets, bathrooms, everything. It was all clean, don't get me wrong, just old and very used up.

The only other minus was the fact that there was no place to eat within a walking distance. Although, I suppose with Tampa's distances and a necessity to have a car anyway, that's not a very valid complaint. To be fair, there was plenty of eateries and grocery stores within a 5 minute drive radius.

Other than that, nothing too exciting or bad -- just a place to spend a night or two when you're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here at this hotel in April of 2012 in a 2 bedroom suite. The kitchen was a little cramped and dated but it was fully functional and met all our needs. The grab-and-go breakfast was cereal, juice and coffee which was fine. We were easily able to bring this back to our room each morning.

The hotel in a business park in a relatively quiet area. It is an easy drive to restaurants and groceries. We picked up dinner each night for takeout from different nearby locations.

We were going to the Tampa Zoo and Busch Gardens which were close and Clearwater Beach was an hour+ drive a way.

The room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom suites on the corners were good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxTourist36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

The past three months has brought me to Moffitt Cancer Center four times. While a variety of stays at other hotels have been ok this is the first one where I felt that I found a home away from home. The location is convenient and the area quiet. Service was quick and responsive. The rooms have a small kitchen with all that is necessary to prepare a meal. Most important to me is the comfort of the bedding that they provide. All of this is at a discounted price for those using Moffitt. My thanks to the staff and management.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Georgia Mountains
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location is great, close to attractions and I-75. We stayed in an efficiency with a separate kitchen, a huge workdesk, lots of closet and storage space and a nice seating area with large flat screen TV. We found the space and room amentities a nice break from a hotel room. The daily Pickup Breakfast made it easy to just take to our room for those of us with different rise and shine times. However, the bed was very uncomfortable and the towels were a bit threadbare. We would probably stay here again, but hope the issues are addressed before we come back.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms facing the business park which had lakes and walking trails in a wooded setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa North
#1 of 5 in Temple Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa North
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher

Property: TownePlace Suites Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
Address: 6800 Woodstork Dr, Tampa, FL 33637-0918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Tampa North/i-75 Fletcher Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing