We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are reviews below smoking??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Ranked #60 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I dont know if people who gave this place 4 or 5 stars have ever stayed at another westin but this place is a dump. Very outdated. Dirty carpets in rooms and lobby, room was not ready on check in even after 3pm, housekeeping left dirty rags in the room and were very rude. The views are nice, front staff friendly but nothing spectacular. I walked over to marriot and embassy and much much nicer. Ive stayed at lower tier starwood properties which were better than this place.

I hope starwood corporate sends someone here to investigate thier quality standards. Im very dissapointed as a long time starwood fan.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank EnjoyingLife210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island EnjoyingLife210
We apologize and would be happy to speak with you about the incident with your vehicle at your earliest convenience.
We hope you and your family come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have stayed here for brief business trips and found the location excellent for downtown meetings . The hotel feels secluded but is only a 5 minute walk to downtown. The decor is quite dated, it seems like it was at its prime in the mid 90s. Rooms were clean with good showers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Mark Z
Our staff is pleased to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations!
We hope to have you as our guests again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel during a getaway to Bush Gardens. Upon arrival at the hotel the valet guys were great and very helpful, even helped us with our bags to the front desk. The lady at front desk was spectacular! My boyfriend asked for a room with a view so she upgraded us to a club room that overlooked the bay. Our room was great. The bed was literally to comfortable. My boyfriend slept like a baby but I like a firmer bed. That night the same excellent lady at front desk recommended us to an excellent Italian restaurant downtown and the valet guy gave us great directions.My only complaint would be that wifi isn't free. At other Westin's I've stayed at the wifi is complimentary but at this Westin there is a significant fee. Unfortunately the next day it was raining, but at check out the front desk guy gave us some excellent suggestions on what we could do and we ended up going to the Aquarium. I would for sure stay here again though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 8th floor and up with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Christina C
Our staff is pleased to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations!
We hope to have you as our guests again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July for a business trip. The front desk staff during the day is excellent and take great lengths to take care of your needs. I stayed in an really nice room big enough to accomodate extra family members who visited during my trip.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank SeoulNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island SeoulNY
Our staff is pleased to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations!
We hope to have you as our guests again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wive and I are from Boston And we had great time. One of my brothers from Florida got a room and stayed at hotel with us. Unlike exeter95 We were on vacation and left hotel after breakfast and really didn't get back till late.
I would like to to give a shout out to Vy Le in the reastaraunt . She was outstanding!! Would also like to mention Angela at front desk very pleasant and helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Michael C
It is wonderful to know that you find our hotel to be a great location for business and for pleasure! We hope that you enjoyed the game and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great service, room view was spectacular. It's overlooking the water and downtown area. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, and super relaxed atmosphere this is the place. We stayed this passed weekend and only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because to park in their garage is $17 dollars a day! Besides that it was great.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Alina R
It is wonderful to know that you find our hotel to be a great location for your vacation. We hope that you enjoyed the game and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island while celebrating our anniversary. We really like to travel so we are always staying in hotels and we both agree that the staff at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island is the best we've ever seen.

We arrived late in the evening and met Mike at the Front Desk. He noticed that we were celebrating our anniversary and informed us that we had been upgraded to a premium room on the top floor. We couldn't have been happier.

Upon arriving to our room we noticed a hand written letter and a bottle of champagne from Adrianna, Angela, and Winnelle. We couldn't believe it. They each took the time to write individual messages to us congratulating us and welcoming us to the hotel. What an incredible gesture and incredible service.

The next morning we went down to breakfast but stopped by the front desk first. Angela and Claudio were working at the time and took the time to talk to us and learn our story. The Rooms Director, Rafael, even came out to congratulate us and talk to us. We couldn't believe how friendly everyone was.

We ate breakfast at 725 South, the hotel restaurant. We received amazing service from a women named Suru (Not sure on the spelling). She was the nicest waitress we've ever experienced. We opted for the breakfast buffet and the food was absolutely delicious. We will definitely eat there again.

That evening before we went out on the town we stopped by the hotel bar. If you stay at this hotel it is absolutely essential to grab a drink here and talk to the bartenders Craig, Rosa, and Eric.

After we left the bar we walked to the front drive and spoke to the valet team about what we should do that night. Patrick, Kyle, Rob, and Chris were working that night and they all suggested for us to go to the Hyde Park area for a night on the town. Rob even offered to drive us over there in the free hotel shuttle. Amazing.

To sum everything up, the staff at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island is the most professional and friendly staff you will ever encounter. The hotel is elegant and the rooms and hallways spotless. We highly suggest asking for a room facing the city. The view on this side is breathtaking. We thank everyone for making our anniversary so special. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city (odd numbers) - incredible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Cou N!
It is wonderful to know that you find our hotel to be a great location for your weekend get away and that you enjoyed all that we have to offer in the area. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Tampa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
447 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,469 reviews
Westin Tampa Bay
#48 of 163 in Tampa
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tampa Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tampa Waterside

Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Westin Tampa Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $140 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Tampa Waterside 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Waterside is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Tampa Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing