We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good and convenient to downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #49 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Seal Beach, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good and convenient to downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Westin for a special occasion. Hotel is very nice. We had a suite and found it to be fabulous. 1400 sf and very luxurious. Personnel is very pleasant and accomodating. Everybody is trying to be friendly and helpful. We had a minor plumbing emergency in the middle of the night and it was fixed in less than 30 minutes (Wesley Burdon was a hero). The only reason I'm not giving them higher ratings, because once in a while you can see some minor things, in our case it was a terrible smell in the parking garage. Easy to fix, but creates an unpleasant impression.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island JackDawson!
It is great to hear that you found our hotel to be very nice and our staff to be very pleasant and accommodating!
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tampa with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    400
    254
    156
    104
See reviews for
265
357
71
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here the night of the Fleetwood Mac concert at Tampa Bay Times Forum. Venue is in walking distance. Walking distance to everything around, nice area, several places right next to the hotel to get something to eat. Nice views.
Staff were friendly, good service and good rate. Very clean room, and bathroom. I slept really comfortably.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cberru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, cberru . It is truly our pleasure to learn that we went above and beyond and that the team portrayed professionalism and friendliness during your stay. We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a problem with my bathroom early on Sunday morning so I called the desk. Within 10 minutes, Benny was at my door and fixed the problem quickly and efficiently. He explained what was wrong and proceeded to remedy the situation. He was very professional, yet friendly. He is a credit to the Westin Harbour Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moose444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
moose444 : Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island ! We are pleased to know that you found the service during your stay to be outstanding. It is truly our pleasure to learn that Benny went above and beyond with his professionalism and friendliness to resolve the issue in your room!
We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice and clean and lacked that stale hotel room smell. The bed was easily the most comfortable bed ever! Staff was super nice and treated us like we were the only guests there and it was their primary goal to make us happy. There were a few areas that need a little updating but they are doing that. Pool area was nice. I felt more relaxed there than at any other hotel pools. There was decent music, not too loud, not too quiet. The bar was open with real fruit in water to give it a little taste and !!! they don't charge you for it. We enjoyed it at the pool and in the lobby when we decided to explore the place a bit.
I can't say anything bad about this place except that parking is a pain in the neck! It's crowded and expensive but we were pleasantly surprised when we found out the parking fee was included in the cost of the room. But I got the impression it's not that way for everyone because the attendant asked us if it was included, we didn't know, he checked for us, it was, everything was cool.If you decide to stay here, you might want to check on that. Or, if you prefer, there is also valet parking for a nominal charge.
If I'm in Tampa again overnight, will I stay here? Probably. It was a good value for the money, we had no complaints, everyone was nice, everything was clean. They are in the process of updating some areas of the hotel which is more than I can say for some places I've had to stay!
So, I highly recommend this hotel. :o)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saturnmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
saturnmom7 : Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!Our staff is pleased to know that you found the service during your stay to be outstanding. It is truly our pleasure to learn that we provided you with the pleasant stay that you experienced!
We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
179 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Westin June 2-5, 2013 in room 1118. This is a great hotel to stay if you have a meeting at the convention center.
The Good
- Price was much cheaper than the Marriott or Embassy Suites
- Nice staff
- Clean room, clean bathroom, comfortable bed!
- Beautiful view of the harbor

The Not so great (but still not awful)
- Yes, it is a workout room, but the machines are really old and they are cramped in the room. It serves its purpose but not an excellent fitness center
- Parking is $17 a day. If that was not high enough, there is a PARKING TAX PER DAY added onto this. So, parking is almost $19 per day. After a great stay, I felt a little "nickel and dimed" when I saw this on the bill.

I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone doing business in Tampa.

Room Tip: Just beware the parking tax added onto the already high parking fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleTNGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island NashvilleTNGuy!
It is wonderful to here that you found our hotel to be great!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sandra mejia was an excellent server. Asset to the hotel. Very informative and remembers customers from trip to trip. In addition food was tasty and lots of variety. The buffet is a great deal. As for the hotel my room on the 11th fl was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, Joe A
Our staff is pleased to know that you found the service during your stay to be outstanding. It is truly our pleasure to learn that Sandra provided you with the pleasant stay that you experienced!
We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. Upon arrival at 12:30, we were promptly checked in and upgraded to a premium room on the 10th floor. Reservation agent was extremely pleasant and helpful - bags delivered to our room immediately. The room, although not overly decorated, had a lovely view of the harbor. It was also very clean, love the Heavenly Bed - and best of all, quiet! I asked for early room cleanup and was accommodated right away. The pool area was nice - small area - and the lunch we ordered was delicious (although a bit pricey). The location was great - within walking distance of several restaurants/shop and the Riverwalk. One small gripe - could do without the $17 per day self-parking charge ($21 for valet) - I know most city hotels charge a parking fee, but this area is really not in the middle of downtown. Other than that, an extremely pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island trk56!
Our staff is pleased to know that you found the service during your stay to be outstanding. It was truly our pleasure to have provided you with the pleasant stay that you experienced!
We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#47 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing