We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Name, Still recovering from economic downturn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #45 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“Great Name, Still recovering from economic downturn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The room was adequate, but had the great Westin bed and bedding. The in-room refreshment center was not stocked and no price was given for the privilege, just a note on the refrigerator door. Good environmental controls for comfortable sleeping. Sheer curtain was half-hanging off when we got to room. Quick response by maintenance cured that annoyance. Benny, in maintenance was outstanding and helpful. He noticed the overhead light in the bathroom was not functioning and took care of it while handling other issues. He showed my wife how to balance the heating/cooling most efficiently. The prices at the hotel restaurant, 725 Bistro, were a bit high and they had right next door, Jackson's, which had wonderful food and great service. It was apparent that in the not distant past there were more shops and services attached to the hotel like one normally finds with a Westin, but the economy is coming back. The Harbor views were wonderful, the weather a delight, and the last day we were there, the were holding Dragon Boat races. We have high hopes for this hotel. Don't care for the choice of new carpeting, but that is me. It is just a little tired..more paint and hole repair, increased shopping opportunities on site, and it will be back to the Westin standards we have come to appreciate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, James H . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the great location, and view. Please know that we have forwarded your compliments to the associate's department manager for recognition as well as your other feedback to the respective departments for consideration. We look forward to seen you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    378
    226
    143
    93
See reviews for
254
332
67
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel had everything we needed, onsite restaurant, onsite coffee bar, gelato bar, and within walking distance to many things. The down fall was the elevators were super slow the weekend we were there. They were working on things which caused them to be slow, and for the most part it wasn't an issue just an annoyance. Beautiful outdoor seating that overlooks the harbor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, BenD . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the great location, view and friendly service while visiting us. As you may have noticed, we are in the process of modernizing our elevators, expecting to be done here in the next few weeks. We look forward to seen you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First the positives. The staff is out of this world, helpful, remembers names and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are great with "Heavenly Bed".

Now the negatives, the breakfast "charcuterie" costs $16 and consisted of old ham and turkey plus cheese cubes that looked like they'd sat out all night. Wedding food was a disaster. Ice cold with undercooked fish and chicken cook to death. Pretty tasteless.

Room Tip: Take a jacket. Halls are freezing and our room a/c was set at 58. We were able to adjust it, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ForkItOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, ForkItOver . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the great location, view and friendly service while visiting us. Thank you for your feedback. Please know I have shared them with our team for immediate follow up. We hope your would come back and have a refreshing stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went to Tampa for the Taylor Swift concert over the weekend--the Westin was extremely convenient to the Forum and we walked over for the concert!! Staff was very friendly both at front desk, bar, & valet. They were able to accommodate our request for adjoining rooms with the kids which was great. Rooms were nice and with water views too!! Thank you for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, Cjmeg . We are happy to know that you enjoyed the great location, view and friendly service while visiting us for the Taylor Swift concert. We look forward to seen you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Best customer service and delicious breakfast. Staff is warm and friendly and very accommodating. Business center was helpful. Very convenient location to convention, arena and downtown. Great service at a great price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, Nicolyn . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the great location, view and friendly service while visiting us. We look forward to seen you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Arrived and were greeted immediately by friendly valet. Check in was quick, efficient and the two staff at the front desk could not have been nicer.
Room was clean, had a fabulous view of the water. As always you cannot beat the Westin Heavenly Bed! We had no trouble with the elevators (previous reviews) and they even had signs making sure guests knew you could use service elevator if you felt you needed that. Room service was (prices are very high for breakfast but that is a Westin trait) very fast and the food was good.
Pool is small (if you are a pool person) but it was clean, warm, plenty of comfortable chairs and was along the water. Pool bar was not open which would have been nice BUT there is a phone and you could get service there if you wanted. Bartender was helpful pulled out maps showed us different spots to explore. Very accommodating in making sure I got what I wanted to eat.
We used valet and never an issue to get the car, no wait, would call down and it was always there waiting for us.
There was a slight minor misunderstanding during our stay and I only mention it because it was resolved quickly and without issue. That is the kind of place I like to stay, if there is a problem they will listen and make sure it is corrected.
The location was good for us. I like to be near water and we loved being able to walk to eat at night to a neighborhood restaurant, That's Amore. I was there for leisure while my husband was there for business and driving from the hotel to the beach was about 45 mins and easy access to and from the highway from the hotel.
We will be staying at this great hotel again. What makes it great is that its clean, efficiently run and the staff are friendly and very customer service oriented.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labradors0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island,labradors0610 . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the great location, friendly service and view here on Harbour Island!
We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel was walking distance from a tradeshow at the convention center that my company was presenting at.

The room was nice and all of the services that we used while there were what you would expect from a Westin property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becox87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island, Becox87 . We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the great location and view here on Harbour Island!
We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Westin Tampa Bay
#35 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing