We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Someone always opens the door.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Someone always opens the door.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great service. Nice snacks for happy hour. Free coffee in the morning in lobby. 3 of us stayed in a suite. Bedroom and pull out couch. But no tv for person on the couch?? Why?
Free wifi in lobby .nice hotel nice staff especially the guys at the door

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkuteshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island kuteshoes
We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We appreciate the feedback provided as it allows us to improve. We hope to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    392
    245
    156
    98
See reviews for
263
348
69
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family spent 3 nights at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island. We booked 3 rooms for our vacation in the beginning of March and I cannot say enough good things about the hotel and the staff. From the time we arrived until the day we left everyone was so accomodating and went above and beyond in customer service. A speical thanks to Mitch at the front desk and Derrick the bartender for your useful information on places to see and restaurants to go to. The breakfast that was included in our price was very good, rooms were very nice (if possible request upper floors) The only negative is the pool area which I understand is being renovated.
Would stay here again. I have also stayed at the Marriott Waterside and for the price difference(Westin is cheaper) it is worth going to the Westin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddygirl1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island buddygirl1225!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! From the location, to the view, from the room to the complimentary amenities and the recognition of our associates for theservice that we provide!
We hope that your travels bring you back soon to the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upon first arriving at this hotel, I was already not impressed with the layout of the property. When approaching the hotel street level you have to drive down a ramp to get to the parking garage. You then take an elevator back up to the lobby. The decor was drab and worn, The carpet in the lobby was torn. The front desk agent was as not very polite or helpful. When we asked the bartenders directions they were very short as well. The elevators stopped working while we were there so we had to take the service elevators. We almost missed our dinner reservation due to this problem. Our shuttle driver, I think his name was Patrick, who drove us to dinner was very nice and informative of the area. Over all, if I travel back to Tampa I will not consider this hotel as an option. Boo Starwood

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Greetings alchap83,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin. Your stay has been shared with our entire staff in order to improve upon the service we provide. I apologize for not providing you with the experience we had expected to provide.
With the improvements, I hope that you will give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff is very friendly and helpful! Even with the updating and elevator issues; I have ALWAYS loved this Westin. Great Breakfast ( Steve is a Winner), and The Front Desk is always First Class. This IS the place to stay Downtown Tampa.
Mr. Charlie Barrett (Outlets Manager), good man!

Room Tip: View of Harbour is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island KentW!
It is amazing to hear that you enjoy your stays with us. We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We look forward to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island last week. We were in a king room on the fifth floor overlooking the harbor, which was pretty. We saw some rowing teams out there the morning of our departure. The room itself was large and the bed was the usual, comfortable Westin Heavenly bed. At checkin, Frederick was welcoming and friendly, especially after finding out we were from his home state!

Bathroom towels could use an upgrade. They were dingy and one was actually dirty with some questionable brown spots. Did not use that one! The shower pressure was good, but the water didn't get very hot. We really like the Westin in-room bath products.

Food at The Bar was good. Drinks were a bit pricey, but we were at downtown hotel in a large city, so that was expected. Service was a bit slow considering there were only about 5 other people in the restaurant and they were all at the bar. As with checkin, the service was friendly in The Bar as well.

Getting to the Westin was not too hard, but getting out of downtown Tampa and to the airport was confusing! Once we were out of downtown, we found the airport easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WiscDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island WiscDoll!
It is amazing to hear that Fredrick took such good care of your during your stay! We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We apologize for the experience you had that were not up to standard and I can assure you they have been passed on to our executive team for future improvement.
We hope to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
708 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is located in a good area close to several points/areas of interest. The hotel was in the process of being modernized, so there was several improvements in process even at 0100 in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful and nice, even upgrading me to a better room at no extra cost. You can either self park or use the valet, however the valet parking only costs $4 more and is a good option.

The room itself has all of the necessities that you would expect. but also included a small plate of chocolate and fruit and free bottled water. The king bed was nice and soft and plenty of pillows were provided. The view from the window overlooked the water where you could watch the multiple rowing teams go by.

The Westin's "go Green" program provides you the opportunity to forgo room service and receive a $5 coupon which could be used at the restaurant or other hotel service. You could also turn it in during checkout and receive 500 starpoints. It is definitely worth it, especially for a short stay.

The breakfast at the restaurant was good. You could either try the buffet or select from a menu. At the price, while steep, was better than the menu as coffee and juice were included. Otherwise expect to pay more. The buffet also included the option for omelets as well as a multiple selection of hot and cold items.

I would definitely recommend staying at the hotel if you are visiting Tampa Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island wbullseye!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! From the location, to the view, from the room to the complimentary amenities that we provide!
We hope that your travels bring you back soon to the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
288 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I picked the hotel simply because it was in down town Tampa, but I generally expect alittle more from Westin. The room I had was dated, almost felt like a lower end non SPG porperty. One of the pillows on the bed had a strange stain on it, they replaced it, but the fact that it even was on the bed doesnot speak wwell.

The bar was ok, menus just OK, room service took forrever for a club sandwich. I don;t plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Greetings JBMartiniguy,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin. Your stay has been shared with our entire staff in order to improve upon the service we provide. I apologize for not providing you with the experience we had expected to provide.
With the improvements, I hope that you will give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#13 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#53 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing