We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Nearby Hotels
$149
$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$173
$159
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$120
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$109
$102
SailportSuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,785)
Filter reviews
1,786 results
Traveler rating
695
466
308
195
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
695
466
308
195
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour islandmike napolifront deskconvention centerheavenly bedview of the waterself parkingybor cityamalie arenavaletjacksonsconferencelaurengasparillatrolleyaquariumriverwalk
Filter
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 1,786 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island last week. We were in a king room on the fifth floor overlooking the harbor, which was pretty. We saw some rowing teams out there the morning of our departure. The room itself was large and the bed was the usual, comfortable Westin Heavenly bed. At checkin, Frederick was welcoming and friendly, especially after finding out we were from his home state!

Bathroom towels could use an upgrade. They were dingy and one was actually dirty with some questionable brown spots. Did not use that one! The shower pressure was good, but the water didn't get very hot. We really like the Westin in-room bath products.

Food at The Bar was good. Drinks were a bit pricey, but we were at downtown hotel in a large city, so that was expected. Service was a bit slow considering there were only about 5 other people in the restaurant and they were all at the bar. As with checkin, the service was friendly in The Bar as well.

Getting to the Westin was not too hard, but getting out of downtown Tampa and to the airport was confusing! Once we were out of downtown, we found the airport easily.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiscDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island WiscDoll!
It is amazing to hear that Fredrick took such good care of your during your stay! We pride ourselves on providing personal service that allows our guests to feel at home. We apologize for the experience you had that were not up to standard and I can assure you they have been passed on to our executive team for future improvement.
We hope to see you again here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is located in a good area close to several points/areas of interest. The hotel was in the process of being modernized, so there was several improvements in process even at 0100 in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful and nice, even upgrading me to a better room at no extra cost. You can either self park or use the valet, however the valet parking only costs $4 more and is a good option.

The room itself has all of the necessities that you would expect. but also included a small plate of chocolate and fruit and free bottled water. The king bed was nice and soft and plenty of pillows were provided. The view from the window overlooked the water where you could watch the multiple rowing teams go by.

The Westin's "go Green" program provides you the opportunity to forgo room service and receive a $5 coupon which could be used at the restaurant or other hotel service. You could also turn it in during checkout and receive 500 starpoints. It is definitely worth it, especially for a short stay.

The breakfast at the restaurant was good. You could either try the buffet or select from a menu. At the price, while steep, was better than the menu as coffee and juice were included. Otherwise expect to pay more. The buffet also included the option for omelets as well as a multiple selection of hot and cold items.

I would definitely recommend staying at the hotel if you are visiting Tampa Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island wbullseye!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay! From the location, to the view, from the room to the complimentary amenities that we provide!
We hope that your travels bring you back soon to the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I picked the hotel simply because it was in down town Tampa, but I generally expect alittle more from Westin. The room I had was dated, almost felt like a lower end non SPG porperty. One of the pillows on the bed had a strange stain on it, they replaced it, but the fact that it even was on the bed doesnot speak wwell.

The bar was ok, menus just OK, room service took forrever for a club sandwich. I don;t plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Greetings JBMartiniguy,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin. Your stay has been shared with our entire staff in order to improve upon the service we provide. I apologize for not providing you with the experience we had expected to provide.
With the improvements, I hope that you will give us another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Westin Harbour Island is a nice hotel and we had a great experience there. It probably isn't worth the rates they charge but we booked on Hotwire and got it for $120/night and were happy with that. The big bummer was paying $20/car for parking. The hotel was comfortable and we had no complaints about it being old or outdated. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
We are pleased to hear that during your stay you felt our hotel was nice and that we provided great service!
It would be our pleasure to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a good check-in experience and the rest of the staff was friendly and engaging, but this property is in need of a major redo. Close to the Forum, the Convention center and Channelside, this hotel looks like a dinosaur compared to the Marriot and Embassy Suites that are within walking distance. The room, although clean, also shows the age, with outdated furnishings, paint and window dressings. The weather was cool, but although the hallways were freezing, our room a/c struggled to keep us comfortable. Good luck to management in bringing this property into the 21st century.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Greetings traveltc36,
Our staff takes pride in providing only the best service. We are glad that the encounters with our associates was friendly and engaging. While we are currently in the process of many modifications to the hotel to improve the overall experience for our guests we apologize for any inconveniences this may cause.
We hope that when you are in the area again you give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews