We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well located, pretty comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #48 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
San Diego
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well located, pretty comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent 5 weeks on business in Tampa January-February 2013 and stayed at this property for the duration. The hotel is well located near downtown and the convention center. My group had rooms on the 12th floor "Starwood Preferred" floor, which seemed indistinguishable from any other floor. I had a 12" balcony but the sliding door would not, and could not not be opened (I asked). The King room I had was nicely appointed and comfortable for work, meaning it had a nice size desk, internet connection, and large-screen flat-panel TV that swivels. The Heavenly bed and dual shower head were welcome amenities. After 5 weeks I was just as comfortable there as when I first arrived.

There were some drawbacks, namely the occasional cockroach some of my colleagues encountered in their rooms an dining area, and very slow elevators. There are only three guest elevators, which in the mornings caused 5-10 minute wait times. To the hotel's credit, whenever the property was fully booked, they made the two service elevators, located behind the guest elevators, available to guests, with helpful lobby signs directing you to them. Actually, the service elevators are available anytime so I used them almost exclusively. The pool area is rather small and difficult to get to first time (ask directions). The fitness room was also quite small, the size of a suite, and too warm and stuffy to be inviting.

In-room food service was fine, with expected high prices. The service and front desk staff were universally pleasant, helpful, and eager to please.

If you need to get downtown, the hotel offers a free shuttle (tips appreciated). I chose to walk the mile to my office and found I really looked forward to that every day. You can swing around the convention center on River Walk and get there in 15-20 minutes.

On weekends, tucked under the bridge from the mainland to Harbour Island is a City Bike Tampa rental hut. I recommend taking one out in the morning (open at 10:00 a.m.) and then make a day of it tooling around neighboring Davis Islands, Channel Side, Ybor City, and the three museums downtown (MOPA, Museum of Art, and Plant Museum). Tampa is a beautiful city so get out and enjoy it if you're there on business.

Our group coordinator was apologetic that she couldn't arrange accommodations closer to our office building downtown because our timing conflicted with several conventions and Gasparilla, the pirate invasion/Mardi Gras festival, but I couldn't have been happier that we stayed on Harbour Island at the Westin.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1226 on the southwestern side. Sunrise very morning was a treat and the view south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimdago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you jimdago for the wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Our staff takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    388
    233
    149
    98
See reviews for
258
344
68
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Last night my husband along with our friend had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel. We booked it thru Hotwire and we could not have been more pleased. The room was perfect and the view of the water and the city could not have been better. Everyone there was so polite. The beds there are to die for. If you are ever there for a hockey game which u can walk to very easy or just want a great weekend away think of this place I promise you that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: As for a water view room higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Marilyn D!
Our staff is pleased that you and your husband were able to enjoy the view from our rooms, our Westin Heavenly Beds and every associate that you came in contact with!
On your next trip to Tampa we hope you choose to stay with us again at the Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was dining alone at breakfast and my waiter, Steve Tassi, was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful. He was more than willing to provide some history on the area but more importantly for me he provided some good shopping hot spots. Excellent waiter!! I enjoyed chatting with him during my breakfast.

The front desk staff was also very friendly and efficient. The hotel is undergoing some renovations but our room was clean and met our needs. It had a beautiful view.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Kris M!
It is wonderful to know that Steve took such great care of you and provided you with such a personal experience during your breakfast. In addition, it is great to hear that you found our front desk associates to be very friendly and efficient.
Please come back soon and stay with us here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was in town for business and decided to stay the night at the Westin on Harbour Island. The property itself was updated and nice with a great view, but the staff is really where this property excelled. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful, especially Craig. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Ryan M!
It is our goal to exceed our guest’s expectations and it seems that we have done just that with yours! Your comments have been shared with the entire staff including Craig!
We hope to see you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at The Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel the night before our NCL Cruise from Tampa because it was very close to our pier and made our cruise even more enjoyable.We didn't have to worry about getting to the boat in time and even though we had our car for transportation ,we could have taken a shuttle to the boat if needed,The accomodations were excellent ans we would go back there again on our next cruise from Tampa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island WillieMillie!
Our entire staff is pleased to hear that you found our accommodations to be excellent in the heart of Fabulous Tampa Bay!
Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We (2 parties of 2) only stayed here one night....had a king bed room with a lovely view of the water and shoreline. We found the personnel to be very helpful and courteous. Although we did not request the same floor, they did do some jockeying to keep us together.

This hotel is undergoing some renovations....new carpet etc...and we received 2 letters letting us know what areas were being updated. The hotel is looking a little worn so the updates are timely.
Self parking was $17.00 per day which I thought was excessive.

We had breakfast in their restaurant with the usual buffet or menu ordering. Our waitress was especially helpful and cheerf

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLSCoralSprings_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for visiting us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island JLSCoralSprings!
Our staff is pleased to know that you and your family found our staff to be personnel, helpful and courtesy. Thank you for your patience as we are modifying many areas of our hotel. In addition, we are happy to hear that your waitress was especially helpful and cheerful!
Your wonderful comments are appreciated and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was a little tricky to find due to one way roads. However in our driving around, we found a parking lot around the corner for $5 flat rate (no matter how long the stay) as opposed to $20/night parking at hotel. Fantastic! The location of this hotel is ideal, we were there for a concert and this was a 5 minute walk. There wasn't much else around though, the one shopping area at the cruise port was a disappointment (although it was neat to see the cruise ship so close up). We walked around for quite a while and didn't find anything of interest to do.
The room we got was great, we had a nice view of the harbour. The bed was super comfortable but very high. The bathroom was fine. The restaurant was expensive so we did not eat there. There is a Starbucks and a sports bar just down the road in front of the arena. The sports bar was great (Champions).
All in all, a nice hotel and a great location if you can get it for a decent price and eat elsewhere!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1SunLovingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island 1SunLovingCouple!
It is wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and in a great location!
We hope that you and yours come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#12 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Westin Tampa Bay
#33 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing