We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for concert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Ranked #63 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was a little tricky to find due to one way roads. However in our driving around, we found a parking lot around the corner for $5 flat rate (no matter how long the stay) as opposed to $20/night parking at hotel. Fantastic! The location of this hotel is ideal, we were there for a concert and this was a 5 minute walk. There wasn't much else around though, the one shopping area at the cruise port was a disappointment (although it was neat to see the cruise ship so close up). We walked around for quite a while and didn't find anything of interest to do.
The room we got was great, we had a nice view of the harbour. The bed was super comfortable but very high. The bathroom was fine. The restaurant was expensive so we did not eat there. There is a Starbucks and a sports bar just down the road in front of the arena. The sports bar was great (Champions).
All in all, a nice hotel and a great location if you can get it for a decent price and eat elsewhere!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 1SunLovingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island 1SunLovingCouple!
It is wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and in a great location!
We hope that you and yours come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms have updated furniture but the walls, elevators and other parts of the hotel need to be updated. Everything cost you money here. Wifi, parking, the business room, everything you want will clost extra.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Brayson!
Your comments are being shared with our executive committee in order to improve upon the services we provide. As you may know there we are currently under the process of many modifications to the hotel and we appreciate your patience and understanding through our transition.
Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel because it was convenient to the Tampa Bay Times Forum for a Lightning Game. It was a maximum 10 minute walk in a very nice neighbourhood.

Our first experience was a very nice valet employee who took our car and directed to to a very nice front desk receptionist. Our check-in was very quick.

Our room was very nice with the typical Westin style - nice bathroom and very comfortable king-size bed. Our view was the canal and we watched a coupld of cruise ships depart and many rowing teams practicing.

There is some minor work going on there right now which did wake us up fairly early the next morning. We were warned in advance of this and it wasn't a huge inconvenience.

Overall a good experience and wold stay there again if lucky enought to be in Tampa again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view if you like water views which I prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Brian M!
Our staff is pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time spent in Tampa for a hockey game. We take pride in providing each of our guests with an experience that leaves such a lasting impression!
We certainly hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A superb location for an hotel that is now looking tired in places and generally showing its age. It clearly needs some refurbishment to continue to justify its four star status. No atmosphere in bar but Jacksons is close by and is a much better watering hole.
Thought it was great at under $100 using the Hotwire mystery 4 star price but would have felt different if I had paid anything like the rack rate (and downgraded to 2 or 3 stars if that had have been the case). Have had the odd dud with Hotwire but they are generally good and a downtown 4 star a under $100 could only be a win win.
Staff merit a mention as all we met were very helpful and obliging. King bed was very comfortable too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Bowgrave!
It is truly our pleasure to have had you and yours with! It is wonderful to hear that you were able to get such a great rate and that you found our staff to be very helpful and obliging!
On your next trip to Tampa we hope to see you here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for a business meeting and I was so disappointed. The first room on the 6th floor smelled terrible. I thought it was the pillows since they smelled bad but then I realized it was also the carpet. The nice young woman at the front desk immediately changed my room and offered a complimentary movie or breakfast. The second room on the 10th floor also smelled but it was tolerable and I was tired. When I took a shower that night the bathtub was clogged and filled to the top. I thought it would go down by morning but nothing, so no shower was possible that morning. During my stay, 3 of my colleagues got stuck in the elevator and sometimes it would not stop on certain floors at all. The escalator going up was also not working. I was checking out in the morning so I was just glad to leave. One night was enough. Too bad because the view from the room was very nice. The bed was comfortable but the rooms and hallways are in need of remodeling.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank MarthaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Greetings MarthaMM,
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island staff would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had endured throughout your stay. Your experience has been shared with the staff as an effort to improve the services we provide. Thank you for your patience and understanding and if you would like to contact the hotel directly we would be happy to speak with you!
Thank you for choosing the Westin and we look forward to speaking with you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had the good experience to stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island a week ago and was amazed at their efforts to exceed their customers' expectations. The room was wonderful and most of all the bed was comfortable. I judge hotels by how I sleep because that is usually the reason for staying the night. When I ordered room service and one of the entrees was less that expected, I just mentioned to the waiter my dislike of the entree. I did not ask it to be taken off of my bill. I received a call from the room service manager within 20 minutes informing of the hotel taking that very action. In the morning a friend and I went downstairs to the dining room to get some coffee and read the paper waiting on our wives to wake. We ended of leaving and the waiter said the coffee was on the hotel. We did come down later and have a wonderful breakfast. All in all, every employee at the hotel was outgoing and cordial. Being treated well is always what we remember best. This hotel knows how to treat people. I will be back.

Fred Fey

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starhealthfwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Greeting from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Mr. Fey!
Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island! At the Westin guests are encouraged to take advantage of the relaxing and refreshing atmosphere. We are delighted to hear that during the nights you were with us you were left feeling well cared for by everyone you interacted with.
Thank for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire for $100/night. Walking distance to Tampa Bay Times Forum for an NHL game. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and provided us with directions and suggestions for shopping and dining. A bonus for our kids was seeing the Philadelphia Flyers team who were at the same hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room was well cared for. The carpets in the halls and lobby were being replaced and the hotel was being updated. We opted for valet parking which cost a few dollars more. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at The Westin Tampa Waterside, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island arenamama!
Our staff is pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again for the next game!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 164 in Tampa
465 reviews
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#14 of 164 in Tampa
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Westin Tampa Bay
#48 of 164 in Tampa
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Tampa Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Tampa Waterside

Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Westin Tampa Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $187 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Tampa Waterside 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Waterside is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Tampa Waterside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing