We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good if you can find a deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #47 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good if you can find a deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A superb location for an hotel that is now looking tired in places and generally showing its age. It clearly needs some refurbishment to continue to justify its four star status. No atmosphere in bar but Jacksons is close by and is a much better watering hole.
Thought it was great at under $100 using the Hotwire mystery 4 star price but would have felt different if I had paid anything like the rack rate (and downgraded to 2 or 3 stars if that had have been the case). Have had the odd dud with Hotwire but they are generally good and a downtown 4 star a under $100 could only be a win win.
Staff merit a mention as all we met were very helpful and obliging. King bed was very comfortable too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowgreave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Bowgrave!
It is truly our pleasure to have had you and yours with! It is wonderful to hear that you were able to get such a great rate and that you found our staff to be very helpful and obliging!
On your next trip to Tampa we hope to see you here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    392
    243
    156
    98
See reviews for
263
348
68
563
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a business meeting and I was so disappointed. The first room on the 6th floor smelled terrible. I thought it was the pillows since they smelled bad but then I realized it was also the carpet. The nice young woman at the front desk immediately changed my room and offered a complimentary movie or breakfast. The second room on the 10th floor also smelled but it was tolerable and I was tired. When I took a shower that night the bathtub was clogged and filled to the top. I thought it would go down by morning but nothing, so no shower was possible that morning. During my stay, 3 of my colleagues got stuck in the elevator and sometimes it would not stop on certain floors at all. The escalator going up was also not working. I was checking out in the morning so I was just glad to leave. One night was enough. Too bad because the view from the room was very nice. The bed was comfortable but the rooms and hallways are in need of remodeling.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarthaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings MarthaMM,
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island staff would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you had endured throughout your stay. Your experience has been shared with the staff as an effort to improve the services we provide. Thank you for your patience and understanding and if you would like to contact the hotel directly we would be happy to speak with you!
Thank you for choosing the Westin and we look forward to speaking with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had the good experience to stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island a week ago and was amazed at their efforts to exceed their customers' expectations. The room was wonderful and most of all the bed was comfortable. I judge hotels by how I sleep because that is usually the reason for staying the night. When I ordered room service and one of the entrees was less that expected, I just mentioned to the waiter my dislike of the entree. I did not ask it to be taken off of my bill. I received a call from the room service manager within 20 minutes informing of the hotel taking that very action. In the morning a friend and I went downstairs to the dining room to get some coffee and read the paper waiting on our wives to wake. We ended of leaving and the waiter said the coffee was on the hotel. We did come down later and have a wonderful breakfast. All in all, every employee at the hotel was outgoing and cordial. Being treated well is always what we remember best. This hotel knows how to treat people. I will be back.

Fred Fey

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starhealthfwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greeting from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Mr. Fey!
Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island! At the Westin guests are encouraged to take advantage of the relaxing and refreshing atmosphere. We are delighted to hear that during the nights you were with us you were left feeling well cared for by everyone you interacted with.
Thank for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire for $100/night. Walking distance to Tampa Bay Times Forum for an NHL game. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and provided us with directions and suggestions for shopping and dining. A bonus for our kids was seeing the Philadelphia Flyers team who were at the same hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room was well cared for. The carpets in the halls and lobby were being replaced and the hotel was being updated. We opted for valet parking which cost a few dollars more. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island arenamama!
Our staff is pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again for the next game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Harbour Island for Gasparilla weekend. Water view rooms are incredible, particularly on the convention center side. Breathtaking views of the convention center and downtown Tampa skyline. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet on a couple of occasions in their "725 South" restaurant, and also had the opportunity to have lunch on the patio at Jackson's the first day we arrived. Any time we needed anything, the hotel staff were super attentive and responsive. Management at this property seems very hands-on - they clearly want to ensure that all of their guests have a positive experience. The lobby appears to have been updated since my last visit in 2012. On our last night, we wanted to take a taxi over to Ybor City, and the hotel shuttle driver offered to take us. These little things go a long way. We will definitely stay here again, and can't wait until our next visit!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room overlooking the convention center
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALynnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island ALynnT!
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location in the heart of downtown Tampa along the Garrison Channel!
Our entire staff thanks you for your comments and we cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a second trip to Tampa this month, stayed at Sheraton riverwalk this time ( see separate review).
Westin has a lot going for it. You may walk an extra block or two to reach restaurants, venues, streetcar, etc., but the quality service makes up for it. Maybe all staff just completed a workshop on customer care, but every single employee went out of their way to be nice, and anticipate our needs.
Arrival, an underground garage with self park, fee a little pricey, but can be added to your room account. Lobby areas beautiful; elevators & pool area need an upgrade. Carpet could be replaced. Paint. Great view of rowers on the river in morning. Rowing teams from university. Hotel quiet for most part. Partiers came in at 3 am & woke whole floor, but security came promptly once called. Great free coffee in lobby. Breakfast buffet is abundant with great service, but expensive. Tip: there is a little breakfast window outside, right by the bridge & Jackson's, good deal. Across the bridge is a neat outdoor bar by the convention center dock, live music- 5 min walk from hotel. Jackson's is an upscale nightspot attached to the hotel, open to wee hours.
No Starwood "club" breakfast room at this hotel. Bottom line, great service, ok location, save on parking if you can, and could use an upgrade, which they are working on.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your most recent stay with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour island Hogandoc1!
Our staff thanks you for providing the collaboration of events that took place during your stay that demonstrated a typical stay for our guests. The personal interactions and connections we create with our guests should leave them feeling inspired and rejuvenated. We thrilled that your time here with us left you feeling well cared for.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

First vist at The Westin Tampa Harbour Island. First it starts with checking in; Claudio was fantastic. But Rosa & Dereck workers at the bar made the trip for me and my guest a delight. Belive me I have traveled all over the world. AND when you come to a hotel and find good quaility people like Rosa (manager) & Derek (waiter)...it is a great thing!. This is why I had to take the time to write this for someone to read and make sure that someone congrats them for doing a great job. They love there work and it shows. I will be back for sure and recommend my co-workers and friends, family to come to this hotel when in this area. AND to think I almost went to Marriott.

Room Tip: Great location;staff is awesome(Rosa, Dereck, Claudio). Hotel is clean, workers are friendly and a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Denise F!
It is amazing to hear that Claudio, Rosa and Derek treated you so well. Our staff takes pride in providing each of our guests with a refreshing and renewing experience!
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#54 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing