We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #48 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very nice hotel but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has great service and the decor is what you would expect from a Westin. There are some things that need upgrading like the elevators. They are very slow and often don't open. You can use the service elevators but people have caught on to that as well. The rooms were comfortable and decorated well but things like outlets and a spare pillow and blanket could go a long way. I also ordered room service which was excellent and the view of the harbour is nice if you can get it. overall really great stay for the price.

Room Tip: higher rooms have good view of harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you Shaun B for the wonderful comments!
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!
It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    393
    246
    156
    99
See reviews for
263
350
69
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wonderful Hotel -Attentive Staff! Great bed - the one thing that irks me about this hotel though, is that for almost 200.00 a night, they should give you free wifi. You still have to pay $12.95 per night for wifi. If a 69.99 hotel can do it, this one whould be able to as well. Great towels, linens, etc, but come on now...don't nickel and dime me to death! Room service was good, but a 21% service charge to walk it to my room??

Room Tip: The higher you are the better...not all of the rooms have good views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Karenfan!
Our staff is pleased to hear that you found our hotel excellent and wonderful! Please know that by becoming a member of our loyalty program can earn you complimentary internet all over the world at over 990 properties!
We hope that your travels back to Tampa bring you back to visit us here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The quality of customer service from the staff is exceptional...right from the concierge to the check-in counter to the restaurant staff. I particularly appreciate the kindness of Mike at the counter. He went the extra mile of getting money from the ATM for me to pay the cab driver whose payment machine was not working and couldn't charge my credit card.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
It is outstanding to hear that Mike went above and beyond to assist you in your time of need! His dedication to providing our guests with a refreshing and renewing experience is what each of our associates strives to provide!
We hope that your next business trip to Tampa also brings you back to the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel was, as usual, is up to SPG standards and the room, service and food were good as usual. The only thing I was disappointed about is the pictures on the internet might lead you to believe these rooms have balconies, but they do not! If I'm going to stay on the water, I like to outside and smell the air:) It is conveniently located to Ybor City and to Busch Gardens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RFox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island RFox68!
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is set in the heart of downtown Tampa. We have spectacular views of the city and the Garrison Channel. We thank you for your loyalty and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay!
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

what an excellent property, clean, safe great location. staff are very kind and attentive. adjacent resturant had great food, wonderful food, and there is not a better view on the river.
the adjacent club is a real hot spot for Tampa, high energy

Room Tip: get a high river and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBRUCE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island TBRUCE88!
Our staff is glad that you had a great time here in the downtown Tampa area for a night on the town!
Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really personable, helpful staff. When they ran short of requested rooms, rather than turn me away, they upgraded me. Renovations aren't done, but headed in the right direction. Was disappointed that I had to pay extra for in room internet access - I have not had to do that in many years; in this day and age, it should be as standard as towels and soap in the bathroom, particularly in a premium room at a premium price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Doug H!
Here at the Westin we pride ourselves on being personal and helpful. It is wonderful to know that we were able to provide you with a great room even though the original type you booked was not available.
We hope to see you again on your next business trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

12/21/12-12/23/12
The Westin was magnificent! From our room to the hotel staff service, our expectations were exceeded. We were greeted promptly upon arrival, were offered wine & cheese from the hotel manager one day and our delightful breakfast on the morning of December 23rd. We had a lovely waterview room that was extremely comfortable. Even the rollaway bed for our daughter was comfortable. One happy teenager! Our waiter was Steve Tassi and he was incredible. He is the BEST waiter we've ever had! We enjoyed our delicious breakfast while he made sure we had everything we needed. He was attentive, responsive, but did not hover. Extremely efficient and very pleasant. We hope the hotel management is aware of this gem, Steve Tassi~ Thanks for a great stay and a memorable & delicious breakfast. GLSR (*_*)

Room Tip: I beleive all rooms have water views, but I would definitely choose a waterview room. We saw some so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSRoude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island GLSRounde!
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived! It is wonderful that Steve and the rest of the staff were able to make your stay a great one!
Thank you so much for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#54 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing