We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #55 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Superior service!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

After a long drive from Orlando, Justin was very accomodating and polite, even at 2:00 in the morning! He was filled with knowledge about the area, and even gave us a room with a great view! (without us even asking!)The location was great and convenient. The hotel itself was clean and safe. This location definitely kept up with the Westin standards. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestinGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island jessica c!

Our staff would like to thank you for your sincere comments. Even at the most latest of hours it is wonderful to hear that our outstanding associate Justin was able to provide you with the superior service he and the rest of the staff strive to provide!

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    427
    293
    176
    109
See reviews for
284
388
75
618
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Being an avid Starwood member I try to stay in a Westin or Starwood property whenever possible. Having the opportunity to stay in the Westin in Tampa would usually be a great thing but this property was subpar. It may be renovations or just management but the hotel was dirty, the staff was rude and the rooms were in poor condition with exposed pipes and grime. On top of that they Refused to take my starwood number for my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pechorin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood program Pechorin!

We apologize for not providing you a stay that exceeded your expectations. It was our intention to deliver a refreshing and renewing experience and we have fallen short during your stay. In regards to the issues you experienced, we encourage you to contact us directly so we can improve upon the service we provide.

Thank you for choosing the Westin and we look forward to hearing from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for its close proximity to the cruise pier and stayed a couple of nights before our cruise left. We loved the location which was convenient to many downtown attractions, restaurants etc. We found this hotel to be pretty pricey, but they had a birthday year special going on where you paid the amount of your birthday year on the 2nd night. This saved us a lot of money & allowed us to afford a water view room which was amazing. We really enjoyed the gorgeous views & seeing all the comings/goings of boats etc. We were disappointed that the window didn't open very far (for safety) & there wasn't a balcony so that we could enjoy it even more, but there was a large picture window & it was still very nice. We did a lot of walking from this hotel, along the water & really enjoyed Tampa. The Channelside area is within walking distance or a short trolley/cab ride. The city trolley was easily accessible from the hotel. There was an open-air, outdoor bar very close by where you could have a drink & enjoy the harbour views as well. There was some construction happening near the lobby area but it didn't affect us. We felt that a lot was lacking in the overall decor of the hotel for the price. All the walls were a dull white, with little or no pictures etc. They should add some color, especially in the hallways & in the rooms as it was way too plain & not enough luxury. The bed however was very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool area, but they had a weird indirect way to get to it. It's not a huge area, but felt pretty private & did have a bar & food service available. We asked for a cab to get to the pier, which was less than a mile away & they had someone from the hotel take us for just the cost of a tip or whatever you wanted to pay him. That was really nice! All the people at the hotel seemed very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMac10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Greetings from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island AnnieMac10_10!

The views from the rooms are a beautiful and allow our guest to enjoy Tampa’s Garrison Channel. While we are an escape from everyday life we are in close proximity of the downtown area which provides a vast array of attractions and easy access to the cruise terminals allowing guests an easy transition to their next destination. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your travels bring you back to visit us in the future.

Thank you for choosing the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

High recommendation for The Westin!
Valet/luggage service was quick and took great care of us, helped us get everything to our room, and was very useful for getting around the Tampa Bay Area.
Thanks Alex!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for traveling across the bay to visit us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Joanna E!

Superior service is what we hope to provide to each of guests. Alex and the rest of the staff are very pleased to know that you were so well taken care of.

We hope your future business brings you back to visit us here at the Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were in Tampa for a conference. The day the conference ended checkout was at noon. Unfortunately the conference did not end until noon also. The associate at the desk delayed our checkout to allow us to see the end of the conference.
We had a maintenance issue with our refrigerator. While we were out to dinner housekeeping replaced the unit.
We were very impressed with how responsive and friendly the staff was during our stay.
The beds as always make doing anything but sleep difficult. We ate breakfast one am and were pleased with the quality and quantity of our meal.
The hotel has a great location to downtown and there are many nearby dining choices.
Thanks to Justin for helping us out!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StAugustineGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us at The Westin Tampa Harbour Island StAugustineGators!

At the Westin we hope that our guests can relax and renew even when here on business. Our team has recognized Justin for the great service he provides. In addition, he and the rest of the staff are delighted to know that you had such great collaboration of encounters during your visit to Tampa.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here for business downtown. Great location on Harbour Island with close proximity to downtown, great walking/jogging paths along the water, and fantastic views. The hotel was nice and modern, but they definitely cut a few corners during construction. The lack of power outlets around the desk was particularly annoying. I could also hear every person walking by my room. That being said, service was good, and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYFFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Salutations from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island NYFFlyer!

As a business traveler we are glad to know that our location fulfilled your needs. We apologize for not meeting your expectations within your guest room and we would happy to make sure your future accommodations do. Please feel free to contact us directly before your next stay.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

When we first arrived we were a little disappointed at the state of the hotel. While it was clean the decor and building itself was a bit outdated. Our disappointment was erased rather quickly by the friendly ness and attentiveness of the staff, from the valet to the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the bartender William Jackson at the pool to the Manager on Duty that day and evening 5/19/12. Having been in the service industry myself for more than 3 decades, I was truly impressed with the genuine attentiveness of all the employees we had contact with. That alone warrants another stay at this wonderful hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariat625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Greetings from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island mariat625!

It is wonderful to know that our staff impressed you during your visit. We value our guests and take every opportunity to show them that we genuinely care for them! Your comments about William and the rest of the staff have been shared and are a delight to hear!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing