We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why I love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Winter Park
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Why I love this hotel!”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Westin Harbour Island hotel over 10-15 times. Although there are some drawbacks to the hotel such as stained, ripped carpet in the halls and rooms, dreary hallways, malfunctioning elevators, so-so food, poor standard rooms, noisy A/C at times and always there are burnt out light bulbs in the room. This being said there are two main reasons to stay at this hotel. First is the staff. Carlos the manager should be proud of the training of his front desk staff they are excellent and have always gone out of their way to help me especially Adrianna. Second as a SPG Platinum member you will be upgraded to a suite. This hotel has 3 different types of suites, the first is a small suite with a seperate living room and bedroom-OK but nothing great-no TV in the living room, the second suite is HUGE with 2 bathrooms, a dining room table, multiple flat screen TV's and fridges. The thrid type of suite is MASSIVE, a full size dining table and chairs, 3 full size sofas, 2 bathrooms, a large palor outside the seperate bedroom! It is the biggest suite I've ever had at a hotel, not to be missed. (Yes the furnishings are a little old but not terrible) The big suites face the water on all 3 sides so you have an incredible view. Also all rooms have those great Westin beds. In addition to the suites this hotel is one of a handful of hotels in Tampa that has covered parking. A plus since it rains all the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    427
    293
    174
    109
See reviews for
284
388
75
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I am a Starwood Platinum member and I would like to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I'm here on business and I brought my family along and the staff treated us wonderfully. The hotel manager personally saw to it that my wife and children were taken care of. As well the hotel property is beautiful and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourIsland, General Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Greetings Alan S,

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to share your renewing experience. We take pride in our service and appreciate your kind words regarding the team. Your loyalty to the brand is to be celebrated and we look forward to enhancing your journey. We understand that the time spent with family is special. It is our pleasure to be of assistance during your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit to Tampa and your next stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island.

Sincerely,
Carlos Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here a couple times when in town for business. Nice Harbor view location and next to Jacksons- a good seafood restaurant on the water. Wouldn’t stay here for vacation, but for work its good. Rooms were nice, simple, clean, and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeepITkep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourIsland, General Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Greetings KeppenK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island. Our entire staff appreciates the positive feedback. It is our goal to assist you in reaching your potential. Whether you are traveling on business, with your significant other or your family, our staff will work to ensure that you achieve your goals.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is our hope that when your travels bring you back to Tampa, we are able to be a part of your journey. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Carlos Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Place is filty, I expect when I travel to a Westin it would LOOK like a Westin. The photos from the website do not reflect the hotel. Rooms are Hampton esk at best. Hotel reminds more of a rundown college dorm than a high quality Starwood hotel.

Will take photos and post on facebook later.

If you are in the area and SPG member, your better off at the Sheraton Westshore or Westin Tampa Bay for same price!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourIsland, General Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Greetings NJGator,

Our staff is dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction. By alerting a member of the Westin Tampa Harbour Island team to an opportunity, it will become the goal of that associate to correct the item and assist as needed. Every associate is trained to find a solution and work to eliminate a missed opportunity.

We thank you for sharing your recent experience. By using the feedback we have received from our customers, including those on Trip Advisor, we are able to pinpoint areas of opportunity. The entire team at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island will use your information as we continue to improve.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is our hope that when your travels bring you back to Tampa in the future, we may earn your trust and your business again. Please feel free to contact me directly should you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Carlos Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had great service in the restaurant. The treatment was good during our stay of 9 days by Murat and Steve Tassi

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustravelers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourIsland, General Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Greetings USTravelers2011,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for the kind words regarding Murat and Steve. Rest assured that your recognition of the staff will be shared with our associates. Our goal is to create an environment that leaves you feeling refreshed and renewed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is our hope that when your travels bring you back to Tampa and the United States in the future, we are able to be a part of you journey. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Carlos Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island from July 12-15, 2011. When we booked the room a few weeks before our stay, we believed that we would be staying in a top notch hotel based on the name alone. Overall the hotel was clean but quite a bit dated. Not exactly what we expected. Our biggest complain by far was the fact that there was not even 1 child friendly channel available. Not even the Cartoon network or Disney channel. Luckily we brought our XBox 360 to play games and watch movies, but to our surprise, the tv was programmed to not allow anyone to change the input selection!!! We were extremely disappointed in those two facts. It definetly put a damper on our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourIsland, General Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Greetings from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience, Daniel9395. By using the feedback we have received from our customers, including those on Trip Advisor, we are now in the process of making updates to our hotel which includes an upgrade to our television package. Also, our team is able to assist you by connecting your gaming system, computer, or DVD player. Service Express is available to every guest by dialing 0 in your room.

Our goal is to create an environment that leaves you feeling refreshed and renewed. While your recent stay fell short of our own expectations, we appreciate the opportunity that your feedback represents.

Your information has been shared with our staff and rest assured that as a team, we will work to eliminate any missed opportunities. It is our hope that when your travels bring you back to Tampa in the future, we may earn your trust and your business again. Please feel free to contact me directly should you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
Carlos Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Spent a week at the Westin, it is one of those hotels that charge you for everything! You will pay for parking, you will pay for internet, you will pay for anything other than basic cable, etc. They nickel and dime you to death. Also, be carefull as somehow a program was downloaded to my laptop which I can't seem to get rid of about Westin Internet Services. I have an aircard in my laptop so I don't need their service but I can't get rid of their stupid advertisment everytime I open my laptop, their tech service was no help. Avoid stupid hassels like these stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Clean updated rooms, but very small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countryside306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHarbourIsland, General Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Greetings Countryside306,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns from your recent stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island. As you have mentioned, the Westin Tampa Harbour Island does charge for wireless internet in all areas of the hotel. Your information regarding the the downloaded application is an area of opportunity that we have not been made aware of in the past. We will work with our internet provider to ensure that this is an isolated occasion.

In your response, you voiced your concern regarding the price points of the parking and the internet. Our team takes your satisfaction to heart. We appreciate your insight and recognize your desire to be understood. We are excited by the possiblities that the future holds and we will work with our internet provider to meet this growing expectation.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and your business. It is our hope that when you travel to Tampa, our team can assist you in reaching your potential and achieving your goals. Please feel free to contact me directly should you have any additional concerns.

Sincerely,
Carlos Sanchez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 163 in Tampa
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Property: Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Address: 725 S Harbour Island Blvd, Tampa, FL 33602-5707 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing