We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Westshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Westshore
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I decided to make a last minute trip to Tampa last week. We reserved a handicap room and were pleasantly surprised to see that this was a well thought out room. The bathroom could have used a little more storage space but was adequate. They put a rubber shield at the edge of the shower to contain the water and not let it run all over the bathroom floor as it does in many hotel bathrooms. It is difficult to contain the water in a roll-in shower but they did it. The room was large enough to bring my mobility scooter into the room to charge and still get around the room without bumping in to things. My only criticism was that there were not enough outlets. In this age we all have our Kindles or tablets along with our phones to charge. I also use a CPAP machine for breathing at night. We needed 2 outlets for phones, 2 for our Kindles, 1 for my CPAP machine and one to charge my scooter. We brought a multiple outlet plug but it just wasn’t enough. We ended up charging two phones overnight in the car. Also, the room did not have either a refrigerator or a room safe. Most hotels today do have both. Especially in a handicap room where a refrigerator is almost a necessity to keep medications.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool that is partially under a roof in case of inclement weather. It is 3.5 feet deep going to 4 feet. This was adequate to swim in and just relax. Due to the intense heat of the day at 99 degrees the pool was very warm. The pool setting, although in the heart of the city is quite nice and reasonably quiet if you just want to sit poolside and read or rest. We needed it after 6.5 hours at Busch Gardens in the intense heat.
My only real complaint with the hotel is that it only has three handicap spaces in the hotel entrance area with 2 more around the side near their restaurant (I did not see those two until we left). Since every other person in Florida has a handicap permit the three spaces were gone before we arrived at check-in time which was 4 p.m. They were empty as we left in the morning. I am sure that the hotel meets the city code in this respect, but perhaps they should consider doing more than just meeting the code. They have a large parking lot and someone who is physically unable to walk distance should not have to park a distance from the entrance.
It was a very nice stay and I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dickmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    171
    101
    27
    13
See reviews for
63
80
34
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
394 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We've stayed here many times, but it had been about two years since our last stay. We arrived very late - 0130, but we were warmly greeted by the night manager and a trainee. Due to my status (Platinum for life in Marriott Rewards) I was given a corner "junior suite" on the 12th floor. We didn't hear any of the noise from the club across the street which was nice. I was given vouchers, valid for two, for continental breakfast on Saturday and Sunday since the concierge club was closed.

We had problems with the lack of hot water, again. It didn't matter if we were showering in the morning, afternoon, or evening - We had to let the water run for at least five minutes to get lukewarm water. Fortunately my husband doesn't like hot showers, so he would shower first and when it was my turn the water was finally hot. The walls of our room had marks on them and the paint just looked dingy, maybe it was the color that caused this. A lot of things in the hotel just looked dated.

We enjoy the pool area, but the deck looks a bit tired and the loungers need to be either cleaned or replaced. They are either dirty or have mold on them. The pool area was clean and the lawn care service was there the morning we were at the pool. The pool is indoor-outdoor and there is a gym adjacent to the pool. It has many pieces of equipment, as well as locker rooms.

We had breakfast one morning in the restaurant. I think the only customers were those who had been given vouchers for the continental breakfast. I liked that as soon as we went back to the buffet area someone came out to cook eggs to order. The buffet had the typical breakfast items. The only disappointment was the taste of the fruit. We had breakfast in the concierge lounge one morning. There was the usual - eggs, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc. The attendant in the evening was quite helpful when I was having problems getting the door open. The attendant in the morning cleared our used plates and glasses immediately.

When I checked out I let the front desk clerk know about the hot water issue, and let her know that we had the same issue during our last stay. She was apologetic and said that it does take several minutes to get hot water to the higher floors. That's a terrible waste of water, and I really think it's something other than being on a high floor as we've stayed at other properties on a high floor and never had the hot water issue we've had here at this property.

Staff members were friendly. Parking was free with ample spots. We like the hotel, staff, and pool, but the property does need some renovations, and something needs to be done about the hot water issue.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the club across the street, or get a higher floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do have recycling bins, but should have them on each floor in the vending area. They also have shuttles that operate on something other than gasoline.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottWestshoreGM, General Manager at Tampa Marriott Westshore, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed and helpful review of the hotel. I will definitely be addressing the concerns you raised so that we can continue to improve the experience for all guests staying with us. We enjoyed having you as a guest and hope to take care of you again when you return to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This was a great stay from before we were even on property through check out. The day of, we called to see if we could check in early and Ann at the front desk went above and beyond to find out if our room was ready for an early check in and called me back within minutes to tell us the room was ready. Upon check in, Ann was able to upgrade us to a fantastic room with plenty of space and a wonderful balcony overlooking the airport. Our kids loved watching the planes take off and land.
The indoor/outdoor pool was much more fun than the standard hotel pool. Our kids spent most of the day swimming in and out of this fantastic pool.
Becky at the concierge lounge went above and beyond as well. She went out of her way to get our kids chocolate milk even though not regularly stocked in the fridge at the lounge. The lounge had evening cookies (which were a treat) and breakfast (which was very enjoyable).
With the lounge closed on the weekends, they offer Marriott Gold/Platinum members free continental breakfast for two (only $2 to upgrade to full buffet, which is well worth the couple of dollars).
Overall, I was very impressed with the service and hotel itself.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FLTrav23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a convention downtown
Free shuttle
Excellent staff
Good local amenities
15-20mins to convention centre
Very helpful front desk helped sort out local highlights
Shuttle bus for drops within 2miles
Good pool
Concierge lounge a great bonus with breakfast and drinks
Would stay again

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

In a big city like Tampa there are loads of places to stay overnight. Even after you narrow down your choice by selecting a Hotel near the Tampa International Airport, there are still dozens of choices you can make. But for a clean, comfortable room at a reasonable price with all of the amenities that a hotel offers The Marriott Westshore is my choice and it is the efficient friendly staff that makes the difference. They offer a "drive and fly" option which enables you to leave your car at the hotel for short stays and take their free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur_m27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

so at the last minute, i needed to stay an additional nite in tampa. I came here from the terrible hilton westshore. when i went to extend my stay they wanted an additional 99$.
i came here, the night manager gave me a really good rate. Room was clean, had a nice view, bed was comfy, staff was courteous. wake up call on time (this is very imoportant)

Room Tip: book here and you will not regret your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpshooter430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We loved that they had a free shuttle from the airport. We only stayed one night there before our cruise but we loved it. The rooms were nice the food was excellent and the pool and gym were just as nice. The drivers of the shuttles were also very nice. All around great staff and great place. The only down side was that our room faced the strip club across the street and having 2 kids in our room was difficult due to the noise, shouting, and police that were all so loud outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magytrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tampa Westshore Airport
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Westshore/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tampa Marriott Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Westshore

Property: Tampa Marriott Westshore
Address: 1001 N West Shore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607-4707
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Tampa
#45 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tampa Marriott Westshore is located in the heart of the Tampa Westshore business district, Tampa shopping, night life and restaurants within walking distance. An icon among Tampa Westshore hotels, we are minutes away from area beaches, Raymond James Stadium, International Plaza Mall, Westshore Plaza Mall, Tampa International Airport, and New York Yankees Spring Training at George Steinbrenner Field. Start your day with your favorite specialty coffee beverage at our Starbucks coffee bar in lobby. All of our Tampa hotel's newly renovated guest rooms are equipped to meet your every need with 2-line cordless telephones, personal voicemail, high speed internet access, and 32-inch LCD HDTV flat screen televisions with connectivity panel to provide guests with enhanced video and audio. Marriott Tampa Westshore sets the standard for hotels in Tampa, with an indoor/outdoor pool, Blue Bistro, over 13,000 square feet of meeting and event space on-site, all with renowned Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tampa Marriott Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Marriott Westshore Hotel Tampa
Marriott Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing