We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave this hotel a second chance - but not another”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore
Ranked #55 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the second time (visited about 12 months ago). We had a few problems with the wait for the airport bus last time and as a result of that and the service our stay was average.

We were in the area again and the location of this hotel and the fact that our preferred hotel the Doubletree had no vacancies we thought we would give the Hilton another chance.

Again major problems with the airport bus on pick up and on the day of departure. Staff did not explain their product to us and as HH Diamond members we were not aware the airport bus would transefer us to the Port. When we discovered this the buses were full and we had to book a taxi. This incident for us again reaffirmed the staffs lack of attention and care regarding guest need. The room was standard but not special in any way. Breakfast was in the executive lounge was basic and the lounge was so cold it made breakfast an unplesant experience.

We would not stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr10, General Manager at Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Elizabeth7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to deliver the quality stay (once again) that our guests should expect from a Hilton hotel. Each of these reveiws are reviewed each morning with our operations team. Your feedback is very important as we use these reviews to identify our shortcomings and opportunities to improve our performance. Please be assured that your concerns are being addressed by our team.

Sincerely,
Marcia Dmochowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 976 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Westshore for two nights in December. We flew in on the Saturday to see the Bucs and Cowboys game. We phoned the hotel from the airport and a shuttle was there in about 15 minutes. Check in was quick and our room was great (super clean, lots of space). The hotel is close to everything! We took the shuttle to Raymond James, but you could walk there in about 15-20 min. We often chose to walk to the mall, but the shuttle was always willing to take us. Service was fantastic (front desk, shuttle, etc...) and the outside pool and patio is great. We had drinks at the bar during happy hour, but chose to eat at a few of the fantastic restaurants at the mall rather than at the hotel. The mall is great, but if you want to shop for deals, ask the shuttle driver to take you to the Target, as there are a number of big box stores there (DSW Shoes, etc...). Overall, a great choice of hotel. We will definitely be back if we go to another game!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr10, General Manager at Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Meg B,

Thank you for the wonderful review! The team at the Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore is thrilled that you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel and of course the Cowboys win over the Bucs! We truly strive to provide friendly helpful service and it is very rewarding to hear when we are successful in this endeavor.
We hope that when you return to Tampa for the next football season, you will stay with us again. If we can be of assistance to you with your reservation needs, please contact us.

Sincerely,
Marcia Dmochowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011 and really enjoyed it. The hotel is in close proximity to the Airport, International Mall, Westshore Mall, Raymond James stadium and lots of restaurants in the area. They also provide a complimentary shuttle service to these areas (once within the 3 miles radius). The hotel has a pool which is really nice, as Clearwater Beach is 30 mins away.

The staff at the hotel is amazing! The front desk, housekeeping and management staff has exceptional customer service. Tristana, Oana, Dmitri and the other ladies at the front desk was great. I will definitely return to this Hilton!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr10, General Manager at Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Dukeylazoog,

Thank you so much for your gracious review! Everyone at the Hilton Tampa Airport Hilton is so pleased that you enjoyed not only our location but also the quality of service provided and the complimentary shuttle service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Marcia Dmochowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed one night 12/2/2011, since we were in Tampa/St Pete for the boat show and wanted to do some Christmas shopping in Tampa. Besides being perfect for the Tampa Airport.... it's also very close to the International Mall. Sam Seltzer Restaurant is right across the street.(very easy walk) Best Prime hamburger...@ Sam's. Hilton was clean, nicely decorated for Christmas. Lobby bar bartender, Renae, was very friendly. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr10, General Manager at Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear Flo V,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us this past December. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit to Tampa as well as the hotel. Our location provides easy access to so much the area has to offer. Our Housekeeping team was very pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the hotel as they work very diligently to make it so and Renae looks forward to welcoming you back in our Bay Breeze Lounge.

We hope to have you visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Marcia Dmochowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

leonol the manager aparently really needs a reality check. he tells my wife he would fix her computer if she brought it down to the desk insisting the wireless connection was not the issue. he should focus more on hotel issues and leave IT for the professionals. he told my wife to disable my vpn , glad i caught that, i would have lost alot of saved work.
stains on carpet in room, waitress in bay breeze was mumbling under her breathe after another guest did not leave a tip...who complains in front of other guests when they dont get tipped? vending and ice machines did not work on many levels. another girl was working at the desk when i was here in november but she sounded russian and had blonde hair and you could smell alcohol on her breathe from a mile away. i did not make comment to her about that but asked if i could have a late check out as i am a diamond hilton honors member, i was really stunned as she did not make eye contact at all with me and rudely said "no". she made no further comment. i made a point to visit here as the survey was not presented to my email from hilton so i had to reference the terrible time here. as for the night person, i never got my wake up call, or an apology. thanks hilton, i am not interested in staying here again and are as shot as sheraton riverwalk.

Room Tip: dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr10, General Manager at Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear steve b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to detail your experience of your stay with us. You are a valued Hilton guest and we are committed to your satisfaction. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you personally. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Marcia Dmochowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Airport hotel in Tampa at the end of November 2011.
I don't have a lot to say about this one because it's "Hilton standards" and we spent only one night there (we arrived around 6PM and were gone at 5:15 AM to catch our flight).
The room was big, no interesting view (but we knew that we are not downtown but near the airport!), the carpet in the room was dated and stained, the mattress and pillows were nice and comfy. The bathroom was clean but I struggled to adjust water in the shower (it was too cold or too hot).
I paid only 89$/night so I think that was a great price for what I get (again I'm used to stay at Hilton's hotel and I've seen a lot which were better than this but it's at the airport so you know that you won't stay here for vacation or a romantic week-end!).
My only complaint is that we weren't able to enjoy the breakfast because we had to leave to take our plane at 6:00am and the breakfast is only from 6:45! I think is way too late for an hotel near an airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Tampa Hilton-We stayed November 4, 2011, for one night in room 1020. We were attending a function at the University of Tampa and couldn’t find a decent priced room downtown so we stayed here, about 5 miles away. The room was quiet and had a view of nothing spectacular. We had twp beds, and everything was as pictured on their website. The bathroom was ok. The best part was the executive lounge on the 10th floor where we had breakfast. There was a good hot breakfast with eggs and breakfast meat. Coffee was very good. Service was excellent. Parking was ample, but the parking lot was a maze. They had a water station in the lobby. There was a popular bar in the lobby, but we didn’t make it as we had to rush to UT not too long after we checked in. When we returned, it was late and we were tired. From the breakfast room, we could see the runway at the Tampa airport, but I never heard any noise. Area was being updated from slums to more gentrified section. I would stay there again only if I couldn’t find anything close to where I needed to be. The shuttle service only goes to a limited area, and downtown is not in that area. No major complaints but not really anything in the area of interest to me!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerlinG-ParisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralMgr10, General Manager at Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear DisneyPar,
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. The team at the Hilton Tampa Airport are thrilled that you enjoyed the quietness of your guestroom, the breakfast in the Executive Lounge and the service that our team provided to you! Although we do not provide shuttle service to the downtown area, we do provide complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. So therefore, we could transport you to the airport, the International and Westshore Malls as well as the numerous dining options near the hotel. So when you return to Tampa, if any of these attractions are in your plans, please try us again.
Sincerely,
Marcia Dmochowski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Westshore/Airport
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Suites Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 2225 N Lois Ave, Tampa, FL 33607-2355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
#52 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $189 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best Tampa International Airport hotels offering exceptional service and the closest proximity of International Plaza hotels with complimentary Tampa Airport shuttle service from 5am-1am. Unwind with a swim in the heated outdoor pool or work out in the fitness room or at the on-site tennis court. This hotel is ideal for special events, with over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space and free Wifi access. Not many hotels near downtown Tampa can compete with our location in Westshore within easy access to International Plaza, Raymond James Stadium, Cigar City Brewery and Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelPower, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa
Hilton Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing