We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #18 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Kennesaw, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2006

We booked for a week stay. We went to check out the place first because of all of the mixed reviews.We asked if we could see a room. We ended up staying somewhere else. I do want to say the the view was great, they had a tennis court and a tiny beach area. The rooms were small beds not comfortable at all, kitchen area not very clean,the bathroom not very clean and looks old. The hall way to get to the rooms were wider than the rooms it self. I would not pay anymore than $50 PER night to stay there.( they tried to charge us $149 PER night.) I do not see why they call it a resort, it is more like a motel with a nice view. If you like motels this place is for you if you are looking for a clean resort try somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    526
    228
    90
    88
See reviews for
568
487
84
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

My husband booked a surprise trip for my birthday centered around a Yankee game at Legends field. He was looking for a place that was not too far from the field, not too far from the airport, and was sufficient to hang out in if we didn't feel like going anywhere. He hit a homerun on the location. About 4 miles from the field and maybe 5-7 minutes from the airport. If you're looking to be wow'ed with interior decoration, this is not the place for you, but here's my $.02 overall:

PROS: Location, location, location
All rooms have balconies
Pool, tennis court and small private beach
Kitchenette with microwave, stove/oven, dishwasher, full-sized refrigerator, sink and plenty of pots, pans, dishes, glassware (including wine glasses) and flatware
TV, DVD player and stereo
Walking distance to a couple of restaurants; less than a mile away from others
Ship's store open 24 hrs.

CONS: Bedroom was adjacent to the main hallway and walls are paper thin
Bed - pretty flimsy
Uncomfortable couch (unless you are a small child)
Bottom two drawers of our bureau in the bedroom were actually nailed shut so we only had 3 drawers plus the closet.
No bar/restaurant on the premises
Internet access in the lobby - 15 min. at a time

If I had a laptop with me, I would have been pretty bummed about the lack of 'net access. Luckily we had other plans, plenty to do and great fun in Tampa/St. Pete so room time was minimal. We never even went in the pool or on the little beach there, but both looked nice. It seems more like a functional location for someone on a short term business trip.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CTYankeesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2006

The location of the hotel was perfect. Coming from California, it's similar to being in the upscale Newport Beach. It was very relaxing to sit on the balcony and hear the water. There's a small sandy area with a "palapas" where kids can buid sandcastle, and the grown-ups can lounge around. If you don't want the sand, there's a deck where you can sit and read. There's a beach park about 2-3 minute drive from the hotel. The particular unit we stayed in had outdated furnitures. Every time I pull out the dresser drawers, they almost fall off. The baseboard under the kitchen sink was corroding, and the bathroom fan was burning out. We only stayed there for 2 nights and so we didn't complain. We did noticed that there were other units being refurnished. Overall, the hotel is above average with its location and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacation_junkie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

I have read all reviews before I booked at the Sailport Waterfront and was very happy I didn't listen to the bad reviews. If you want glamour don't stay here but if you have older children 21 and 25 or any children and a traditional hotel is too crowded, this is the place to stay. My only regret I should have reserved the 2 bedroom suite because the sofa bed was not comfortable for my girls. The hotel is different with parking under the rooms and the open halls are wind tunnels but the views are beautiful and the rooms are clean, kitchen are stocked with dishes, pots etc. The location is prime real estate and built so everyone has a waterfront view, hence the name, with a balcony. The beach area is perfect to read, relax or barbecue. If that doesn't fit your needs you can go to the pool and lounge or sit at the patio area next to the pool and have lunch or chat. It is also near the airport and highways. I would have no problem staying at Sailport.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2006

We stayed at the SailPort Resort for 2 nights in Jan, and wished we could have stayed for a week! We had heard so much about the beautiful sunset on the bay, that when we got to our room and there wasn't a very good view, we went back to the desk and asked for another room. They were very accomadateing, and in fact let us look at several, before we finally settled on one...but it was worth it for the view of that sunset. It's really so close to everything- St. Pete, Clearwater Beach, Downtown Tampa, Bush Gardens, and yet far enough away that you don't feel like you're in the busy, noisy city. It has the feel of a tropical resort, in fact my friend and I were comparing it to a hotel we stayed in at Key Largo, where of course we also watched a beautiful sunset. The rooms (we had a 1 bedroom studio) were very spacious, and even though we didn't use it very much, it was nice to have the small kitchen. Very nice size balconies, for sitting out and having coffee in the morning. They have a continentel breakfast, but could extend the time a little bit (it's only from 6:30 to 8:30. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank briansnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2005

We came back to this resort again less than a month later and still loved it. Was there December 8th-11th, 2005 for my boyfriend's birthday. Actually, we rquested the same apt. and got it again! Still romantic, quiet, peaceful and serene. Made it to Bahama Breeze this time....food was terrific and service was excellent not to mention the potent drinks...LOL...this is a must stay place for a budget traveler. Thanks again Sailport for another great weekend getaway..

PS...If you are there for someone's birthday, make sure you get a birthday cake from Nina at Cakes Place on Kennedy Blvd...wonderful owner and wonderful store........

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jrzydva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis,TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2005

i hate to let this secret out but we stayed here november 30, 2005 and were greatly surprised by the sailport resort. it is seemingly more reasonable year round than its competitors and has great access to the airport and the westshore area. very close to shopping and restaurants as we ate at another favorite hotel nearby (radisson bay harbor). great value and a large living area will keep us coming back. vcr, sound system, nice view, 2 tvs, microwave, full kitchen, and a pull out sofa along with a master bed are fantastic amenities here. the only negative: parking lot is way too small and be careful backing in or out of the spaces.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vegasblk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#71 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing