We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #18 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We booked in for 5 nights, after 3 room changes we booked out at 4.15am on the first night.
The first room was dirty an over looked the car park, the second room was dirty and smelt of stale tobacco. The third room was dirty, had hairs in the bed and over looked bins.
I was told they only cleaned the room and changed the sheets every 3 days.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room with clean sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction. We are in the process up upgrading our entire inventory with new furnishings, flooring, and appliances. We should have 100% of our rooms renovated by the end of February. I will say that we do give preference to guests who book directly with the hotel or on Sailport.com for the rooms that are currently renovated. Reservations that are booked via third party online agencies receive the rooms that are currently not renovated. As for our housekeeping services, we do provide a third day cleaning with trash and towels every day for all of our guests. We do this to adhere to our conservation policies that we have put into place being under the Florida Green Lodging Program. If any guest requests that they want to have his/her room cleaned fully on daily basis we will happily do so. I apologize that this was not fully communicated to you. Our location to downtown Tampa with attractions such as the Florida Aquarium, Tampa Convention Center, Ybor City, Port of Tampa, and others is roughly 13 miles. We do offer complimentary shuttle service to and from Tampa International Airport, International Mall, and many surrounding restaurants. While I understand your visit with us was not up to your expectations, I hope that someday you may reconsider and give us another chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    526
    228
    91
    88
See reviews for
569
487
84
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Condos are comfortable. Location is close to tampa but a world away for peace and quiet. We had a few minor issues with our condo and maintenance was very quick to respond. When we want a quiet affordable place to stay on the water, sailport is on our list.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyjacket832000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review. We do offer a peaceful environment to get away from your daily routine. We hope that you continue to spread the good word about Sailport and we look to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I am a repeat guest. Top notch establishment with friendly and upbeat staff. Every room is a bay view, clean, upgraded and worth every penny. Hard to find luxury at a unbelievably low rate! An underated gem.

Room Tip: Every room has a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We value our loyal guests and appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know that your stay met your expectations. We look forward to seeing again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great service provided by Jerry! True asset to this resort.... I will be returning love the area and close proximity of dining. Hotel is clean. I have nothing else to say why 200 characters kind of makes me not want to write another review

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplydivinebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our hotel and staff. We strive to provide great service every day and it is great to hear that our guests appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Old complex. Views are great, but they don't outweigh all of the negatives. Staff are young and are unable to meet the needs of all of the guests. The pool is well maintained, heated and very nice, but they were constructing a brick paved area beside the pool while we were there and the noise and the workers (using the pool facilities) ruined what should have been a nice relaxing spot. We were traveling with our two young sons and both thought the room was disgusting. Definitely not for families. The shuttle was frustrating and we had to wait over 25 min each time we used it. Bed was the worst I've ever been in. The pull out sofa was broken so our boys had to sleep on top of the sofa. Ridiculous. This is only worth it if you intend to save money and use the kitchen - otherwise, find a hotel and enjoy the amenities it has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyMum87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for provide feedback of your recent stay with us. I apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction. I will make sure to address all of the issues that you brought to the table in order to prevent these issues from happening again. My sincere apologies for the noise disturbance…we were undergoing some renovations to the property’s driveways in order to accommodate our new Fitness Island and upcoming elevator repairs. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future as we value your opinion and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt
Level Contributor
165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We rented our condo from a private owner, not through the Sailport rental office, but can still comment on the complex. The location is fantastic with terrific views of the bay from most, if not all units. There is a man-made beach, fire pit and dock. We didn't check out the pool. The place is kept up well, with nice landscaping and clean grounds. I can't speak for complex managed units, but ours was a cozy, cute 1 bedroom that was adequately equipped. The owners were available and accommodating (their unit is property #642261 in FlipKey.) The only problem we had was with the wi-fi the complex provides - it is terrible. Slow to non-existent. From what I have read there have been many complaints and the management keeps saying they are working on it, but for months? Plan to use your data minutes to access the internet. Keep in mind that this is a condo in an urban setting so you will hear your neighbors and other urban noises. The location and view are worth a stay here.

Room Tip: Our unit was number 254 - perfect corner location. See review above to rent it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback pertaining to your most recent stay at Sailport. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are absolutely correct when saying all rooms have excellent water views providing the absolute best sunset views in Tampa. As a hotel manager I want to inform you and all other guests about the significant advantages of booking directly through the hotel. Here are some of the advantages:
• Flexibility of your booking being number one advantage
• All units will have gone through a complete renovation to include furnishings and flooring by mid-February
• The ability to book directly through SAILPORT.COM without being charged additional fees
• Complimentary transportation to and from the Tampa Airport and area restaurants
• 24 Cancellation policy with no penalties
• No housekeeping charges to our guests
• Excellent discounts to our repeat guests
• 24 hour front desk service for hotel guests only
• Guest service/concierge manager for hotel guests only
• 24 hour manager on duty/staffing to handle all your needs
• Significant discounts at Enterprise rental car

Please note that no matter how you book or who you book through you will truly enjoy a piece of paradise when staying at Sailport Waterfront Suites, but you will receive the significant advantages listed above by booking online at Sailport.com or calling the hotel directly. The hotel staff and management cannot be held responsible for any vacation rental bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Glad we had a bayside view or I wouldn't stay here. Not that it's bad. It's just nothing special. The service was good. The bed was comfy. But the pull out couch bed was awful. The carpet and bathroom was very dated. the bedroom was so small. For more money I would definitely choose to stay at the beach. But if you need to be in this approximate location give it a try but ask for a bayside room or you will be looking at a parking garage.

Room Tip: Ask for a bayside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenGables78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Just so you are aware all of our suites do face the Gulf of Tampa Bay. We are also in the process of upgrading all of room’s furniture packages, flooring and overall look. We are looking to have this complete by mid to late February. We hope we have a chance to see you again and provide you with exactly what you are looking for. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#72 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing