We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent room and view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if you are in the area more than a few days. Room was equipped with full kitchen so food could be brought in for an easy breakfast and/or lunch. No breakfast provided by hotel. Only recommendation would be to ensure that you get a room closer to the end of the "wings" for a better view. Only other downside was the elevator was slow and there is only one on the end opposite the beach and pool. Not very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    478
    208
    85
    82
See reviews for
501
426
75
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Let me start by saying "Thank You" too the entire staff at this little, quaint diamond in the rough water side hotel that is both simple to access, convenient to Tampa International Airport, downtown Tampa and access to a number of beaches within the area. The Sailport offers extremely clean rooms(ACTUALLY FULL SUITES). In Addition the Sailport Waterfront Suites with it's great location on the water promises to be a very nice place to bring your family and friends for fun in the sun and a peaceful place full of tranquility with it's great ocean front views this hotel is a must. As I stated in my title The Sailport staff was very accommodating on short notice and provided my family approximately 20 rooms for a emergency with the by far the best rates in the area. I would also like to personally "Thank" Mr. Nick Molinaro for taking such an active personal, professional interest in helping my family members with reserving rooms and providing them with a AWESOME experience. Nick Molinaro on behalf of the entire GRINAGE/SMITH FAMILY & FRIENDS thank you again!!

Sincerely,

Pat Grinage Sr.

Room Tip: All rooms are full suites and are very nice! Full refrigerators, stove, sink, Queen Bed and full Sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmobroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a great deal for a family of 5. "Sailport" is our home away from home and has shared two spring breaks, two romantic getaways for me and my husband; and a mini family vacation with 6 of my in-laws. They loved the property as much as we did. The property is well kept and the suites are always clean. They have a nice swimming pool and the kids enjoy the beach, pool and volleyball areas. Great location as we were also able to enjoy Busch Gardens, Clearwater Beach and Ybor City. Sailport is great for family and adult getaways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because the suites had kitchens, it was affordable and the location was central to the attractions my family wanted to see while in Tampa. Here are the pros and cons.

Pros:
Good price
Great views, awesome sunset
Convenient location, 20 min to Clearwater, Busch Gardens
Nice pool and grounds
Full kitchen
Laundry room (coin operated)
Game Day BBQ cart in the parking lot had great food

Cons:
Housekeeping only comes on the 3rd day of your stay, which is fine, however when you need trash bags, tp, extra towels go to the front desk and get them yourself. A couple of times when we asked they said someone would bring them up and never did.
We saw 2 large cockroaches during our 5 night stay in the room...umm gross..but we just kept our food in the fridge or sealed up tight.
The store in the lobby is a complete ripoff. Bring your own laundry soap (I got those Tide pods and they were ok going on the plane) and snacks.
Ask for a renovated room ( a tip I got from another reviewer on here)
The front desk seems understaffed.
Also Michael was not helpful at all. My son was carsick in the rental and when I asked home for some cleaning supplies and paper towels he handed me a wad of napkins and told me I could buy cleaner and paper towels in the store. Thanks a lot. I hunted down someone from housekeeping who kindly gave me a bottle of cleaner.
Another issue I had is that when I booked the room the person on the phone told me we could get the shuttle to take us to the Airport at 6am but then when I asked the front desk they told me it doesn't run until 7 am, no exceptions.
The wifi is HORRIBLE. They shouldn't even advertise that they have it since it seldom works and when it does let you on be prepared to get booted off repeatedly.

Overall it is not bad if you don't need Internet and you are on a budget.


Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I hate to even leave a review, because it's a mixed review. I was happy overall with the room we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. Here's is where the review goes BAD. My family and I stayed her April 21st and checked out April 22. I'm a mother for 4 children ages range from 1 to 17 years old. Any way we thought we had everything packed up or so we thought. Something was left behind, it just so happened to be my 17 year old's blanket, she has had it since she was born. Yes I take blame for it being left behind, but where I place blame is on house keeping for throwing it away and claiming they never saw it. I have talked several times to house keeping and each time they have made me feel like I was losing my mind and that there was no way I left it. This is something that could never be replaced. So heed my warning, DOUBLE CHECK, BEFORE CHECKING OUT!!

Room Tip: Get the 2 bedroom suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

First trip to Tampa Bay Florida. Got this room for view, price and proximity to attractions. It was a. good choice. Nice convenience store opened 24 hours. Garage parking. Small beach and pool.Close to mall, restaurants, casino. Close to Clearwater. Hour to Disney world.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently held our Q1 Mindshare at the Sailport Waterfront Suites. This is a two day event that our group does twice a year in different locations. Boy, were we glad to find the Sailport for our Tampa event. Nick was our coordinator at the hotel and he made sure that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All of our members had rooms with full bay views. These rooms were incredibly spacious and comfortable and we had no complaints from our guests. The Sailport catered our breakfast, breaks and lunch in and we enjoyed our meals on the pool deck which they closed off just for our private group. There are no private restaurants onsite, but there are several really good ones within walking distance. We loved our dinner at the Rusty Pelican, which you can see from the hotel. They only have one conference room, but it is ideal for groups of twenty or less. We were so pleased with the value that we received from start to finish. Take a chance and actually enjoy your work for once!! We certainly enjoyed mixing business with pleasure. Thank you, Nick and Waterfront Suites

Room Tip: Loved the fact that almost all the rooms have a bay view!!! You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#55 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing