We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice location, affordable, wifi is horrible!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, affordable, wifi is horrible!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because the suites had kitchens, it was affordable and the location was central to the attractions my family wanted to see while in Tampa. Here are the pros and cons.

Pros:
Good price
Great views, awesome sunset
Convenient location, 20 min to Clearwater, Busch Gardens
Nice pool and grounds
Full kitchen
Laundry room (coin operated)
Game Day BBQ cart in the parking lot had great food

Cons:
Housekeeping only comes on the 3rd day of your stay, which is fine, however when you need trash bags, tp, extra towels go to the front desk and get them yourself. A couple of times when we asked they said someone would bring them up and never did.
We saw 2 large cockroaches during our 5 night stay in the room...umm gross..but we just kept our food in the fridge or sealed up tight.
The store in the lobby is a complete ripoff. Bring your own laundry soap (I got those Tide pods and they were ok going on the plane) and snacks.
Ask for a renovated room ( a tip I got from another reviewer on here)
The front desk seems understaffed.
Also Michael was not helpful at all. My son was carsick in the rental and when I asked home for some cleaning supplies and paper towels he handed me a wad of napkins and told me I could buy cleaner and paper towels in the store. Thanks a lot. I hunted down someone from housekeeping who kindly gave me a bottle of cleaner.
Another issue I had is that when I booked the room the person on the phone told me we could get the shuttle to take us to the Airport at 6am but then when I asked the front desk they told me it doesn't run until 7 am, no exceptions.
The wifi is HORRIBLE. They shouldn't even advertise that they have it since it seldom works and when it does let you on be prepared to get booted off repeatedly.

Overall it is not bad if you don't need Internet and you are on a budget.


Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    506
    217
    86
    86
See reviews for
539
459
79
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I hate to even leave a review, because it's a mixed review. I was happy overall with the room we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. Here's is where the review goes BAD. My family and I stayed her April 21st and checked out April 22. I'm a mother for 4 children ages range from 1 to 17 years old. Any way we thought we had everything packed up or so we thought. Something was left behind, it just so happened to be my 17 year old's blanket, she has had it since she was born. Yes I take blame for it being left behind, but where I place blame is on house keeping for throwing it away and claiming they never saw it. I have talked several times to house keeping and each time they have made me feel like I was losing my mind and that there was no way I left it. This is something that could never be replaced. So heed my warning, DOUBLE CHECK, BEFORE CHECKING OUT!!

Room Tip: Get the 2 bedroom suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

First trip to Tampa Bay Florida. Got this room for view, price and proximity to attractions. It was a. good choice. Nice convenience store opened 24 hours. Garage parking. Small beach and pool.Close to mall, restaurants, casino. Close to Clearwater. Hour to Disney world.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently held our Q1 Mindshare at the Sailport Waterfront Suites. This is a two day event that our group does twice a year in different locations. Boy, were we glad to find the Sailport for our Tampa event. Nick was our coordinator at the hotel and he made sure that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All of our members had rooms with full bay views. These rooms were incredibly spacious and comfortable and we had no complaints from our guests. The Sailport catered our breakfast, breaks and lunch in and we enjoyed our meals on the pool deck which they closed off just for our private group. There are no private restaurants onsite, but there are several really good ones within walking distance. We loved our dinner at the Rusty Pelican, which you can see from the hotel. They only have one conference room, but it is ideal for groups of twenty or less. We were so pleased with the value that we received from start to finish. Take a chance and actually enjoy your work for once!! We certainly enjoyed mixing business with pleasure. Thank you, Nick and Waterfront Suites

Room Tip: Loved the fact that almost all the rooms have a bay view!!! You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had stayed here in a triple room in 2012 and had enjoyed the relaxed environment and really liked the 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. So we booked the same room on the same site in November for our spring break in March. When we arrived we were told we didnt have a 2 bedroom and that the hotel staff didnt even know what a "triple room" was. (I assumed triple meant 2 beds and a pullout?) I asked how a 1bedroom could be called a triple and how they expected 4 of us to stay in 1 bed. they were completely not helpful and very rude. (the front desk asked me how much I had paid for the room to see if I deserved a 2 bedroom) After having no luck with the front desk, we called the booking site (DHR.com) and asked for help, either get us a new room or a different hotel. They were also completely unhelpful saying that we were in the room we booked and too bad, we already had paid so there was nothing they could do for us. So 3 of us had to share a queen (as they didnt reserve us a crib even thou we called a week before we arrived to reserve one) and my brother with arthritis was forced to sleep on a couch. Add in the chain smoking thats allowed at the pool, terrible internet, and front desk/housekeeping refusing to give us more than 4 towels (even thou they only clean the room every 3 days) we had a terrible trip.

Room Tip: make sure you dont book a "double" or a "triple" room as the hotel doesnt use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linsae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay. Booking directly through Sailport.com or calling the hotel directly is the ONLY way to assure you get exactly what you want. I am sorry your 3rd party booking provider did not properly educate you on the configuration of our rooms. There is no such room type as a triple here at Sailport. We have 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, and a Deluxe studio Suite. One bedroom and Two bedroom Suites have a queen size pull out sofa sleeper the Deluxe Studio Suite has 2 full Queen size beds without the sofa sleeper. There is not a 3rd party booking site that knows the hotels better than the hotels themselves and you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com or calling the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am currently taking radiation treatment for cancer in Tampa and needed temporary housing for eight weeks. I wanted to be around happy people and this is the place! The staff goes out of their way to fulfill your every need. Starting with Mike Viola who located the exact room we wanted in the location we desired followed up with great service from housekeeping, desk and maintenance staff. How many hotels have you stayed at for 8 weeks and felt sorry to have to leave. We are already planning our "vacation" at Sailport next year.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkhoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Sailport Waterfront from March 23 to April 4. Overall, it was a very good place to stay. Check in was very fast and the location of this hotel was excellent. It was waterfront with great views of the bay and swimming pool.
The kitchen was complete with utensils and pots and pans. Nice flat screen TV and free internet(which was spotty at times).
We didn't get to use the pool until the last day of our vacation. It was warm and very nice. Every day, the pool was full of children and a few parents. Even after dark...you could count almost 20 people in the pool. It definately got a lot of use, but after seeing so many little ones in the pool...It lost it's appeal for me to take an evening swim. By morning though, it was sparkling clean again.
I would say that I would stay there again, mostly for conveinence sake. If you wanted the beach, you would have a good 25 to 35 minute drive, but for the Tampa Airport, you were only 3 miles away.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheshe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#70 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
3.2 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
7.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing