We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great views!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Sailport from April 4-6 2012 and had a nice stay. This review is probably going to sound somewhat conflicting, but these are our opinions.
The view is fantastic, although we did get a lot of wind coming in off the bay that we could have done without! Especially since it was cloudy, and drizzly anyway, which made it feel cooler.
As far as the rooms go, they're nice and clean, and adequate. The kitchen was lacking a few incidentals, like paper towels, dish cloths, and an updated coffee maker to name a few.
This isn't really a complaint though, because we did have a pleasant stay, it's just that in other condo hotels we've stayed at, in the same price range, we did get those things. Personally I'm not a big fan of the ceramic tile on the floors either. It just makes the whole suite seem so cold and uninviting.
The bathroom is extremely small, and almost impossible for two people to share, if you're getting dressed to go out. The bedroom is also a little small, although it does serve it's purpose quite well. For example, there is a chest of drawers in the master, but it's in the closet, because the room isn't big enough for it to fit in. There is only one night table too, which is a tad bit inconvenient. There is a window in the Master, but it looks out into the hallway, and not outside, so you have to keep the drapes closed all the time, making it very dark.
Our room was fairly close to the pool area, which was extremely noisy in the evenings.
Even though this review does have more negatives than positives please know they are only small issues, and not anything that would stop us from going back. It was very clean, and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. It just isn't as nice as some of the others we've stayed in for the same money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    556
    237
    100
    90
See reviews for
613
522
87
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

No, there isn't a beach that you can use to get to the water. There really aren't many areas like that in Tampa. There is however a beachy area at the hotel for sand play, laying out and beach volleyball. We saw dolphins playing right out front of the hotel.

Bunk beds in the hallway are only supposed to be for 50lbs max. My 14 year old slept on the bottom bunk with no problems. The other slept on the pullout sofa. These are never comfortable so if possible bring blankets or buy a cheap foam pad so you don't feel the bars.

The location couldn't have been better. We were 10 min from Busch Gardens, aquarium and a 30 min drive to Clearwater. Awesome places to each all around the hotel and they offer free shuttle service. They are all a walkable distance however there are no sidewalks (under construction) so it's best to drive or take the shuttle.

Our room was a newer room but I requested this. However, check in as early as possible!!! Request a renovated room and on a higher floor if possible. I would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a renovated room on a higher floor, use the stairs, only one elevator and super slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robynjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, QC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are pretty small and the wifi pretty weak. The pick-up at the airport took more than an hour for a 10 minute drive.

The shuttle to the nearby restaurants is efficient.

I'm not sure I would go back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is probably the BEST hotel value in Tampa. We visited on Easter Sunday and although the hotel was sold out they had our room ready early. The rooms have been completely reurbished. This is still the best hotel value in Tampa. Stay here and you will be very happy!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieRich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

if you want a nice sized living and kitchen area with your room and a panoramic view of the water, Sailport should be on your list of hotels to consider. The beach area that includes a beach volleyball court, the large pool, the sun deck, and the fishing pier made this a very fun place to vacation. It is a short drive to a fabulous shopping mall, not far from downtown Tampa,the Dali museum and also a short drive to St. Pete's beach and Pier. Our stay was enhanced by the friendly and accommodating staff led by the delightful Harry

Room Tip: If you want a king-sized bed you will need to request a two-bedroom unit. we were on the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Sailport Waterfront Suites. From the moment I booked on the phone with Nick to the moment we checked in with Jerry at the front desk, everyone made our stay very welcoming. Everyone on staff gave us great recommendations for places to go, things to see, and where to eat.

We had a great view of the bay from our balcony, and having an in-unit kitchen with a full size fridge helped make our stay even more relaxing. As other reviewers mentioned, the elevator is a bit slow, but take the stairs like everyone who lives in the area does! We only used the elevator to load our luggage upon arrival and departure. The unit we stayed in was actually owned by someone, so there were some nice updates including granite counter tops and comfortable living room and balcony furniture.

It is an EXCELLENT value for your money, especially if you want to be close to everything. Within 30 minutes we were able to get to downtown Tampa, Ybor City, Clearwater, Dunedin, Tarpon Springs, and St. Petersburg. I would recommend this facility to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stay away. Far far away. The front desk clerk was rude. When we arrived to check in she never stopped carrying on a personal conversation she was having with another person. She handed me keys and pointed to the room number than handed me paper work to fill out. Upon entering our room we found out it was not the two bedroom room we reserved but a full size bed for three yes three people to sleep on. The sofa bed was not only broken but also had a very large wet spot which we are pretty certain was urine. It was yellow and smelled. Called the front desk and was told it was not even wet. we finally laid a towel across it so we would not continue to step in it. No one ever came to clean! The house keeping person called and stated that room 432 was not suppose to be booked until it was deep cleaned. The previous people had trashed it and it shouldnt have been given to us. We were told it was the only room they had. Because of the extremely large hold they placed on my credit card for damages we couldn't even leave. We left this morning to go to theme parks and came back to find the towel we had covered the urine with was not in the middle of our bed. The urine had seeped from the towel onto our sheets. We asked for new sheets and we are informed there were no more to give that they had already changed our sheets . We went to pull the sheets off and found bed bugs. They were crawling all over the bed. Reported this and they told us the things on the bed were not bugs at all. The only thing good I can say is the view is beautiful. You can't leave the door open at night though to enjoy because the bar across the street plays very loud music most of the night. I tried talking to the manager and wouldn't even answer my call. I'm going to try to post pics here as well so you can see

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank love2playflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#74 of 163 in Tampa
1,516 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.1 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing