We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“hidden gem? not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“hidden gem? not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

stayed 2nights rooms were descent but I thought the resort had a beach and one can possibly touch the water or maybe go for a run on the beach well no they have a beach but its not big at all. It doesnt stretch very far and there lots of big bolders between water and sand. Good spot if maybe u want to fish. I expected the pool would have an adjacent hot tub and it didnt. The hotel provided shuttle within 3mi radius free but the place is surrounded by other like properties/timeshares and condos so when I wanted to shop for things I needed to make my family breakfast the only market they had was the size of a little gas station and the prices were ridiculous for ex: 8 oz oscar mayer bacon 4.79 when in a reg store u get 16 oz for that price. They contract out the shuttle company blue one and they aren't very punctual I don't think I would return to this place personally

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    484
    212
    85
    83
See reviews for
511
436
76
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked this place fearing the worst & hoping for the best based on reviews here. ( pleasantly surprised).When we arrived we were given a renovated room(which I asked for as per other reviews). Brittany at the desk also arranged for a bed guard rail for my son touse for sleeping. The room itself was immaculate, spotless, and furnishings were brand new. Stainless Steel kitchen appliances were a nice surprise.(saved $ by cooking in) We stayed in #375 which faces a small creek leading to the bay. At first I wasn't happy with this, but every morning my 3 yr old son was able to observe and identify many different birds feeding on the small fish in the creek, and it became an eco-lesson of sorts. At first it seemed we were so far from the resports amenities- pool, beach, etc... ; but it became a Godsend once the weekend crowd arrived. We were away from the noisy/rowdiness that became of the beach area after the sun set. A few scarey folks in that crowd but no one bothered us personally. Except that is for the family of 7 that were in the room above us (I counted one day). As their unit was also 1 bedroom, I do not know how they fit. They did sound like a heard of buffallo running & jumping around till the wee hours of the morning, very annoying. "Bray" who owns the BBQ joint near the pool makes the most delicious ribs. Collard greens are excellent as is the potato salad. It is a family business with his mom & son. I highly recommend it. Laundry facility was clean, although housekeeping was non-existant. We were told our room would be serviced the 3rd day - never happened. Ran out of toilet paper too ! Although the garbage was taken from the room every morning, nothing else was done. All in all though I have to say we did enjoy our stay. Room was very nice, sunsets gorgeous, BBQ amazing, and the price was right. Would we stay again ??? More than likely.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Looo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Based upon price and location, we would stay at Sailport Waterfront Suites again! The grounds, views, and outdoor ammenities were superb. They included a large pool area, huge deck with chairs, lounges, and umbrella tables, a little private beach with tiki umbrella tables, and a gas "campfire" pit and torches - all well kept. Our 4th floor room had a little balcony and view of the bay and pool. Several good restaurants were closeby, but our favorite was the BBQ Cart near the pool for dinner. Ray Seals, retired football player and his mom, operate this delicious smoked BBQ spot and it was the best deal in town. We ate on the deck at sunset. WOW!
The "inside" ROOMS, however, were outdated, plain, and the layout was awkward. The floor needed cleaning and we had to ask twice to have it taken care of.
We would be willing to "put up" with the indoor issues because of these above average outdoor ammenities. The bed and bathroom were clean, and that's all we really needed if we HAD to be inside. LOL.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd or 4th floor, poolside. Corner rooms with double windows seemed nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TakenByTravel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback during your stay at Sailport. I am so glad you had the oppertunity to comment on all the wonderful upgrades that have been made to the property. Please make sure you contact me directly for your nex stay as i will assure you get into one of our brand new rooms. We are about half way done with all the room renovations and should be almost all complete by end of the year. You will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com and as a repeat guest use promotional code repeat to receive additional discounts. Thank you for your business and so happy you enjoyed your stay. It only gets better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Sailport Suites! We had a wonderful stay, in one of their one bedroom suites. Staying in a suite has changed us as to never being able to stay in a small hotel room again. Relaxing breakfasts on the balcony before going out for the day. Returning at evening to drink a glass of wine on the balcony enjoying the perfect sunsets. The front desk people are great, friendly and courteous! Jerry assured a room with the perfect setting, and the rooms are quiet, never hearing anyone in the surrounding rooms. It is also convenient to Tampa, the beaches of Pinellas county, and the airport, a great place to get away and relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I would like to share my experience with you about the Sailport Waterfront suites. I read many reviews and was a little leary about some of them that i read but decided to try and hopefully not be disappointed. We arrived late on a Sunday night, we checked in and was greeted with a smile and went to our room to find a very clean and updated suite. We were very tired and didn't get much of a chance to look around. The next day we woke up to a beautiful view and well taken care of grounds. We went to clearwater for the day and came back to find we had some Maintenace issues with our room. I thought oh boy here it goes!!!!! I went down to the front desk to tell them of the issues and Jerry who was working the desk at that time started to go to work on our problem right away. He said it would take a while to get the Problem taken care of and he moved us to an upgraded suite without hesitation and assured me that any other problems to bring it to his attention and he would make it right. He moved us to room that had a even better view. We watched stingrays swimming,beautiful sunsets, and the view was breathtaking every minute of the day. Also there is an ex pro defensive end that has a bbq on the property and makes the most fantastic ribs and jerk chicken. He played for the Tampa Bay Bucs and Pittsburg Steelers for about 10 years. His food by far was the best that i had for my whole stay in Florida. As the week went on my wife and i stayed at the condo most of the week because it was so nice and just enjoyed the beautiful view of the bay. As for the reviews, Read them but understand not everyone will be happy but things would have to be pretty bad to be disappointed here.

Room Tip: View better on the 3rd and 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regardingn your stay at Sailport. It is feedback like yours that allows our team to be the best we can be. I am so glad you pointed out the staff responsiveness during your stay becasuse as we all know there is always a chance that something can and will go wrong and how that oppertunity is handled says a lot about the property. Ray Seals a former NFL player / superbowl champion runs Game Day BBQ and he is on property to give our guests a food and beverage option while we are in the process of building our waterfront bar and grill which will be under way shortly. I am happy you were able to enjoy his bbq and I am sure talk football with him. Please remember you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com and being a repeat guests you can receive additional discounts by using promotional code repeat . Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We loved the view and the one bedroom with a kitchen was perfect almost like your own one bedroom apartment. Very clean. Jerry at the front desk very friendly and helpful. Also we walked out on the pier and spotted a small shark swimming around very exciting. At night they have a great area with tiki torches.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Sailport. We are always looking for great pictures of the marine life to post so if you have any pictures of the shark please send it to us so we can post it with the rest of the photos. Dolphin, manatee, and stingrays are some of the most common photos we get from our gusest but sharks are a rare photo. We are so glad you recgnized the addition of the new beach area, tiki tourches and fire pit on the beach. It iws a very popular area for watching the most beautiful sunsets. Remember you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com and being a return guest us the promotion code repeat to receive additional 5% discount. Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent two weeks at Sailport, January 17 to 31st. We had a great upgraded condo-type room on the fourth floor with living room, modern kitchen, bedroom and balcony overlooking Tampa Bay. Spacious and very clean. With an east/west exposure from our balcony, we saw the sun rise and watched it set. Nice way to start and end each day. We had no trouble at all with the wireless connection. Full washing facilites on the third floor. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were well-positioned to take day trips to St. Peterburg and area and to head north to places like Crystal River and Tarpon Springs. There is a small beach at the hotel, although no swimming because of the very rocky shore, and a bit of a larger one neraby, but you certainly need a car to get around. The only drawback, and it was minor, was the noise in the hallway a couple of nights during the weekends when the hotel gets busy.

Room Tip: You can ask for a recently renovated and upgraded room for a small additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilishm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#58 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing