We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Short business trip to Tampa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Short business trip to Tampa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I was in Tampa for a short business trip two weeks ago and I stayed at Sailport. The room was huge and quiet, fully furnitured and with a nice kitchen. Drawback were the wireless connection completely useless because so slow, and the location which is actually in the middle of nowhere with nothing in a walking distance. Apart from this I had a nice and cheap stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faban66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    482
    212
    85
    83
See reviews for
511
434
76
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a very beautiful location (with beach volleyball and beach and lounge...), we really enjoyed the view from the balcony and the availability of a full kitchen. The staff is extraordinary friendly and you have a huge guest laundry to wash your cloths (75 cents) and plenty of parking space! Unfortunately the Wifi did not work properly and there is no daily cleaning/towel changing in the rooms (but you just have to let the staff know, that you need something and you will get!) and the beds are really veryveryvery old and not comfortable at all. For this reasons only "very good"...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isetta1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was in Tampa for a convention downtown. I don't like being stuck in the expensive convention center hotels and prefer to be on the water. Sailport has a great view, pool, nice little beach, and very comfortable condo rooms. I rented a 1 bedroom with kitchen - the sunsets were spectacular. I highly recommend this property and would even consider buying a unit here. Ray Spears, ex Steeler has a nice BBQ smoker running around 5:00 pm and he and his mom serve up the best ribs and chicken by the pool in the whole state of Florida. The hotel staff was very attentive. Room service is spread out over a few days time - if you need fresh towels every day go get them yourself but there are a lot of snowbirds living there who own their units and that also makes it delightful. Overall made my very stressful convention special. It's only a 12 minute drive to downtown and 5 minutes to the airport - perfect location! I'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw had an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Small one bedroom suite with kitchen amenities. Clean. Love that it's right on the bay. They have a little beach area with lounge chairs. I would recommend this place but it's probably crowded during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Live2CdWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We truly appreciate your business and your comments regarding your stay. As you know Sailport Waterfont Suites provides the absolute best views of Tampa Bay as well as stunning sunsets every day. Where as we are a vey busy hotel during the summer our well trained full time security company as well as our policies and procedure put in place, it allows our guests to enjoy a relaxing stay here at Sailport. You will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com so when re-booking please go to Sailport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations due to their customer service. They had my business packages delivered and waiting in my room (without request), assisted in jumping my rental car battery (and wouldn't accept a tip for it), and the overall front desk staff was refreshing! The hotel sits in a beautiful location close to some good restaurants and even offers free shuttle service. The outdoor areas surrounding the hotel are great to get outside and enjoy the weather too. I will definitely return and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Hotel is currently under renovation, so request a room bayside in the newer (main) section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dozerdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our staff / customer service. We are constasntly working on the training of staff and the importance of excellent customer service. Our staff is always empowered to go the extra mile to help our guests. We look forward to your next stay at Sailport and remember Sailport.com is where you will always find the best rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Great property, great location, great room, great view. We would highly recommend this hotel. Went to Tampa on business but if I ever went back for personal, we would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flacooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We loved it at sailport. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the apartments are big with a full kitchen, clean and come with a great view.

Plenty of parking, great value and lots to do onsite.

There is a big laundry room also. The pool is heated which is great for swimming at night.

I would highly recommend anyone visiting Tampa to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am so glad to read how you enjoyed our stay here at Sailport. We strive to always be the best we can be. I am glad you pointed out our large laundry facility with many machines for your convienence. Our pool is not only heated in the winter time but it is also cooled in the summer time for your comfort. Tampa Bay's best views are a given here at Sailport and again thank you for pointing out the other excellent ammenities. Please remember you will always find the best rates at Sailport.com. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#59 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing