We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some renovation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    560
    239
    100
    90
See reviews for
621
530
87
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sebring, fl
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

very nice two bedroom condo, with full kitchen, close to great restaurants and bars. Good location for downtown tampa and clearwater right off Hwy 60 (courtney-cambell causeway). nice view from room of old tampa bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garygSebring_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

By other reviews, it seems others either love it or hate it. I think it is a moderately good value for waterfront, not an expensive hotel (we paid around $152 for a 2 bedroom), and there are some pros and cons. We stayed here one night following a cruise, and stayed at the Surf Beach Resort prior to the cruise. Compared with the Surf Beach, Sailport pales in providing a true beach experience, because there is no real beach, only a very nice faux beach spot with sand and chairs, etc. The property waterfront is lined with very large rocks and water is inaccessible. Sailport rooms are comfortable. Kitchen is adequate, but only one coffee cup worth of coffee is provided. There is a latte machine by the front office which is credit card operated. Neither of the two bdrms provided a view of the water, unlike the Surf Beach. Staff is friendly and helpful, they let us hang out by the pool and store our bags all day, since we came in off the cruise ship early. A very helpful service, since the resort has no nearby restaurants, is the free shuttle. The shuttle cheerfully took us to restaurants, a mall and the airport.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a view. A room that looks over the faux beach area would be nicer to give a tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed in 3 hotels in Tampa and this is the one that will be our top choice. It is far superior to even the more expensive hotels at which we've stayed. The suite rooms are clean and comfortable for a family of 4 with a well-appointed kitchen. The views from every room balcony are of beautiful Tampa Bay. The recently refurbished deck and "beach" are perfect for relaxing, reading, sunning and sunset viewing -- we've watched spectacular sunsets the last three nights! There is a volleyball court (the hotel supplies the volleyball) a firepit and a number of outdoor grills. The staff from the front desk, to security, to housekeeping, to the General Manager are engaged, friendly and extremely responsive and helpful! We called to inquire about a cookie sheet and one was delivered to our door within minutes. Our daughter attends a Tampa college and we will happily return to this hotel when visiting her.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is awesome clean very friendly people and the view from our balony was breath taking and the price I could not believe. They have a nice pool, lots of places to sit outside and watch the sunset. We had a one bedroom suite very nice.Would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbe1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I am very very particular about where I stay. From the website this place appeared to be one way, in person, something else. I am SO glad that I paid a discounted rate for this place. Had I paid fullprice I would have been furious. My husband and I only stayed for the weekend and before the night was over after we checked in I contemplated checking out and going somewhere else. The rooms smelled musty and stale. I didn't even shower without my flipflops on. Dirty, dated and misrepresented. There is also no noise filter. You can hear the people in the next room clearly as well as anyone who walks past the door. This place reminds me of a motel that charges by the hour. The view of the bay was nice if you can get past the giant garbage dumpsters.. They should just demo this property and rebuild. The location isn't bad but the rooms are dirty, old and in serious need of rennovation. I would never stay here again or recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank EnGee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us. We value all of our guest’s comments, good and bad. At Sailport our guest’s satisfaction is number one. We have spoken with our housekeeping department and have addressed your concerns with them. We are also in the process of a complete renovation including a brand new furniture package. The first phase of our new furniture package will start in mid-October. Sailport truly is a gem on Rocky Point and we would hope that you would give us another chance and visit us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

According to their website they claim they offer free breakfast, amenities on sight: like horse shoes, teatherball, personal on sight motor boats for rental... Yeah right!!!!! They lie!!! The customer service sucks!!!!!!!! They tell you one thing and do another. The rooms smell like mildew or dead cats. All rooms are out of date with old furniture. The fridge smelled awful, we lived out of a cooler for a week and almost every other night the cops were there for some issue?!?!!!!! With that being said, the pool they did have on site was either a soaking bath for 30+ people at a time and/or extremely cloudy... No thanks! The so called beach they have did look out at the bay but was a super small area with NO WATER ACCESS!!!! For the other amenities they claim they have, the one and only other one was volleyball courts and they were only open till 9 on the weekdays and 10 on the weekends!!! Come on, with the little bit they do have to offer they restrict you from using it or cut you off at hours that are ridiculously early. I'm sorry, but my family and I are here on vacation and not looking to go to bed at 10 on the weekends. In addition, security takes their job way too seriously causing issues when nobody is doing anything wrong, speeding on property in their little golf carts and the hour before the pool/volleyball courts close they are coming every 10 minutes interrupting families and reminding them the time it closes... We got it the first time!! And... It won't hurt them to be polite and smile or wave to you when you are entering or leaving the property....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#59 of 163 in Tampa
1,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
17.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing