We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depends on room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sailport Waterfront Suites
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“depends on room!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

When I first got here I was asked what room I prefer. I said I wanted an updated room. They think a flat screen TV means upgrade... The first room I was given had the dirtiest carpet Ive ever seen anywhere. There were stains every square foot. It had a view of a man made beach (which you cannot swim on, just sand) also, only half of the view was of the bay. Ther other half was was obstructed by part of the building..
I asked for a different room the minute I stepped in.. They were very kind in trying to find me another room.. I got room 332 which had a tube tv and was not (updated) but it had an unobstructed view. This is the room I am giving 5 stars to.
I have 4 of the best TV's money can buy in 2012 at home but when on vacation to Tampa, TV is not a big concern of mine.. The biggest thing for me is that the new room was very clean. Not a single stain on the carpet which makes a world of difference, makes it feel like home where you can walk barefoot.. Also it was open concept, the first room, (which I dont remember the number) had a closed off office space which made the kitchen closed off more..
With the excellent rates and this clean open concept room I didnt mind the tube tv at all and I give 5 stars to. The first room I would give 2.7 stars (sorry I dont remember the room number) I wish the pool had a hot tub which would have made this hotel a lot better but I really have no complaints with the rates and room 332..
This hotel is also pretty much inbetween clearwater beach and Busch Gardens/Adventure island with about a 35 minutes drive to either.
I would definately come back to this hotel any chance I get but would make sure that there is a clean room available otherwise I would not book..
Oh yeah and they had the strongest ac Ive had in any hotel/motel..

Room Tip: Ask for clean room! Some are the dirtiest you will find anywhere. Some are very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    554
    237
    98
    90
See reviews for
609
519
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We requested a rennovated suite with an exterior entrance (thanks to reading other reviews!). Our suite was stunning. We had three adults and we had plenty of room. The extra closet by the bathroom was a huge plus for storing toiletries as the bathroom is small. The staff was as accommodating as any five star hotel. We really appreciated the great service from Edward at the desk - he is true hospitality professional. The shuttle service was great to get our older son around at night to the local establishments. The pool was very clean and well serviced. We are looking forward to another vacation here -- the price was amazing for the space and location. We hit twelve beaches along the coast within five days, as well as enjoying Ybor city and Channelside in Tampa.

Room Tip: Request rennovated room with exterior entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allsun4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I knew it was bad news as I pulled in front of the hotel's massive parking lot. It reeked of mildew and mold. The check-in, on the second floor, was no better. I asked the representative if we were getting a good room, playfully, and he said that it certainly had a great view.
By "great view," I don't think he meant the rats scurrying about just down the hall, on our way to the room. They were busy enjoying an overflowing trash area.
When we got to the room, I noticed most the parking lot, though the next morning I did see the distant water with a small patch of man-made beach. A large dumpster marred my view.
There certainly was no view in the small master bedroom, other than four confining walls.
The place was to be fully equipped, but in the way of towels we had only washcloths, and there were no flat screen televisions.
We also could not change the thermostat to a different temperature.
My hotels reviews usually include high ratings, and I am not a traveler that goes looking for what's wrong. This time the flaws were just too big to ignore.
Skip this place. The past good reviews have no current foundation.

Room Tip: if you are determined to stay here, perhaps a higher floor would make the front dumpster less obviou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank babsorama6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your most recent feedback regarding your stay here at Sailport. As a condo hotel we do offer a much more uniquiness envirnment as well as a much different feel then your typical box hotel. We are the only all Suite Condo hotel in Tampa which provides all our guest with a beautiful bay view. I have discussed all your oppertunities and challanges with our management team and it is feedback like ours that allows us to be the best we can be. Please contact me directly so that we can assure you have the true Sailport experience all our guests are writing about.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

For the price, this was a good choice. The one bedroom was fine, but the bunk beds were too small for my children (which I didn't catch on the website before we went). The pull out bed was ancient - the mattress following apart and it was wafer thin. The whole sofa was really in bad shape - not comfortable for sitting or sleeping. Otherwise the place was good - the staff was friendly and the views were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay here at Sailport Waterfront Suites. All your feedback was reviewed in our leadership meeting and is in the process of addressing. I am happy to let you know that in September we will be starting our fist phase of our all brand new furniture project. Every room will be getting brand new furniture, fixtures, window coverings and artwork. Please feel free to contact me directly so we can have you back and experience our brand new product. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Valley, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for an event. The check in process was slow and the outside of the hotel, though well kept looked old. Once we saw the well appointed suite and the pool we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was very helpful and it was an added plus to have 24 hour security at the entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tammyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

For a quick visit tot Tampabay or a short stay before or after a flight its a excellent location. Well equiped, good maintenance (property is recently reneovated) spacious room with a great kitchen (if you want to use it). Coneviently located near International airport and mall. No hasle, just easy come and easy go.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the complex facing Tampa bay have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar rapids
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It sits along the Tampa bay. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony looking out over the bay. I thought it was pretty nice for the price and the kids love the place.

Room Tip: Great place to stay with kids the price is nice and the kitchens are well set up so you can save a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbahnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
7.3 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
7.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
3.1 mi away
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Property: Sailport Waterfront Suites
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#26 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing