We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting to know Tampa trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Tampa East Hotel
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
DFW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Getting to know Tampa trip”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for 5 days while getting to know the Tampa area. The hotel itself was fine. The front desk staff were helpful. I would suggest that when you check-in you ask for a room mid-way from the end of the row of rooms and the elevator. There were very few guests staying at the Sheraton, yet they put us in the very last room (the hallways are unusally long and winding) so it was a bit of a hull to the elevator, ice machine, etc. Which is normally not an issue, except three times our room keys did not work and you know the drill to get them re-keyed.

While the hotel faces a major highway and our room happened to face the highway, the heavy traffic noise was not an issue. So there was pretty good noise insulation.

The only thing that might be improved upon is the daily room housekeeping efforts. They would forget to give us bags for our ice bucket, didn't empty the coffee filter, nor replace our used supply with clean coffee cups and lids.

While there aren't restaurants within walking distance (more of a business complex environment), there are some restaurants about 10 minutes away via car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukieBoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    133
    96
    38
    29
See reviews for
96
83
25
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great lobby area, nice rooms (although they are on the smaller side) with expected upgrades like flatscreen, etc. I would stay here again, ONLY because the business I traveled to visit is in the same general vicinity.

There are no good restaurants nearby, there are minimal amenities nearby. Its in an awkward location highway-wise. So unless your destination is within a mile or two, there are better choices all around Tampa. -1 star for location

-1 star for WiFi. Honestly, in this day and age WiFi is an expected perk, especially for a busines traveler. Having to pay for internet access is an instant -1 star.

That being said, staff was absolutely great in any interaction that I had with them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
151 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

You really get the best of both worlds when it comes to this Sheraton. The physical building is old with a ton of character. The recent total renovation makes every surface of the interior of the building shiny, new, and high class.

The lobby is huge and looked good and smelled good. I was checked in by a friendly desk agent who went the extra step of guiding me through the restaurant hours, gym location and general hotel information.

The hallways were updated with great lighting and new carpeting.

The room could easily pass for one found in a Westin. The carpeting was new, plush and in great shape. The bed featured one of the best mattresses that I've ever slept on complimented by great bedding.

The flat screen tv worked flawlessly as did the wireless internet. The bathroom was roomy and featured new wallpaper and fixtures. They did decide to keep the old tubs which really didn't match the high class look of the rest of the room but not a huge deal.

Overall a well run, nicely updated property that made for a comfortable night and considering the quality, made for a great value as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michtraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the sheraton in tampa for a guys weekend. We needed an extra room, they accommodated with no issues. Staff was pleasant, rooms clean, food above average and the location was perfect. I had no issues with this trip at all amd would stay here again. This place was nice and had a good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Upon receiving my room, cosidering I was the only person staying in my room they gave me a room with two VERY SMALL beds when all I needed was one, all though the room was indeed clean and the upgrades are very nice, there was a charge, FOR EVERYTHING ! The hotel room was expensive and I figured there would've been complementary breakfast, but not at all ... there wasnt even a minifridge in the room from my dinner that night and when I valled to ask if there was a room with a minifridge, I was then informed there was a $15 charge for the minifridge! Breakfast was al la carte and WAY to expensive ! After leaving I forgot some clothes in my hotel room so upon trying to call to contact them no one would answer my call nor would they help me! Highly do not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! Not worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaMichelleXo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munsif S, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Tampa East Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear AndreaMichelleXo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. One of the major purposes of reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future.

We do provide complementary refrigerators based on availability. I do apologize, if that was not communicated properly to you. As far breakfast charge, hotel price is very comparable with other full service hotels prices.

I do apologize that you did not receive a call back with regards to your cloths.

Please feel free to contact me at (813) 623-6363 ext. 7109 so I can investigate this further, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Munsif Sharkasi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got to stay for a night here due to a priceline deal. Therefor it was very good value for money. The room was very clean and seemed quite freshly renovated. Everything was fine, nothing to complain about. There was some traffic noise but this is probably normal looking at the location of the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Forspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munsif S, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Tampa East Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Forspeed,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found our rooms clean and fresh. In your future visit, our front desk agents will be more than happy to assign a quiet room for you.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Munsif Sharkasi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was at this location in March as it was starting to be renovated. It was still in progress during this stay, the lobby and facilities were not complete, but the room, staff and location were very good.
The staff were friendly and accommodating though working under temporary facilities. I do hope they upgrade the TVs to flat panels.

Will definitely stay just to see the complete renovation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munsif S, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Tampa East Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear mochips,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments about the hotel staff. Yes, the hotel is completely renovated with upgraded TVs.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Munsif Sharkasi
Front
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa East/Brandon
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Tampa Sabal Park/Brandon
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tampa East - Brandon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Tampa Brandon
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa Fairgrounds/Casino
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tampa East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tampa East Hotel

Property: Sheraton Tampa East Hotel
Address: 10221 Princess Palm Ave, Tampa, FL 33610-9271 (Formerly Tampa East Plaza Hotel, Sabal Park)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tampa East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Tampa East Hotel is newly renovated and offers the best accommodations in the Tampa area. We are centrally located in the Sabal Park Business Center, near the Tampa Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Tampa East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tampa East Sabal Park Hotel Tampa
Tampa Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing