We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #75 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Vermont
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a good stay at the Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel. The location is lovely - we enjoyed the pool and the waterfront. There were beautiful birds on the shore in front of the hotel. I regret not paying more for a bay view room - it would definitely have been worth it. The front desk staff was helpful. The hairdryer in the room was broken and when we asked to have it fixed someone came right away. Overall a very comfortable stay and excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear wilvey,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Please come back whenever you get the chance.

Robert d,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    486
    339
    161
    150
See reviews for
423
526
83
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Except the noted problems noted on previous pages, our family vacation was OK, not great, but OK. The décor of the carpeting & furniture needs updating, but it was an OK visit. I would probably recommend the hotel to friends & neighbors

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Michael P,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience here at our hotel. It's especially meaningful when local residents say they will recommend our hotel to their friends and neighbors. And, don't forget to come back yourself. You don't have to wait for a vacation!

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a room overlooking the car park on the fourth floor but the view extended beyond just the car park and it was actually quite pleasant to sit on the balcony with a beer in the evening. The room was comfortable if a little dull but the hotel was undergoing a refurb whilst we were there so it may well be improved now. The location is good, though our journey became rather hair-raising as we got close to the hotel as it was rush hour, there were major roadworks in the area and our GPS was totally confused with the unexpected changes of direction we were forced to make, including onto a toll road so it was with great relief that we arrived in the car park unscathed! A pleasant enough one-night stay but worth noting that unlike many Best Western hotels this one does not have a complimentary breakfast included in the room rate, though there is breakfast available for a charge in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The view on the bay side is very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear CathB,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences here at our hotel. They will be helpful to other guests coming in. Other guests have had similar experiences to yours when relying on a GPS to get here. It doesn't have anything to do with the road construction. It's that too many new roads and ramps converge in a small area. When coming from the east, just follow the signs for 60 West to Clearwater. Don't worry about Exit numbers and other roads, just follow 60 West and you will get here. You're also "spot on' about the breakfast. As you say, many Best Westerns do offer a free continental breakfast. However many that have on-site full service restaurants, such as ours, do not. Once again, thank you for your very useful comments and the next time you decide to cross the pond, please come see us again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We flew in to Tampa on the night of 1/9/14. We planned a one night stay at the Best Western. I was a little worried after some of the reviews I have read regarding unfriendly staff and uncomfortable rooms....BUT I am glad to say we had an excellent stay! The hotel is close and convenient to the airport. We had no problem getting there in our rental car. When we pulled up I thought we must be at the wrong hotel from all of the nasty comments from others, but it was big and very beautiful. The lobby was huge. We were greeted by Darren at 1 am and he couldn't have been nicer or more helpful! It can't be easy to be that cheerful at 1am. Hold on to him and use him to train the staff who others say are unfriendly because he was great!

The room was comfortable and VERY clean. We always check the mattresses when we check in and there were no problems there. The balcony was quite spacious and gave us a nice place to unwind after our flight. The plug to the bathtub was broken, but I'm guessing that's why they are doing renovations. The hallways were a little worn, but again why they are doing renovations. Instead of complaining, I would think some of the customers would appreciate the attempt to update an older hotel.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool, restaurant, or other amenities (we had to be on the road fairly early), but I'm sure everything was up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. I would also recommend a bay view room, very relaxing!

When we got ready to check out, Darren was still there and just as nice when we first got there!
Reasonable prices, friendly staff, and clean room...it doesn't get much better than that! I would definitely stay there again if I get a chance to fly in to Tampa!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hinnahwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Hinnahwill,

Thank you so much for your review. I know it took you a while to write it and you didn't have to. I'll pass your comments on to Darren. Everyone likes a compliment, especially when it's so well deserved. The best compliment is that you will come back. Don't wait for "a chance to fly into Tampa." MAKE a chance to fly into Tampa.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

No complaints on the actual hotel. It was very nice, clean and rooms were very spacious HOWEVER around 10PM each night, the hotel restaurant's music was so loud. It was very difficult to fall asleep. This went on until 2-3AM the last night that I was there- a TUESDAY. I could understand the weekend, but during the week. After calling the front desk, they told me that the restaurant was having Karaoke night and that the speakers would be turned. I don't believe that any action was taken as I was up until about 3AM. There is NO EXCUSE for the music to be this loud especially when next to a hotel where people there for business, may be sleeping or having to get up early. Your management needs to work with the restaurant management to come up with a better plan as this is totally unacceptable. I had to sleep with the AC fan on high and tv on just to distract myself from the music.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessib322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear jessib322,

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and for your suggestion about the working together to reduce the volume of the music, especially during the week. I am going to talk to the upper management about this. I hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms are cheap. They do not even come with water, but one would never drink the stinky tap water. The furniture was sparse, the bed was sparse, the door was scarred. It was not enjoyable. The man who checked me in said there would be no way to get an airport shuttle because I was flying out to early, but did not even offer to arrange a cab to pick me up. Even though I was a professional on business travel, I felt like I was being treated like a homeless man who wandered off the street.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dorje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Dorje K,

I'm sorry your stay with us was not enjoyable. Our rooms are appointed to Best Western standards and are pictured on our Website. Actually, most of our rooms have been renovated and look better than the current pictures. We do not have a 24 hour free shuttle service and the hours are posted on the Website. Our water comes from the Hillsborough County municipal system and is fully certified. There is free iced lemon drinking water available in the lobby 24/7. Bottled water is available from vending machines located throughout the hotel and in the gift shop. Once again, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but you can be assured that we meet or exceed Best Western standards for a hotel at this level. Any time you would like to try us again, please feel welcome to do so.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was comfortable and the onsite restaurant was convenient. Great view of the bay and conveniently close to the airport. The rooms and hotel lobby were very clean. Free in room wifi and printer available in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for writing such a succinct overview of our hotel. I'm sure other guests will find it informative and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
6.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
704 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Property: Bay Harbor Hotel
Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing