We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service??”
Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #75 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
new york
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Customer Service??”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We saw the hotel on a hotel finder app that claims it only shows reputable hotels, out of hundreds of hotels in the area it shows a few, so we booked it -- probably wouldn't have booked a Best Western otherwise as the ones we stayed at in the past weren't impressive. As far as I'm concerned the app advertised and helped the hotel...

The hotel's location is very convenient... the entry to the grounds and the lobby are also nice. We had a late check in, and were quiet tired. The receptionist was absolutely horrible... he said "no" to everything I asked in a very abrasive tone... and was very unpleasant in his manners. We were so upset here I am writing this review instead of sleeping. We travel half the year and if we had walked in with no reservations, we would have walked out perhaps... Now I don't mind he says "no" to all, but there is a way of doing things... when I asked if we have a view, he said no, and then added "when you book with those online sites"... half snorting half expressing we were somehow inferior because we booked online I guess because we got a "deal"... welcome to the 21st century! I wouldn't know about here if it wasn't for the app! And I checked the hotel website is just a few dollars more than the hotel app... so what's the condescending tone for?

We looked at the room, asked if he can give us a king instead of two doubles, the answer was a no, of course... (would have been less work for their staff)... and started looking for the cart to carry our stuff which was nowhere to be found... when we told him that he told us to look here and there, and then said we had to carry it: this is a long hotel, and he gave us the room that was furthest from the elevator, like twenty rooms down... so I suggested since he doesn't have the cart can he please give us a room closer to the elevator since I have had surgeries and injuries on my shoulder and elbow, and my boyfriend had herniated discs.... the answer was a no. He said "he had no other rooms." This is an absolute lie.. the hotel is clearly way under capacity (and for a reason!). He then called a guy who would help us carry the stuff... so an hour passes like that.

If you have thicker skin and your stay won't be ruined by the complete lack of hospitality by a staff member you might come across, then I would say the hotel is ok for the price. The rooms are a good size, beds comfortable so far, and clean, no weird smells, no fumes, no crazy noise... nice size balconies. But this kind of thing, such attitude from people whose job's customer service really spoils it for us. When we book online we usually do one day first, so we see the hotel and then just extend at the hotel if we like the location, cleanliness etc... we won't stay in a place that doesn't appreciate our business.

Room Tip: The front rooms would have water views and if you will spend the day at the hotel might be worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Dolphelia,

Thank you for submitting your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read about the unsatisfactory experience you had. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my apologies for the less-than-stellar customer service you received. I have addressed your comments with our Front Desk team so as to avoid a similar occurrence in the future and we will be using your feedback to make continuous improvements to our service offering.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so we can provide you with the superior service all our guests deserve.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne C.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    486
    338
    161
    150
See reviews for
423
525
83
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a short, but sweet stay. The rooms were very clean, although they had a run-down sort of feeling. I would definitely stay here again as the staff is very helpful and courteous, the proximity to the airport makes for a convenient location, and the views of the harbor can't be beat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Linda F,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of our hotel. I appreciate the fact that you thought our rooms were clean. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep them looking good. We are in the middle of a multimillion dollar renovation effort, which will cure the "run down feeling." I hope that by the time you come back to our area we will have a new room for you. Please come and check us out. Thanks again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburbs of Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice location and very typical Best Western. Clean rooms and the bonus is the deliver food to your room via the restaurant on sight. Inexpensive as well. Water view rooms have balconies, but they aren't really private. And yes, it is noisy at night, probably mostly on the weekends, due to the restaurant across the way. The noise does stop at 12am. Pretty good fitness center.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandkmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Bandkmyles,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. I think your comments are accurate and will be helpful to other guests. With our current renovation project, we are addressing the lack of privacy on the balconies. I hope you will be back after our renovations are complete. We are striving to be more than a typical Best Western.

Robert D,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had an awesome time. We enjoyed the fitness room, the pool, the restaurant, the pier, Hulk Hogan's Beach and also Whiskey Joe's(which is across the Bay) and easy to get to as well by walking or driving. the food at both places was fresh and delicious!! Check in and check out was fast and easy!!!! Every where we went, we were treated with courtesy, professionalism and given the utmost attention and personal service. LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Doris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Doris M,

Thank you for such a great review and for taking the time to write it. I have shared it with all the departments and it's always nice to know when your efforts are appreciated. Thank you again and we're looking forward to your next visit real soon.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean and great location. You can go into downtown Tampa, or over to Clearwater within minutes...or travel south to Fort Myers. Has an attached retaurant that is owned by Hulk Hogan which has food food. Would reccommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Get a Bay Side room and pay the extra...it's worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Joanne212121,

Thank you for the thorough and informative review. I'm glad you had such a pleasant stay. I hope we get to see you again in the near future.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel once before and liked it because of the water views and the proximity to the airport. However our last stay was during the week. Our recent stay was on a Saturday night and it was not pleasant! The hotel was still fine (though a little dated), but there is a restaurant/bar across the water that had a band playing. The music was so loud, that even with our sliding glass door closed and earplugs in, we were unable to sleep due to the noise. The pounding bass kept us up until almost 2am, when they finally stopped playing. Considering we had to get up at 5:30am to catch a flight, this was definitely not a good situation. If you stay here on the weekend, don't get a room overlooking the water!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaMinnesota_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear EricaMinnesota_US,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. Since you enjoyed the hotel the way it is, though a little dated, wait until you see it after our multimillion dollar renovation. I'm sorry that the noise from across the water kept you awake. If that happens the next time, call the front desk. They will notify the Tampa Police Department, which enforces the noise ordinance. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice hotel, on the bay. Friendly Clean Undergoing renovations. Nice balcony and view of the bay. Great value for the money. Food is great. Convenient to Tampa and close to airport. Parking is easy. Like the big deck that overlooks bay. Public beach a block away. Beds are comfortable. Don't really hear the neighbors in rooms beside you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Tammy B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an upbeat and complete review. I will share it with the rest of the staff. Everyone likes knowing that their work is appreciated. Thank you again and I hope we see you again real soon.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
6.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
704 reviews
10.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Property: Bay Harbor Hotel
Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing