We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Since its changed to Hogans the food quality was horrible and over priced. Lots of out of control guests this time. Did not enjoy my stay near as well as I have in the past. There was a private party in the bar each day so we had much difficulty getting drinks around the pool. There is no pool service and we had to show ID to get wrist bands just to get drinks . The bread and buns on sandwiches were not edible. Over all we were very disappointed since we have stayed there many times in the past and have always had good food, great service just not this time. We could not enjoy the pool on Sunday because there were so many out of control guest at the pool in was dangerous for our kids to be in the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, concerning your recent visit. You will be happy to know change is already under way to address most of the items you mentioned. We have just reinstituted pool service, due to popular demand. We see from your feedback that we need more servers on busy days. The wrist bands are being done away with after Labor Day. We are changing the menu to offer more lower priced items and changing the source of the items to reflect better quality. Although guests can be loud at times, we insure that they are not breaking any laws, as we have our own security staff on property. If, at any time, you feel that a situation is dangerous, you should report it to a staff member or you may call Tampa PD directly. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Robert D, Guest Relations Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,470 - 1,476 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great room for the price. Clean room for sure. Water view was nice. Not much to do in the area. Have to drive. Bayside is boring, no beaches! Hogans is expensive and no one ever came to wait on us. I give overall a 7 outta 10.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Ron S.,

Thank you for your feedback. You are right on target when you say you have to drive to most places from our location. On our Website, you will find an extensive list of activities and attractions for all ages and interests that are within a 20 to 30 minute drive. Clearwater Beach, where many of those pictures you see of Florida beaches are taken, falls within that range. In addition, our complimentary shuttle can take you to many nearby restaurants and malls, as well as to the Tampa International Airport (TIA). We are working on the Hogan's Beach menu, as we are aware that we need more items in the lower price range. I'm sorry to read that no one came to wait on you, We are beefing up our staffing model, especially on week ends. I have addressed your comments with the restaurant manager.

Robert D, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service at front desk. All questions answered and very helpful. Free shuttle to nearby mall or airport. Hulk hogan restaurant food was decent. Again, very friendly service. Nice outdoor atmosphere overlooking the bay. You can walk along a little path to a really nice beach and restaurant on the other side of the harbor. Nice balconies on the rooms. I like being able to get fresh air. All in all, I feel like it is a great value for the price. It was crowded when we were there, but overall good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Justamommy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed comments about our hotel. They were very thorough, concise and easy to read. Comments like this are very helpful to prospective guests. I hope we see you again in the near future.

Robert D, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We did recieve a complimentary breakfast everyday. The only problem was it was the same every day an the sausage was undercooked and they had hard boiled eggs that were ice cold. Waffles were good. It was the same menu everyday. The smoking ara was nice but the chairs were covered in cob webs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Kathy P.,

Thank you for your comments, regarding the on-site restaurant. I do apologize for your undercooked sausage. If such a problem ever occurs in the future, do not hesitate to report it to the restaurant manager on duty to get it corrected at the time. In all of our properties that serve breakfast, we serve the hard boiled eggs cold. If you prefer warm, let us know. Our breakfast menu has 24 entrees, 7 a la carte items, 7 cold beverages and 8 hot beverages. When we launch our new menu after Labor Day, we are going to add breakfast sandwiches. Our aim is to have enough items so that having the same menu everyday would not be a problem. I apologize about the chairs and we have addressed the cleanliness issue with the staff. We hope you will consider staying with us and trying our new breakfast menu in the near future.

Robert D, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

While this hotel is isolated on the causeway, it was neat and offered good views of the bay. The room was clean and the AC worked great. The onsite restaurant seemed overpriced, so we didn't eat. We did bring food in for our own breakfast & ate out in the area. We knew the balconies were not private, but took a chance anyway. For our visit it was not a problem. If someone else was out, we draped towels on both sides so that both parties could have some privacy. We watch dolphins, fish, birds, boats & causeway lights along with sunsets. It is a noisy location: traffic, road construction and two beach bars. Anyone else on the balconies would be additional distraction. This is not a spot for quiet beach time, but good for a group or someone who needs to be near the airport. We drove out to St. Pete or Tampa to enjoy the day. The pool area was nice & families were enjoying it as well as the chairs set along the bay. Know what you are getting into and you will enjoy your stay. We did notice a wet spot on the carpet on our last night, not sure where that was coming from. The water was off in the middle of every day, so there was some work going on. Since we were out during the day, it didn't disrupt our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank GiddyUpMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Brian B,

Thank you for staying with us and providing such detailed comments. The only thing I would add is that we are not exactly isolated. It is true that there is not much within walking distance, but there are plenty of sights and attractions within a twenty to thirty minute drive. For those guests without cars, our shuttle can take them to area malls and restaurants, as well as to Tampa international Airport (TIA). The construction on the road is almost complete. These improvements to the causeway are being done in conjunction with a new bicycle/walking trail that will go past our hotel from Tampa to Clearwater. They are even building a separate bridge over the bay so the users do not have to worry about motorized vehicles. Regarding the water in the building, there is some work being done. We do apologize about the wet spots on the carpet. We are renovating the hotel and once in a while, the water has to be shut off to re-plumb a room or a section. We try to do it, as you noticed, between 11 A.M., check out time, and 3 P.M., check in time, to be the least intrusive. I like the idea about the towels on the balcony. I will suggest it to other guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Robert D, Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was nice having a balcony at night. I liked the hotel as the room was clean/fine and the bed comfortable, The staff was very nice all the way around. Pool area could use some help though. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atomicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I used my reward points to give my son and his wife a night out before he left for basic training for the Navy. They had a great time and said the water views were awesome! I completed an online survey and was really surprised that I received a personal response from the manager. I was a little worried it might be loud at night but they said it was quiet and they were able to have a peaceful night.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the waterview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#49 of 163 in Tampa
726 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#112 of 163 in Tampa
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
6.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range: $93 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing