We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #75 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Deland, Florida, Usa
1 review
“Romantic”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A wonderful, although short, stay at an awesome hotel! We will definitely return for a longer vacation. The overall quality was 10+, the romantic quality cannot be rated high enough. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    493
    342
    166
    153
See reviews for
434
532
83
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel was clean and nice and lovely view. Ran a great shuttle and for the most part the people that worked there were great. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. Nice outside bar and good food. Lots of things for young people to do. Nice clean heated pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as we were in town to watch spring training.
Positives
- located beside Hogans BeAch bar that has volleyball courts and a great place to get some drinks listen to live music and then stumble back to your room from
- beach area, jet skis
- pool
- free wifi, computers for use
- free local calls
- free parking
- its on the main road
- free airport/mall shuttle
- walking distance to whiskey joes beach bar, Chart wells, steakhouse
- the fish, dolphins, manatees in the bay!

Negatives (that will have me looking for another place to stay next time)

- the lack of customer service from the front desk staff and management in general
- we weren't allowed to upgrade to bayside room. The hotel doesn't have a process in place for current guests that want to upgrade as they wouldn't take down my request they said to keep checking back for availability. Monday morning i did just that And they were all booked up for the remainder of our trip even though online u could still book a bayside room
- the hotel is old out of-date. And that can be fine if they cleaned properly.
- there was a dirty piece of used soap sitting in our shower on the old yellow plastic towel rod. I specifically requested the cleaning staff to clean the shower (walls were also yellow with soap scum) and the piece of soap was still there
- the curtains have never been washed
- the bedding was yellowed not a white duvet anymore
- the front desk couldn't allow me to use their phone to make a quick local call to car rental company or tell me directions or even the weather! They told me i should use my cellphone. But i would of been charged long distance.
- you definitely need a car. Hogans restaurant doesn't have the best breakfast so we had to drive at least 15mins each morning
- its on main road, lots of traffic
- it gets very busy on weekends with locals since its attached to hogans and whisky joes
- Tampa is a tough place to get around due to many highways

I stuck it out for the 5 days but will book at another hotel closer to clearwater next time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystikal_mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I made a reservation at the Bay Harbor through the central Best Western booking number. When we arrived at 1:00 am, confirmation in hand, they unapologetically told us they were overbooked (although they'd just given a room to the couple ahead of us) and that they would be sending us across the street to the Holiday Inn Express and would pick up the charges. Send us they did, with a letter stating that they would pay for the room. Arriving home last night, I discover a room charge from the Bay Harbor hotel on my credit card. I've called the hotel. And Best Western. And my credit card company. And shared this nugget of info with the Tampa Tourist Board. Based on other reviews this is quite a common practice at this hotel. Buyer beware.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AVFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The view was great and the hotel was in a good location, but the beds were hard and the white sheets needed to be changed. A concert was going on in the bar next door to the hotel which made for loud music throughout the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at a best western in Orlando with my grandmother we were going to universal before I flew home out of Tampa the next day. The best western had no one at front desk to help us try and check out or find another room in Tampa. Finally guy selling universal tickets said to just use the computer. So we did. Well somehow the date was wrong when we drove all this way to the hotel in Tampa the lady was rude to my grandmother and said we have to call this number to get the reservation canceled. So I did and person there said no the hotel had to. My phone was dead from using navigation and we now owed for a room still that and couldn't use the money for the hotel we needed or the night. I went back into her she was standing talking to two men in lobby that were drinking and flirting. I had to get her attention to help again. She said nope it won't let me click and cancel it sorry for the issue. My grandmother had to drive 3 hours in the dark when she can't see with no GPS or anything just written directions back to her condo- and we still have no resolution. Worst experience for a motel ever all we wanted was it canceled

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taylor0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
6.6 mi away
The Barrymore Hotel Tampa Riverwalk
0.6 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
711 reviews
7.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Property: Bay Harbor Hotel
Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TravelUp, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing