We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tampa overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Harbor Hotel
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    411
    285
    120
    104
See reviews for
361
427
66
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Bay Harbour hotel for 6 nights in December 2012. The hotel was very comfortable, nice clean, large room. I had a city view but try and get a room overlooking the water as it is lovely (Although you may get some music from Whisky Joe's Bar). There is no free breakfast, although Crabby Bills Restaurant is adjoining the hotel where you can buy breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located on the causeway which will take you to straight to Clearwater and down to St Petersburg. The juntion of I-4 and I-75 are also very close. The airport is literally minutes away and so is very easy to get to if you are coming into Tampa by air, but you cannot hear any airport noise from the room. There are vending/ice machines and also a microwave which is very convenient on floors. Parking is free in their very large car park. There is no guest laundry in this hotel, only a laundry service. On the whole, would recommend this hotel if visiting this area..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginger_tulip2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here pre-cruise (12/21/12-12/23/12) in a room with two beds on the 6th floor and had a great experience, hotel arranged transportation for us and the other guests who were going to the Tampa cruise port - the cost was $20 per person roundtrip. The only issue we had was at Crabby Bill's restaurant, you needed a chisel to get through the pancakes but the waitress quickly fixed that when we let her know.
Then we stayed post-cruise (12/30/12-1/2/13) in a room with two beds on the 4th floor and thats when everything went downhill and thats what is making me write this review. Before we left on our cruise we were told we could get an early check-in on our return trip - well that never happened as we got to the hotel at 10:30am and had to wait closer to 2:30pm in the lobby for a room. Then when we get up to our room neither key works so that forces us to go back downstairs into a long line of people who are also coming back from the cruise or coming for the Outback Bowl.

Then we go out New Year's Eve and when we return to the hotel around 9:45pm we are stuck in a long line of traffic on the road because the hotel is hosting a New Year's Eve party/Grand Opening of the new restaurant Hogan's Beach. We were in this particular line for about 45 minutes, which I find completely unacceptable. We saw people with young children hopping out of cabs and cars with small children trying to get into the hotel. We finally get into the parking lot and man doing valet asks for money ($5) and we told him No thanks, we'll go self-park the car.

I went to the front desk several times and asked to speak with a manager, every single time I was told that no one was available - which I find quite bizzare because at every hotel I've ever stayed at morning, noon, or night there has always been a manager to speak with. Upon checking out, the lady at the front desk was going to comp us lunch in the restaurant but we declined - we just wanted to get out quick.

Pros: shuttle service (the drivers were helpful & friendly) and gift shop in lobby
Cons: too many to name - extremely slow elevator, slow computers, restaurant

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bentgal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear bentgal13,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I apologize, on behalf of our entire team, for the unsatisfactory experience you had.

Our check-in time is 3:00 PM and we are unable to guarantee check-in prior to that time. I understand your frustration, but the room keys can be deactivated simply by being placed to close to a cell phone. The grand opening of Hogan's Beach led to a higher turnout than was expected on New Year's Eve and we apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Also, if a manager is unavailable at the moment and you leave us a message, we promptly respond to our guests' concerns.

We hope you will consider staying with us again. Please feel free to call the hotel to further discuss or contact me directly at fom@bayharbortampa.com.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager, BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked 3 nights at this hotel for a very reasonable price. Upon arriving, we could see why. The hotel, especially in comparision to others surrounding it, is very outdated on the exterior. The interior is a little better but has an overall Motel sort of feeling to it. It's VERY important to note that, though the doors are not accessible from the exterior of the hotel, the balconies are linked together such that someone in an adjoining room could simply hop over onto your balcony. Make sure you close your balcony door securely!!! We found this extremely troubling and worrisome because it would be very simple for someone to break in. When we checked in the lady at the desk was very friendly and curteous. We went up to our room, which was fairly nice but could use some minor repairs, and decided to order room service for dinner. We called down to Crabby Bill's, the restaurant advertised in the elevator and the one for which we had menus in our room. We were told that the hotel no longer associated with Crabby Bill's so we requested a room service menu. It took AGES to be brought up, so we tried to dial Crabby Bill's on the room phone. It took us to the same room service associate. Apparently Crabby Bill's had closed and been replaced with Hogan's Beach. You wouldnt know this by the signs in the elevator, the website or the menus placed in the rooms. I feel like this is something that could have easily been taken care of. We ordered from Hogan's Beach. The food was average and expensive, like normal room service food from a Best Western. We found it a bit disgusting that our room service trays were left to sit outside our room for over a day. That's probably why the hall had a slight odor. The hotel provides "convenient" cards you can fill out the night before with your breakfast order to be delivered the next day at a specified time. Ours came 45 minutes late, AFTER we had to call the restaurant and remind them that the order had even been placed. Good thing we had an open schedule! We went down to ask the front desk staff a question about the hotel shuttle and were literally ignored for almost 15 minutes by TWO different associates. It was incredibly frustrating so we just walked away. Upon returning that evening, we became even more frustrated. The Hogan's Beach restaurant was hosting a New Year's Eve party (which we attended and was fantastic!) so valet parking was set up. We waited in the valet line to get through to guest parking from 20 minutes to find that it was full because the parking lot had been mostly blocked off for the party. We went to the front desk and asked the associates what to do. She told me to get back in line and have them valet my car. We waited ANOTHER 20 minutes and the valet staff was rude. I asked to speak to the hotel manager and he was unhelpful to say the least. He explained away all of my issues so far and made me feel like I was complaining about nothing. Putting down a customer's complaints is NOT customer service. The next day we had yet another issue. We came back and both of our keys had been deactivated. Robert, who may well be the rudest person I have ever met and definitely does NOT belong in customer service, told us to come down and "just get a new key ma'am" with a snide attitude. We asked him what we should do if these didn't work and he responded "just call us again, ma'am." We were extremely offended. He should have offered to have someone make sure that the keys worked this time, not make us pay the price when it was their mistake. We have never been so excited to check out of a hotel in our lives! For all of our troubles, we were comp'd our breakfast that was 45 minutes late. Whoopdy-freakin'-do! Never again Best Western, never again!

In summary, if the price seems too good to be true, it probably is! Run far away from this shoddy excuse for a 3-star hotel. I've had better customer service experiences at 2-star Comfort Inns!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Sara J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. At Best Western we strive every day to provide superior customer service and it is very disappointing to read about the issues you experienced during your stay.

Please note that we have had no known incidences of unwanted access to our guest rooms through the balcony doors as they all have secure latches on the inside. Also, the grand opening for Hogan's Beach was on New Year's Eve, so during your stay our restaurant was still in the transition phase. On behalf of our entire team, I apologize for the inconvenience that this caused. We also apologize for your upsetting encounters with the valet and our Front Desk staff. We have addressed the situation and we are taking steps to ensure this does not recur. I have also shared your comments with restaurant management as our guests' feedback plays a major role in our continuous improvement.

Once again, we apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Please feel free to call the hotel to discuss this further or contact me directly at fom@bayharbortampa.com. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service that our guests deserve.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager, BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
219 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

It was what we paid for. Great value for families with young children. We are more Westin/Marriott types so not for us. Rooms are dated, carpets stained and dirty. Balcony was good BUT ask for one far away from main strip. We were over pool and it was noisy and spot light over pool shined brightly on our balcony (avoid room 404). Front desk staff was super friendly and very helpful. We won't stay here again but if I had a young family I would!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Corina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent one night, fairly clean, decent location. Staff were very friendly and quick to respond to needs. Courtesy shuttle from airport plus to a few malls. Managed to arrive while restaurant transitioning from crabby bill's to "Hogan's Beach". I thought the shuttle driver was kidding when he told us on the way from the airport, but sure enough, there it was with red and yellow decor, all the belts and real memoribilia, and the Hulkster himself with a few companions. It had a fun atmosphere even though it was a slow thursday night. We thought it was going to be a disaster as the server explained it was their first night with the new menu, and signs they were obviously in transition (still wearing crabby bill's t-shirts). But the service was moderately quick, and the food was pretty good. It was my wife and i and our 19 month old night owl, and we enjoyed it. The Hulk was there, interesting to watch people hound him a little bit for novelty photos for facebook, etc. Congrats on the new joint Mr. Hogan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadatrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#30 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
0.5 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#108 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Hotel

Property: Bay Harbor Hotel
Address: 7700 W Courtney Campbell Cswy, Tampa, FL 33607-1430 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need. Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant serves a variety of menu items with a full bar. We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens(R), the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock(R) Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing