We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This Hyatt has it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Hyatt has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Where in the world did the management of this hotel find so many happy employees? All level of staff was so helpful and pleasant. This is an extremely clean property from the common areas to the room. The fitness center is well equipped, the pools are heated and clean with a hot tub, lots of comfy furniture, and poolside service. A nice biking, running trail starts on the property and bikes are available for rent. Take a walk on the boardwalk to the gazebo or to the casitas after enjoying a fantastic dinner at Armani's where the service and the food were perfect! It was such a relaxing weekend, we've already booked another.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the pool to experience beautiful sunset views although the quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler100Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for such an amazing review. We have a great staff that prides themselves on providing a memorable experience for our guests. I am so happy you found our property to be well appointed. It is great to hear that your dinner at Armani's was top notch. Your feedback is our greatest compliment! We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    553
    146
    52
    21
See reviews for
408
588
124
652
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A really nice upscale hotel which is near the Tampa airport. It has it's own garden grounds with walks, two pools and all the usual upscale amenities you would expect. Superb Italian restaurant on 14th Floor. Super-friendly, helpful staff.
We're going back. Says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was comfy, slept well. Room service was prompt. My room had NO hairdryer and tissues only in the bathroom.
Oyster catchers was on the hotel property a ten minute walk or short shuttle ride, the food was pretty good. I wanted Oyster Rockefeller for lunch and they said they wouldn't make (it is on the dinner menu), come on now this place has a sous chef and a executive chef there was no excuse for them not to make it. I am speaking as a retired chef myself.
I gave this a 4 star rating because the of the hotel the food was pretty good (I had the Mahi-Mahi). But NO EXCUSE for not making the Oyster Rockefeller. Don't confuse Oyster Catchers with Armani's on the 14th floor that will be a whole separate review.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is the best hotel in town.Great Resturants and large rooms.The view was so great I never shut my curtain.Does need a bigger pool and hot tub.Staff was friendly.Breakfast was overpriced.Like the airport/mall shuttle.Would be nice in rooms had balconys. A great place for weddings and romantic dinners at Armanis.

Room Tip: Get one on a higher floor for great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear kat j,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay as our guest. Our employees will be recognized for the wonderful service you experienced. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

With our hectic lives, my wife and I try to take time to renew ourselves and this trip we were treated to an exceptional property in Central Florida. When we arrived on property we were first taken by the meticulous appointments from the landscaping to the décor. Our room was very spacious and the mattress was very comfortable. The best part of the property is the boardwalk along the bay, which was awesome at sunset and seating with an amazing view of the bay from the Ocean Catcher restaurant. The staff was very welcoming and attentive to our needs. Great job and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Request a room on the bayside of the hotel to enjoy the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Elgin C,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It is great to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed your getaway weekend as our guest. Our guest rooms provide guests some of the best views in the area. Hyatt takes great pride with our employees exceeding your expectations. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back, as our guests, on your next visit to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel stands in a great spot on the bay and as decor to a high standard. I was disappointed on all other aspects right from the start.
At checking I was informed that bed and breakfast was only for two guest out of the 4 of us in the room (2 adults 2 children) although when booking this was not shown and also on the confirmation email.

Got to the room and found 2 small double beds by American standards, even English.

Only 2 packets of coffee, milk etc. between use, I know I could ask for more, but why should I, why not put them there to start with. Two small bottles of water a $2.50 each.

In the room 1145 at 3am the inconsiderate, disrespectful occupants of room 1147 (next door) arrived with a number of others talking loudly and laughing and joking. After 30 mins and all of us awake, I went to knock on the door, no answer but it went instantly quiet for 2 mins. Started again, so called reception and someone came up straight away. It went on for over an hour.

Breakfast seemed disorganised like they'd never done it before and ran out of plates for quite a long time.
On the plus the view is great.

Late checkout is a bonus and the pool area is good for relaxing before a long haul flight.


Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank foxyloxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

freeway exits on veterans parkway got me a little confused on getting there but its a great property with a convenient parking deck. Spectacular views from the 14th floor restaurant, two pool areas for lounging, attentive staff, and not ridiculously expensive. Just remember its on the bay, not the ocean and it can smell a little swampy.

Room Tip: try to get a high floor bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YELLOWJASMINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing