We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very engaging staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very engaging staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Good location close to the airport. Staff was overly nice from the front desk to the wait staff to the bell man. Costruction going on however. Only not so good thing was no shampoo in the shower or bathroom and of course I did not notice until I was in the shower

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    553
    147
    52
    21
See reviews for
409
591
124
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tampa for two nights and I must say that we
couldn't be more pleased with the staff, grounds, and accommodations. The room is lovely and spacious with nice amenities and very comfortable beds. Day or night, the the views of the Bay are spectacular. Both mornings we dined upstairs at the breakfast buffet where the staff was incredibly congenial and the offerings delicious. Before we arrived we were a little concerned about being so close to the airport, however, the building is so well insulated that you really don't even know it is there. This hotel is a perfect place for business, or pleasure, and plan to stay again whenever we return to the Tampa area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlygal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Tampa a few times now and have been very satisfied. The hotel is very well staffed, both in terms of number of employees and quality. Rooms are nice and comfortable. I have stayed both in the main building and the resort area. Rooms in the resort area have a bit of a bungalow feel - not necessarily bad but not as nice as rooms in the main building. Please be aware that the main building is undergoing renovations on the first floor. Nothing that will effect your stay - so don't read too much into that fact.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The staff here is the best I have ever seen at a hotel. I travel a lot and never had service like this before. From the front desk with Katie to the restaurants with Devon who brought us a couple deserts and had great conversation with. He truly is an asset to that hotel. Everyone there is great!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KindleCap57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear KindleCap57,

Thank you for going out of your way in providing feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Katie and Devon will be recognized for providing such excellent service during your visit. These are great comments, and are very much appreciated. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I was at the hotel for a conference for four nights. Just walking in my room made me feel wonderful. The room had a wall to wall window overlooking the wildlife sanctuary, the pool and Tampa Bay. During the day the view was bright a sunny and at night the lights from city buildings.
The room was spacious with a great bed and work area. The bathroom was spacious with a great shower.
The restaurant on the 14th floor was a bit expensive but the dinner was delicious and the breakfast buffet served on the outdoor patio was good but the view was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guardianship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guardianship,

Thank you for providing detailed feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your four night visit with us. I am glad you enjoyed the room with the wonderful view. These rooms in our tower provide guests with some of the best views of the local area. I hope to welcome you back on your next travels to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

But that didn't stop me from loving it! The hotel was very clean and you would never know construction was happening except for the large walls with signs saying "Construction-Keep Out". I mean the noise was low, dust was non-existent and I don't know what they are re-doing but the place seemed fine to me! The front desk staff was so nice and helpful and the cleaning ladies did an excellent job on my room. I swear one day I'm going to write down everyone's name so I can include them in a review!I seriously mean the gentleman that helped me at the front desk had a great personality-funny and pleasant. My room was very nice and the bed was so comfortable I almost didn't get up for my meetings!. My husband and I forgot our travel slippers so I called the front desk to get two pair sent up. They were delivered within 20 minutes-of course my pair had two left feet but that's ok, I really can't dance! Overall we had a lovely time and according to my husband the smoked salmon on the club lounge floor was out of this world. I'll have to take his word for it, I couldn't get up early enough to enjoy it with him AND make my meetings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Half business, half leisure stay. The front desk check-in agent was amazing. Very polite and friendly... even asking my wife and I about our previous Hyatt stay at the Bali Hyatt. I thought that was a nice touch. Received free internet as a Platinum and a nice room on the 5th floor, away from the elevator.

The rooms are great. Large king bed, sitting chair, and a large enough desk area for work. The bathroom was clean and well lit. The only downside to it was the water pressure in the shower was below average.

The closer pool area is nice and quiet. Beware that many parts of it can be in the shade throughout the day.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if I return to Tampa. The proximity to the airport is convenient and the staff is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bay. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike219jma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa for your recent visit to Tampa. Your feedback regarding the service at check in is very much appreciated. It sounds like you found the front desk agent to be very polite and friendly. I excited you found your room to be well appointed. I have shared your comments regarding the water pressure with our Engineering staff. Thank you for your continued loyalty as a Hyatt Platinum Gold Passport member. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Tampa!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing