We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights , we fly home tomorrow.
From check in we have had a great time. Upgraded to a casita because the main hotel had water problems because of the remodel. Very nice indeed. The casita pool has beautiful views and a small dock, we watched a manatee on night 2 from there.
We ate on all three days at the hotel, lunch poolside day 1, rooms service night 2 then night 3 bar restaurant. All meals were very nice and not too badly priced for a hotel. Staff were very olive and very helpful. All appreciated the wild life and had a great knowledge of the area. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, the resort side is as good as any other, thank you for a lovely visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a casita well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burty29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear burty29,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I appreciate you sharing such detailed feedback with regards to your visit. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed our casita room. The casitas are designed in such a way to give our guests a resort feel. Our employees will be recognized for the helpful service you experienced. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,747
    667
    171
    62
    28
See reviews for
550
740
151
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel and location. Best breakfast buffet in area! Central to downtown and beaches. Always feel a sense of tranquility at this property. It has it all. Pool, nature trail, sand beach overlooking the bay are just some of the great amenities it offers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 days in a casita room at this hotel. It was like staying at an upscale resort. The casitas are set in lush tropical gardens, have a beautiful pool/ beach and a wonderful restaurant - Oystercatchers which has a spectactucar view over the bay. Go there for a romantic sunset dinner. The whole experience was wonderful, service exceptional and very good value. I recommend staying there on your next visit to Tampa. The added bonus is that its only 10 mins from the airport.

Room Tip: Definitely worth staying in a casita room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doddsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share about your recent experience at our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your casita so much. We often hear enthusiastic feedback from our guests about the opportunity to have a room away from the bustle of the main hotel. Oystercatchers is a wonderful spot to watch the sun set over the bay and it is terrific that you were able to enjoy a romantic dinner there during your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel again for a future weekend getaway.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Montana
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, outstanding staff, terrific setting. If you are looking for resort atmosphere, book a casita. If you want luxury, tower hotel, book the hotel. We were not thrilled when we checked in over a holiday and the hotel had active construction in progress. The service by a caring staff made it easy to overlook noise and distractions. Can't recommend the peace and quiet of the casitas enough. The staff went out of their way to attend to any misstep, and there was only one! So glad we ordered room service in casitas, believe it or not! Terrific...and we don't say that lightly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montanacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for going out of your way to share about your recent experience at our hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you found the service to be exceptional and all of the staff to be so outstanding. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of the atmosphere provided by the casitas and I’m glad that you enjoyed the peace and quiet. I’m thrilled that you were able to try out the room service in the casitas and that you found it to be excellent. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again in for your next trip to Tampa.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of work going on at the Grand Hyatt--updating the lobby. Very nice staff, and a good event venue as well...the rooms are spacious and luxurious, and tastefully decorated.
They have a gracious auto parking staff as well.
Nice play to spend a few days while in Tampa on business.

Room Tip: just depends on your preferences. The views of the Bay are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSamSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is always wonderful to hear that our staff was so nice and gracious throughout your stay. I’m glad that you found your room to be spacious, well-appointed and luxurious. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every year we go to Florida at least for a couple of weeks, and we always end up our vacations in this hotel. It is really relaxing, the concierge, the doorman, the counter clerks, and the entire staff, are so nice and always looking for ways to go the extra mile. I always have a wonderful stay and the views are spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lolyn,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your relaxing visit at our hotel. Our employees will be recognized for the continued excellent service you experience. I hope you will continue to choose our Grand Hyatt when returning to Florida.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here once and was so impressed, I can't stay anywhere else. Stephen in room service is amazing. My fiance was simply craving chocolate. Stephen went above and beyond to accommodate us as in buying chocolate from the vending machines, had room service bring up cookies and chocolate covered strawberries just to take care of us. It left such a lasting impression on us, we came back on our honeymoon. Not only was Stephen there, he once again remembered us and made us feel like family. I have to mention Lauren at the front desk. We reserved a Casita for our honeymoon. It wasn't available during to circumstances beyond her control. She upgraded us and sent up a bottle of champagne. We were so happy and she literally made our honeymoon perfect. I love this hotel and the staff. They are the best.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuiceK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. I am so happy Stephen and Lauren were able to make your stay so memorable. We have a great staff that wants to make sure our guests have everything they need to make for a lasting impression. I will be sure Stephen and Lauren are commended for their top notch service. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your feedback and recommendation are our biggest compliment!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.9 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
6.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
5.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#19 of 163 in Tampa
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing