We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice business hotel with shuttle access to a beachy area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel with shuttle access to a beachy area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with young kids. The rooms we were promised when we booked were not delivered, we were first given a king room for a family of 4 that would connect to our friends' room. It was quite a hassle to get the desk to agree to move us down the hall to a room with a double bed. In the future, I wouldn't book here if you have any requests at all outside a standard room. No one seems to really know the hotel or is interested in making sure your party has the required accommodations.

That being said, we enjoyed the movie by the pool and had a nice dinner on the patio. Menu wasnt too kid friendly, but this really isn't a family hotel. We took advantage of the shuttle to the second pool and strip of beach. Received much better service there from all the staff we encountered here. Pool bar was friendly and so were the wait staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    586
    153
    56
    22
See reviews for
451
631
134
730
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ky.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I used a free night from our credit card. Check-In was flawless. The young lady was very friendly & professional. She gave each of us a cold bottle of water and offered late check-out ( couldn't use it because our flight left early), gave us directions, explained the wifi. Our room was #549 and it had a partial water view, was a very nice room with everything we needed. Their tolietries are very good. We loved the chairs as they were very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again even without using points.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled that you had a fantastic stay at our property. It sounds like you really enjoyed your room and found the service to be exceptional. Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Hotel is located in an excellent location right next to the Tampa airport. The Staff was Friendly and professional. Nice decorated and clean lobby, rooms and amenities. The pool area was very nicely landscaped, but too small for a big Hotel. The Food in all 3 restaurants is very good, but alcohol is to expensive.
If like to get seafood for dinner, I recommend having dinner at the patio which is suspended over the bay, unbelievable. The internet connection speed is very slow.
I can recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Hotel was ok. Front desk staff had ATTITUDE. Like it was a privilege to stay at their $129 a night hotel. If I ran it I would have them clean rooms for a few weeks to remind them their place. Valet staff were great, very professional.

Room Tip: worth getting casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I appreciate you taking a moment to provide us with your feedback. I apologize for the experience you had with our front desk staff. This is unacceptable and has been forwarded to our management team so future guests do not have the same experience. I am pleased you found the valet staff to be very professional. I hope to have the chance in the future to welcome you back to our property so you can experience our true Hyatt hospitality.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

What an incredible hotel! They have a new program that makes many, if not all, of the rooms “hypo-allergenic” with all kinds of features and even an air purifier system within the room to ensure that travelers with allergies will have the best possible experience. I have allergies—and didn’t actually mention that in my reservation—but got treated to one of these rooms. It was heavenly!

The design of the room was spacious, lovely and elegant, with numerous features that business travelers love. It made us feel good just being there. On top of that, we had a spectacular view of Tampa Bay. What a shame I had to go to meetings when I would have loved to sit in the room in front of the magnificent window view…..

The hotel staff welcomed us warmly and really made our stay enjoyable. They were responsive to every need and despite the fact that this is a huge resort, made us feel like they knew us. It was a delightful stay and we plan to go back just to enjoy a vacation there!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay if one is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoolmarm1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Schoolmarm1973,

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent visit to our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our Respire by Hyatt guestroom. Our rooms offer some of the best views of the Bay in the area. It is nice to have an opportunity just to relax and watch the water. Our employees will be recognized for the excellent service you experienced. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel has an oyster bar & after putting 2 & 2 together we concluded that the person we saw was out collecting them. The also have an elevated walkway (that I was excited about as the hotel sits in an estuary) where you can see tons of tiny crabs & if you're lucky some unusual, well unusual to a Californians eyes, birds. The problem was that we could see more from our room on the 12th floor, than outside.The most beautiful one I spotted was a Spoonbill~gorgeous!

Our room: always requesting a high, quiet room we we're assigned room 1222 & loved the fabrics & new furniture + quietness & views of the bay it afforded. The only downside was the heavily used roadway you'll see to your right plus, after a day or so, we came back late & found a really terrible smell haunting it. After a call, we we're moved to room 1224, (a giant suite) for 1 night & offered breakfast "on the house" for our troubles. The only problem is that they charged us for the breakfast & I'm still waiting for a response to please refund us for it.

Rest of our stay: business people are all over this hotel as it's central to airports & even arriving at midnight you will not be the only one checking in + all the valets we're cheerful and "on their game", which always kicks a stay anywhere off to a great start.

Room Service: in room breakfast was very good.he suite had it's own coffee pod type coffee maker + 2 bathrooms in case you would rather not share yours:)

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor for ratings & look for the deals located there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank married&inlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the Front Desk, to the concierge, to the restaurants, to the UPS girl. The service was perfect and the rooms were beautiful. The food at the seafood restaurant was a little bland but still good and the view was wonderful from the deck.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sosidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted that you found the service to be perfect and your room to be beautifully appointed. Your thoughtful comments are greatly appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
5.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing