We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Nearby Hotels
$135
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$155
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$176
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$87
SailportSuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,186)
Filter reviews
3,186 results
Traveler rating
2,111
766
204
71
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,111
766
204
71
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature preservenature walkthe main hoteloystercatchers restaurantoystersclose to the airportbeautiful propertylobby barself parkingroom servicecorner roombusiness meetingvery nice hotelbusiness hotelclearwater beachinternational plazafree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
2,460 - 2,465 of 3,186 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Tampa Bay while planning to attend 4 Yankee spring training games. The hotel was barely 5 miles away from Tampa airport, so we got there quickly, parked in the parking garage and checked in. When I made the reservations, I booked a king bed room with an upgrade to bay view if available for $12/night. Fortunately it was available, so we checked in to room 620 which had a beautiful view of Old Tampa Bay.

When evening came, we realized that there was a noise issue so I called the front desk and a gentleman from maintenance came up and said it was the service elevator noise (he knew exactly and immediately what the problem was - seems like he had identified it many times before!). We tried to change rooms but the hotel was sold out; however, the desk clerk said we could be moved tomorrow and he would comp our lunch from that day (I did not ask for any accommodation; he simply offered it). We were moved to room 1044 the next day which was quiet and clean and met our needs perfectly.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and included a hot and cold buffet.

We also used the gym which was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

From beginning to end this hotel was great! For the quick review just scroll down to the pro's and cons...My boyfriend and I decided to celebrate my 21st birthday with a nice little romantic getaway in Tampa. After researching different hotels we decided to give this one a try. At the time it was ranked #7 out of all the hotels in Tampa (but #1 in the area we were trying to stay in). Tampa is pretty big, I know because I use to live down there. We arrived at the hotel around 2am tired from driving from Panama City, Fl. Check-in was a breeze and a nice guy named David helped us. I had requested a corner room on a high floor. When we went up to our room the key would not work so I went down to talk to David. He got us new keys and also had another guy who worked there come up with us. Thankfully the keys worked. The room itself was very nice. Comfortable bed and pillows nice and soft. The shower was big. The hotel grounds were really nice. The view from the room was AMAZING. We were in room 1022. There was a huge wedding going on at our hotel but you were not bothered by any noise at all. Parking is great since its free! They also have Valet service. We were not able to eat at the hotel but down the causeway is a wonderful spot I have always loved called Bahama Breeze. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again! Loved it!

Pros:
Friendly staff
Clean
Huge Showers
Free Parking
Great Location
Amazing Grounds

Cons:
For once I can't complain

Room Tip: High floor and Corner room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mela_monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi mela_monique!

Thank you for going into such detail with regards to your stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay! Happy belated birthday!! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for such a special occasion. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed everything with no complaints. David will be recognized for his excellent service provided. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of a 3 week vacation and glad we chose it. The hotel kindly upgraded us to a bay view with a corner window and the views were stunning. As this is a city/business hotel you don't expect to be able to relax as much as you would in a beach side hotel. But how wrong can you be. There is plenty of space to walk around, relax around a small pool and enjoy the wildlife. Would definitely use this hotel again for its proximity to Tampa airport. Food that we had was good and drinks reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade - you never know
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick&Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Nick&Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback & your comments with regards to staying at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the corner bay view guestroom. These provide our guests with some of the best water views. We are glad you could unwind & relax for two nights before your departing flight. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary. After checking in online, our room was ready around 2:00. Front desk was hospitable and welcoming. Room was very clean and presentable. Nice views from 10th floor bay room. Had some very expensive cocktails at Armani's and then a nice dinner at Oystercatcher's. Great service and buffet style breakfast the following morning at Petey Brown's. Took a relaxing walk along the nature trail after breakfast before checking out. Overall, a great experience. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srqff80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Hi srqff80,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We appreciate you choosing our hotel to celebrate your special Anniversary. It is great that our employees went above & beyond to ensure your time with us was so memorable. We take pride with hearing our guests comment with regards to the delicious food you enjoyed at Oystercatcher's and Petey Brown's. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was here for 24 hours with a group of colleagues for an event we hosted in late May. Arrival and check-in were smooth, easy airport access, and option to self park right next to the hotel. Room was fantastic and had a nice view of the water, though I spent little time there. Super clean and very modern. On arrival the 5 of us wanted lunch in the lobby bar rather than leaving or going upstairs to their fancy restaurant, which left us thinking they were under staffed. Our waiter was was learning the new menu, mentioned making some of the drinks himself in a not totally reassuring way, and was clearly having to run our orders and plates someplace really far away or had a ton else to do. We weren't in a rush at all, but it took strangely long and meant he didn't clean up a spill (that he made) or clear our table before we left. Everything else went well, staff was helpful for both our events and small requests like shredding some documents, and the pool area was awesome and perfectly maintained and appointed, so we got some R&R in too!

Room Tip: Although if they're busy the water-view rooms might be hard to come by, it's worth asking!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollykmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews