We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very, very nice facility.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boyne City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very, very nice facility.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in a romantic Casita room. This is a separate complex of very modern rooms away from the main hotel (this is not well explained on their website). It is a short drive away from the main hotel or a relaxing walk through a 35 acre nature preserve on an elevated deck/walkway. We used the walkway to gain access to the main hotel for breakfast and to work out and loved the experience. The exterior of the Casita buildings is Spanish themed and surrounds manicured garden areas and a Koi pond. Features include a separate pool, man made beach area, covered hammocks, outdoor gas fire pit with seating, etc. located right on Old Tampa Bay. An added bonus is that the Casita complex and it's pool are adjacent to Oystercatchers restaurant (one of the top rated in Tampa). This hotel is tucked away in a low traffic area, but is close to the airport. Regular departing flight noise is part of the experience. We did not find this to be an issue. The hotel grounds are beautiful and immaculately maintained and groomed. Great fitness room on the 2nd floor of the main hotel. The breakfast buffet in Petey Brown's (one of the hotel's restaurants) is a wonderful way to start your morning. The staff at Petey's were helpful, upbeat and always smiling and gracious. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in a Casita room for a romantic and off the beaten path experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for recommending our property, it is greatly appreciated! It is always great to hear when our guests have a fantastic experience at our property. It sounds like you found the Casita to be well appointed and the hotel grounds to be beautifully landscaped. I am pleased you were able to enjoy both Oystercatchers and Petey Brown’s. They both provide terrific service and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    574
    151
    55
    22
See reviews for
431
612
132
715
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was on a business trip and we were directed to stay at the Hyatt. I knew it was in the category of a airport hotel but most of the time we would be working. I saw where some had complained that it wan't near anything but that is why it is near the airport and is an airport hotel. My daughter was with us and had her dog so she had to stay in their villas. I was given the option to stay near her. When I asked what was recommended, that was suggested. The rooms were excellent. Large rooms and very quiet. We ate at both Petey Browns and Oystercatchers. Both were outstanding. One morning we were waiting outside for our ride and the manager of Oystercatchers saw us and brought out bottles of cold water to us for our ride. Little things like that make a stay special.

Room Tip: We stayed in the villas which were very quiet and private. They were a little walk to the main hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Commodore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Commadore22:

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the villas. Our Executive Chefs at Petey Brown's & Oystercatchers will be recognized for the delicious meals you enjoyed while you were our guest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to the area.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

As I am sitting here eating my last breakfast at the Grand Hyatt Tampa, I am trying to think of anything that was wrong with my stay and surprisingly nothing comes to mind. The hotel staff was polite and efficient, the room was clean and roomy, the room service was quick, the restaurant food was pricy but good. Overall a pleasant experience.

I would not consider this to be a vacation hotel. It's location does not lend itself to a family vacation. You cannot walk to anywhere. But it does have a free shuttle that will take you over to the international mall that has plenty of great restaurants. With that said, as a business or travel hotel (the airport is next door) you can't go wrong.

I am a Hilton Diamond hhonors member, but this Hyatt has me thinking that maybe I should change my loyalty! Well done Hyatt.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CedarJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi CedarJB!

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments with regards to your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It's our pleasure to have had the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel. Our employees will be recognized for the fantastic service provided, as Hyatt takes great pride with this. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Tampa!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

First off I must say that the staff at this hotel is great. Everyone and I do mean everyone was very friendly and helpful. So right off that alone makes a great stay at any hotel, but this hotel is also lovely.

I understand it was very recently renovated and you can tell because everything is in great shape and looks new. We stayed in the casita area of the hotel off the main building at the end of the nature trail. We had a casita suite which was very large and beautiful. It's a bi-level so there's a living area, dining area, bathroom and bar/kitchen on the first floor (kitchen has fridge, sink microwave) then the upper level has bedroom, large closet and large bathroom. And there a small outdoor patio. The casita area has a koi pond and a pool and beach, small but all very nice. I would definitely stay here again when in this area.

Here's a small tip though the location of this property is right off the airport (plane noise is not really a problem though) and because of that you are not within walking distance or quick travel to anything else. And I say quick travel because you are off a cloverleaf of the main highways, so going off property to get a quick bite or fill up your tank take at least 20-30 minutes. Those cloverleaves are a pain in the butt, you go round and round to get where you going.

But overall we loved it here... one of the nicer Hyatts I've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I want to tell you upfront that I am a Hyatt Platinum Member and they are my preferred hotels usually when I travel. And Grand Hyatt's in particular are splendid and from a physical plant standpoint this one in Tampa is as well. It is beautiful. But my trip here last week left a lot to be desired. A lot of it centers around the fact that they have a main building and then a 'casita village' about a five to eight minute walk away. Though lovely, these casitas are remote and you feel like you have been abandoned. They do have a shuttle to pick you up and take you back to the main hotel, but the service runs from spotty to just dont care leaving you with a feeling of being abandoned. Also there are not any amenities out by the casitas like a pool or place for breakfast, so you truly are just sort of stuck out there, one restaurant aside. But the rooms are very nice and updated and the buffet breakfast at Petey Browns was about as good as I have had (make sure it is part of your room package as it is pricey at $18.00 per person).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel. So much more convenient. I will never stay in the casita village a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William15222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a week and this hotel is very comfortable, clean, and the hospitality is great. Rooms are a good size with coffee, and refrigerator. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had one sink and a large shower (no tub). Due to airline problems, we had to add and subtract rooms for our group and they were very nice about it. No charges. If you are in need of a business center, that is a problem. No business center. The concierge and front desk had to help us send a fax or use a printer. Food was very good except for the fact that the eggs were powdered. Order something where it requires a whole egg. Overall, the hotel is one of the best in the area except for two hiccups.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had to stay one night at this hotel on business trip. Arrived rather late, almost at midnight. Be able to get full menu dinner at the bar. Service and food was superior!!
Room was with bay view, just breath taking. Room is extremely clean as well.
Breakfast in the morning more then you can ask for.
Highly recomend for business travelers. Special thanks to Michael -front desk personal for his hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedora13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am elated that you found the service and food in the lobby lounge to be excellent. I will be sure to let Michael know you found his service to be top notch. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
5.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#16 of 161 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing