We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great views, nicely updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views, nicely updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed there one night over the weekend. The rooms are very nice and clean, newly renovated. Little small, but enough space for two people. Stayed on the 12th floor over looking the bay. Gorgeous views of the bay and the sanctuary down below. Very comfortable bed, nice and soft sheets. The breakfast buffet was not organized well, it was a long wait to get a table, even though there were empty tables but not cleaned. There is nothing around it, except high ways, entrance to the hotel feels like an office building and commercial area. Free Self parking was very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulip053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    548
    144
    52
    20
See reviews for
400
575
120
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Love this hotel!! I had my wedding there this past weekend and I can't say enough how wonderful Mariana was! She was able to upgrade our complimentary suite to the Presidential Suite located on the 14th floor with a bay view. The hotel is very close to the airport, which made it nice for guests. We had the wedding lunch at Armani's and the food was delicious. All the guests loved the food, the view was spectacular. The only problem was the Armani terrace was having a bug problem that day so we were not able to go outdoors to enjoy the view or the weather. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone to stay or to hold a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MITravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Your recommendation is our biggest compliment! I am honored that you chose our property to host your special occasion. I’ll be sure to share you kind words with Mariana. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay for your wedding celebration. I hope we can welcome you back to our property in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Comfortable bed, very clean and quiet room, very nice view. The breakfast/brunch offered by the hotel is pricey- find the nearby Paneras. Try your luck with naming your price with priceline- give it a try. We belive It is much better to stay at the Hyatt and visit your college kid at USF, about 13 miles from USF. When you stay at the Hyatt, you are closer to the International Plaza Mall, which is far superior to the shopping near USF. The restaurant selection is much better near the Hyatt, too.

Room Tip: The fifth floor where we stayed was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerwithfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the view from your room. With our hotel's convenient location, it allows our guest convenient access to local restaurants & attractions.We hope to have another opportunity to bring you back to our hotel! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a conference at which I was a presenter last spring. Everything about the hotel was accommodating, comfortable, and just plain easy. I used the business center several times with no problem -- high-speed internet, printers, all I needed for work. The conference rooms were spacious, well-outfitted with audiovisual and other equipment, and comfortable for both large-group sessions and breakouts. My personal room was very comfortable, quiet, and conducive to both rest and getting work done. The pool was lovely, the food was quite good, and the common sitting areas very nice for just relaxing and watching people. Every person who helped me -- during check-in and -out, when I needed a parking pass, when I needed advice on a local shopping mall -- was courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel both for business and for pleasure, and kudos to the management for keeping the place spotlessly clean and in very nice condition.

Room Tip: I stayed on an upper floor and had absolute peace and quiet. Maybe that's the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Situated on approximately 35 acres of bay front park like property this recently renovated hotel offers all the amenities of a fine hotel. Booked to host a reunion, we had a hospitality suite, a block of rooms reserved for our group with breakfast and Internet services included. It is close to the airport but not on the glide path, so noise isn't an issue. Armani's is a lovely fine dining restaurant on the top floor with a deck and superb views of the waterfront and surrounding area. There are a couple of other places to eat right off the lobby. An elevated boardwalk allows the guest to walk the grounds in comfort. There are casitas available and another restaurant located right, on the bay. An added feature is a gazebo accessible by using the boardwalk where you could relax with a beverage while taking in the view. Of course there are is a pool , spa and fitness center. The only reason for not giving this hotel a 5 star rating is because the blankets used on the beds are very worn and should have been discarded during the renovation process.

Room Tip: Choose bay view or bay front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretL377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Fl
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When I needed a getaway but didn't care to leave the Bay Area I chose this place for a three night stay in a Casita Suite. The Casitas, and Casita suites are located on the resort hide of the hotel which is a good length away from the main building which you can get to by shuttle or by taking the scenic boardwalk (Hint...if you're checking in take the shuttle...those little suitcase rollers on the boardwalk were not condusive to speed)

The Suite itself was gorgeous. Two levels, french doors opening to the bay, a large glass shower, mini kitchen with wine refrigerater as well as regular mini frig, a view from the upstairs bedroom to kill for!

Outside the front door were koi ponds and lovely grounds along with a private walkway that led to a private beach, pool area and large docking area for your boat.

Upon check in I received a bottle of wine with cheeses and fruits and had plenty for two evening worth of snacks before heading out for dinner. They have Armani's restaurant as well as Oystercatchers here (See seperate reviews) which are both lovely in themselves.

Room service was prompt and delicious. Maids were unseen and efficient.

The only issue I had was when I decided to stay an extra night the front desk clerk told me they were "fully committed" so I went online and booked a casita room no issue. I then called the front desk and spoke to same person who stated "someone must have cancelled" I requested to be upgraded to Casita Suite and to stay in the same room I was in. Her reply? "Of course for $150 more per night" Not an issue,my issue is why the games? She coudl have very easily rebooked the same room for me without jumping through hoops. At the $500 price range per night I expect more than that.

Everything else was terrific and I would stay again in a New York Minute

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vgonzalez2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Great customer service mixed with well kept grounds, and beautifully appointed guest rooms can make for the most enjoyable stay possible. We do apologize for any confusion regarding extending your reservations. We will be sure to follow up with our Front Office staff regarding your concerns. We hope to welcome you back again soon! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Service is the name of the game at this Tampa hotel. Great location right near the airport and excellent rooms and facilities in the main hotel. Probably stayed here 20 times in the last 10 years and everything is always top notch. Two great restaurants on site, work out facility great and I cant say enough good things about the Hyatt staff.

I will say that on my last visit, I decided to try one of the casitas, which are located in a separate facility about 1/4 mile from the main hotel, right near Oystercatchers (an awesome restaurant fyi). Casitas are one bedroom suites with patios and while I really enjoyed the privacy, a word of warning for light sleepers, they are right below the main take off path from the Tampa airport and you really hear the planes starting at 5 am. Never had that problem in the main hotel so while I enjoyed the casitas and am staying at the Hyatt again next week, this time I'll be back in the main hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the Casitas if you want to sleep; While they are awesome and private; they are directly on one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#11 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing