We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night in tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
portsmouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last night in tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were on holiday from the UK and staying at indian rocks beach but wanted an extra night so we stayed near the airport before flying to Toronto.
Picked this hotel for location primarily but also quality.
We were very happy with the hotel. Room was clean and well furnished. There was no fridge but we asked at reception and they sent one up with no delay.
I was able to check in for the flight in the hotel lobby which was great aswell.
We used the pool, which was a bit of a surprise as it was very cold! well at least compared to the one we had enjoyed for the week at the condo. Was fine for one night but would have been dissapointing if we had been staying for the week here.
All the staff were very friendly and stored our bags when we arrived before check in time.
Only real criticism is the terrible road signs. Nothing... Even when i could see the hotel which road to take isnt clear and there doesnt seem to be any signs pointing you the right way.
Other than that, very happy to use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thyrus_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
washington, dc
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent two nights here in December 2012. Excellent, quiet location. Very clean.
Amazing breakfast bar, which is included in the room price if you mention that you have AAA.
Was able to check in to my flight from the hotel lobby.
Concierge very helpful, printed out many directions and information on tourist destinations for me.

Room Tip: You pay more for the water view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay for your recent visit to Tampa. I’m pleased that you found the property to be well appointed and the service to be top notch. It sounds like you really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Petey Brown’s. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Outstanding location on the edge of the Bay. Airport close by. Beaches stretch out to the west. Hotel in generally good shape and personnel well-trained and attentive. Rooms are what you expect at a Grand Hyatt.
Be there close to sunset...thats what makes this worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m pleased you had a wonderful experience and found the property and room to be well appointed. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay for your recent visit. I look forward to your return in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent 4 nights here with my wife while she was at a meeting in the hotel. The hotel itself is nice overall with some common areas being a bit tired. The rooms are clean, modern, renovated and there is a small resort attached so it has all the services you could require. Saying that, the property is located on some reclaimed land between the interstate, airport and Old Tampa Bay. There is nothing to do close by at all (especially by foot). Even going for a quick 4 or 5 mile run from here is nearly impossible as the only way in or out is via the highway (there a nearby running trail but it doesn't go very far and follows the Interstate). You will need to rent a car (free parking) if you want to get out to the beach or go into the city. I should mention that despite the airport/interstate location none of that noise entered the room but you could hear some of it out by the pool.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RyleyinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

At a recent visit to the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay I found the hotel to be in great shape and a good non-city location. They are very convenient to the airport, noise free, but also on the water and have great sunset views. Top quality. The only element is that there are two smaller pool areas, not on large one. For those looking for more quaint pool experiences, this is good. For those looking for a larger beach type area, not quite there. Service and food quality were great. Again - nice option.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay are great as you get the sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We usually stay at the Tampa Waterside Marriott, but chose the Grand Hyatt this visit to compare. The location is very convenient to the airport; however, our GPS had a difficult time finding the hotel's entrance and exit on the Causeway. There was no one immediately available at Valet so we chose to park in the parking garage which was very easy if you don't have much luggage. Check-in was easy and they offer a Kiosk for rapid check in and check out. The Suite's are in another building so, we chose to stay in a regular room inside the hotel for the convenience of dining at Armani's that evening. The room was clean and updated complete with our own refrigerator and the bed was comfortable. I didn't notice any balcony rooms. There was a convention in the hotel but no overcrowding. The breakfast buffet was as expected and dinner at Armani's was nice. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here instead of Marriott Waterside provided the location was convenient to my needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5startraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a business trip at this hotel. While the hotel is fairly standard, the staff was exceptional and really went out of their way to accommodate our group. They have a free shuttle service and took us to the airport at an off hour. They also took us to a downtown restaurant a few miles away. When there was a mix up with the pick up time, they brought a complimentary snack to our rooms. Very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnito R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Le Meridien Tampa
#21 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Epicurean Hotel
#5 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#