We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
253 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Central location”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel has beautiful property grounds compared to many other hotels in Tampa, it is close to the airport, malls and attractions, lots of great places to dine in the area to. For us the best spot was the room that we chose we went with the casitas, they were spacious and updated, seemed like you wre in your own little villa. The only down fall our room had is that the fridge was not working and never did? The pool area by the casitas was very clean and nice, but the pools service was slow, we had to chase the girls down for a cocktail on a Saturday by the pool. Oyster Catchers is a great spot for breakfast and a very good spot to start your evening with a cocktail. Also they charge for internet, most hotels are changing this and offering free wifi, at the leel this hotel is at they should have free wifi. Given all that i would stay there again. It was nice and the staff was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    645
    168
    61
    27
See reviews for
524
713
148
840
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Whatever the management of this hotel is doing - they should bottle it and sell it to every hotel. Seriously, all of our needs and (unusual) requests were immediately provided for with grace and a smile.
The only disconnect is that they charge for Internet (really? in today's world?) and the business center (also w/charge) seems like it was skipped for three renovations.
DO use this hotel - the rooms, the public spaces (even a nature trail!) are exemplary. And, again, the staff was incredible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpdowdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad our staff was able to quickly assist you with your requests. We look forward to your next stay.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel is right next to the airport, was there four days and never heard any jet noise. Although close to the airport and by itself, the hotel had all the amenities of a coastal resort. A small beach area, a gazebo that juts into the bay, two pools, and a top floor terrace that overlooks the bay.
Shuttle was pretty good about taking you to venues in close proximity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 900ftjesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on there romance package which was amazing. They greeted us in our room with champagne and gave us $25 gift certificate for there reasturant. Our room was a 12 th floor corner room facing west with the sunset view simply amazing! Looking at the night sky line was so serene . When we went to osyster catches the employee made the reservation and we got our first drink free. Food was amazing !! Service amazing. We stayed here because we went to the bucs saints game which was 3 miles away!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Madeline P:

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the romance package offered to our guests. Our staff at OysterCatchers will be recognized for the fantastic service provided! We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were at the hotel for an event that took place there....so our "options" of where to stay were non-existent! So glad that was the case -- this hotel was amazing! Very conveniently located close to the airport (with a quick and easy shuttle service to and from) and great local shopping, it was the perfect choice. Gorgeous grounds (which I wish we had had more time to enjoy) including a bird sanctuary, a private mini-beach (in the confines of a city hotel -- imagine that!), two swimming pools and plenty of restaurants and food opportunities -- even the food we had poolside was excellent! The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were very clean. I highly recommend upgrading to the bayside view. It's magnificent and worth waking up to each morning. The party rooms were perfectly suited for our events and there were lots of places to gather comfortably with our extended family. Most importantly, the staff was so kind and accommodating...greeting us upon arrival and departure each time we went through the lobby...and eagerly and enthusiastically assisting us with our many requests for directions, information and anything else we needed. Truly, a wonderful hotel. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: -I would recommend upgrading to the Bayside and staying on a higher floor. The view is absolutely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacilav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Stacilav:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We're glad that everyone from our employees at the front desk to the delicious meals prepared by our restaurant chefs, went above your expectations. Our rooms provide some of the best views of the bay, in the area. Your comments & referral are greatly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very nice, newly-remodeled hotel. The rooms were very clean. The bed was comfortable. The air conditioning worked great. I like the temp to be cool for sleeping and had no problem with it here. The in-room food was good as well as the food served during the lunches at our business meetings. Sometimes hotel food for large business groups can be iffy. But the food served at lunch both days was terrific. The conference rooms where our business meetings were held were very comfortable as well. The hotel is very close to the airport which is a huge plus. There is a free shuttle to the airport that runs every half hour. If you happen to get a room on the bay side, the view of the bay is wonderful. The staff was very friendly. I liked the option to check in early online. This worked great since we arrived very late due to flight delays. We were told that they were out of king beds but since we checked in online before we left, our rooms (with king beds) were saved for us. I had a great stay and would definitely stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamb68116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. It sounds like your business trip was a success. I’m glad that you found your room to be well appointed and very comfortable. I will be sure to let the staff know that you found their service to be very friendly and helpful. Thank you for your recommendation it is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a gem.this property has a charm that gives you privacy if you want it. They offer rooms away from the madness or you can stay at the hotel. Oyster catcher's is the best seafood in the area with a view to match no other. Close to Clearwater Beach love love it can't wait to go back so relaxing.

Room Tip: Book early for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolneven77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I appreciate you sharing your recent experience at our property with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed the property and found Oystercatchers to be delicious. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.9 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
5.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing