We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tampa Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tampa Hotel!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is an awesome Tampa hotel equipped with nice rooms, good views, and cool outdoor experiences. Rooms are clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. The pool is really all the more to fuss about. With an onsite bar, walking trail with gazeboes, and two seconds away from the beach area, The landscape of the Grand Hyatt really gives one that Florida experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJourneyedOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,785
    677
    172
    63
    28
See reviews for
560
756
156
888
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The wife and I stayed there for two nights; Sept. 14 & 15. Nice room, 10th floor, great view of there wildlife estuary and the bay. Room was clean. Bathroom more than adequate. Front desk helpful. One of two phones in room did not work. Car valet excellent.
But. We stopped at concerige desk first night to ask for directions to Oystercatchers (we'd eater there before), an excellent sea food restaurant. Concerige said we had two choices, a golf cart shuttle or we could walk there via the above mentioned estuary. Having just arrived from L.A. we chose to walk but I asked about alligators (hey, what do I know, I'm a city guy). We were told that as it wasn't mating season, should not be a problem. We chose to risk it and left the bldg to find the path to Oystercatchers. Within 10 feet of leaving the building my wife almost jumped into my arms. When I asked her what was the matter, she said she thought she had heard a gator. She was not kidding. But there was nothing. On telling this to our waiter, he had a good laugh and said the concerige was just playing with us. Sounds funny to you and me but it wasn't to the wife.
Same concerige on being told that there was an odd smell on our floor confirmed that it was from their signature restaurant, Armani's and if we didn't like that particular smell, what would we like it to smell like? Since the odor was not nice, we didn't appreciate his attempt at humor in either case.
Back to the lovely wildlife estuary. In the dark, not much to see as you walk on an elevated walk way (unless alligators can fly, they ain't getting onto the path). But duing the daylight, it is quite pretty. But there is trash in the grove. The worst was a discarded tire. Lots' of paper and other items. Why wouldn't mgmt. see to it to clean each and every day?
We will be going back to Tampa at least twice a year to visit kids and will most probably stay here again. But it needs some fine tuning. I will do a report on Armani's.

Room Tip: high up on bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Has to rank as one of our best stays anywhere in the world.Troy hooked us up with a top floor overlooking the bay.The hotel has recently been redone and is fantastic.The room is large, new, and the beds are so comfortable.The top floor was very quiet.The bathroom was so modern with marble shower that works very well.The staff were all pleasant.Free parking .You don"t mind paying a little more if it is first class.It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stingraycane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I’m elated that you had such a great stay at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I’ll be sure to let Troy know that you found your room to be fantastic. With our recent guestroom renovation our guests will enjoy our beautifully appointed rooms. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Once you navigate the Tampa highways and figure out how to get into the property the good experiences begin. When we arrived at the hotel to check in, the first person who greeted us was the doorman who has been at the hotel for years. It was good to see the face of a dedicated long-term employee who takes his job seriously. During our stay I found that there were many familiar faces from our previous visits, including the waiter in the lounge. The entire staff was helpful and followed through on any requests. There is something good going on here with the management. The public areas were spotless. All of the rooms have been recently tastefully renovated. We were fortunate to be staying in one of the hotel's VIP suites this visit. It was clean and newly stylish. The main bathroom was all new and large and the shower was large enough for four people! I enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker in the room. This particular suite had three thermostats, two bathrooms and two large screen TVs, which were more than adequate for the two of us. The suite had a wonderful panoramic view of Tampa Bay and its sunsets which were placid. We had breakfast several times at Petey Brown's which has a menu as well as a buffet. (It is potentially a lower cost to use the buffet, as coffee is included in the price.) The hostess was cheerful and friendly. We did not visit the Oyster Catchers restaurant but several of our colleagues did and enjoyed the dining experience. There is buzz around the hotel that next year the lobby and lounges will be renovated. They are lovely and comfortable as they are. I'm sure there will be rough moments during construction, but I can see that the other changes they have made at this property have been for the good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled you had a wonderful time at our hotel. It's great to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated VIP suite. We're glad our staff made you feel right at home during your stay. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance. We look forward to your next stay.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here before leaving out on our cruise. The hotel was fabulous! Very clean, comfortable beds and helpful staff. The view was the best of all! If we return to Tampa, we will be staying at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henegars_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Henegars_girl!

Thank you for taking a quick moment to share about the recent stay you enjoyed with your husband at our hotel! We're glad we could provide you a comfortable place to relax before departing on your cruise. Our employees will be recognized for the great service that helped make your stay so memorable! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in September on a business trip. Had a room overlooking the bay. Rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Didn't have a very strong signal for the internet, but it was still pretty fast. I like the spacious shower in the bathroom. Didn't eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the restaurant or the food. Breakfast is not included. Staff was very efficient and friendly. They have valet parking for $12 a night or you can park your own car for free. Parking lot is very convenient to the hotel. While the hotel is very close to the airport, it was still very quiet and the beds were very comfortable. There is nothing within walking distance, so a vehicle is required to get around. They do have a free shuttle to the International Plaza which is very convenient. Overall, a very nice experience at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay for your recent visit to Tampa. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I’m pleased to read that you found your Bay view room to be very spacious and comfortable. We have recently completed a $17 million dollar guest room renovation. It’s great that you found our staff to be very efficient and friendly. We have a great property and an outstanding staff that want to make sure our guest have a fabulous experience. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment! We look forward to your next visit.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very nice hotel, well maintained and great rooms. I was there just for a night this week, but will return every time I'm in Tampa. There was a sort of friendly personality about it. The staff was friendly, efficient, welcoming but not over the top gushy as some luxury hotels are.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Tampa Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank five5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Your recommendation is our greatest compliment! It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have a fabulous experience. I’m delighted that you found the staff to be very friendly and efficient as well as the hotel to be well maintained. We have a great property with a fantastic staff that wants to ensure our guests have a terrific stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Tampa!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.9 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
6.1 mi away
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel & Marina
4.7 mi away
Epicurean Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
5.8 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 163 in Tampa
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Property: Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607-1479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers a unique retreat for business travelers and vacationers alike. This 4 Diamond, waterfront hotel set among 35 tropically landscaped acres offers 442 deluxe guest rooms including 23 suites, 45 casitas and exclusive Grand Club accommodations, two swimming pools, tennis courts, a nature trail, three restaurants including award winning Armani's high atop the 14th floor and Oystercatchers at the waters edge. Conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle and International Plaza & Bay Street Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing