We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff! Room a bit dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #20 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Staff! Room a bit dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was there for a convention, one that has been held in the hotel previously. The staff was OUTSTANDING. From check in, to room service, to valet parking attendents - everyone was above and beyond. The room, well - the carpet was stained and that was a little nasty. The carpet in the halls looked the same way - a little worn. My major gripe was the escalator wasn't working. Going up was OK, but not coming down. That would normally be no big deal, but I never did find the stairs, nor did most folks. The wait for the elevator took forever with most people going down from floor 2 to the lobby level. The escaltor was down before thursday and still down oon Sunday. Not a good thing with a convention taking place. Drinks were weak also - just saying. Overall I had a good time and the staff more than made up for the dated carpet and weak adult beverages.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamin-Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are glad you enjoyed the wonderful customer service that our associates provide to all of our guests. We apologize for the down escalator not functioning. The hotel had to complete a major repair in order for it to work in the future. Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

After being hassled by security several times I felt the need to write this review. While trying to locate my lost cell phone ab security guard took the liberty to start asking me for my credentials rather than attempting to aide me in my search and recovery of my missing $700 phone which I wanted to avoid needing to misplace. After that I felt like everywhere I went security wanted to hassle me. Even while leaving on the am the security confused me with another guest that had been removed from property but no matter where I went I guess being black gets you profiled unreasonably in Tampa. Maybe I should have worn my uniform to receive better service. On top of already high prices and broken doors in my room and several general area services in need of repair this was definitely one of the worst stays I've ever had at a Hilton. The only positive about the whole stay was the waiting staff. Christie was saving grace of the whole establishment. Maybe you should hire someone with her customer service experience to train your security staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about your experience. I would be more than happy to discuss your comments over the phone. You may call me in my office @ 813-222-4960. There was a large convention in the hotel that required you to have credentials in certain areas. Glad you enjoyed the service from Christie in 211 Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on June 15, 2014 for business.

Location: The hotel is in an excellent location in downtown Tampa. I was able to walk to/from the several offices with no problems. I didn't go out at night so I'm not sure what the night life scene is around the hotel.

Hotel: The hotel room is not very spacious, but it's totally fine and comfortable for one person. The bed was extremely comfortable with soft sheets, the desk had enough room for my things and the shower had good water pressure. The gym was packed at 5:45 am! There were no treadmills available and no towels to be found. I did not eat at the hotel's restaurants or bar, but I'm told by the locals it's great. I did use the very convenient downstairs Starbucks for breakfast.

Although my stay was less than 24 hours, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting downtown Tampa for it's convenience and cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr0Jettser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your one night stay at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are so glad that you found the hotel to be a great choice for your business trips to Tampa. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The rooms have been nicely renovated since the last time I was here, the staff is friendly and helpful. And once a year, Fetishcon is here, which is very interesting. A lot of fun people, and location in downtown Tampa is convenient.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are glad you enjoyed the renovated hotel and the awesome team of associates. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I'm an airline pilot, and I spend my life in hotels. The Tampa Hilton downtown is a first class hotel. You must enjoy a meal at the bar restaurant. If she's working, make sure you request Christie as your server. She is GREAT!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about the hotel. For someone that travels as much as you do, we really appreciate the comments you wrote. I will pass along the kudos to Christie in 211 Lounge. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Beautiful upscale, modern hotel. Lobby with it's Starbucks and restaurant was very nice. Breakfast every morning was very enjoyable, the friendly staff and service was superb. We were on the 18th floor and the view over the water was stunning , the room with the adjoining sitting room was very clean and comfortable . Can't think of anything I didn't like. My husband and I were there for an Avionics Convention so the walkover to the Convention Center was very convenient.

Room Tip: Beautiful views higher up.
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the organic products and food. The a/c was very quiet and environmentally friendly
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reb1297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome comments. The staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay while attending a meeting at the Convention Center. Come back to see us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a short business trip. I love the location in downtown Tampa. The rooms are incredibly clean and the beds are very comfortable. I love that they give you multiple pillow options that should suit any taste. The rooms are very updated and the bathrooms were great and clean.

I stayed on the 17th floor with a great view of downtown.

The downside is parking is expensive, especially if you need to come and go. I found a parking deck around the corner that was much cheaper than the hotel parking. However, if I were coming and going all week for business, I probably wouldn't choose this location because of the parking fees.

Overall, great locations, especially when I needed to be in downtown for one morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogsraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The hotel is perfect for someone doing business in the Downtown Area. The parking is comparable if not cheaper than the other hotels downtown. Please come back to stay with us next time you are in the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#21 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#77 of 160 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing