We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Conference Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleston SC, United States
1 review
“Conference Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall the hotel was located close to airport. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel does have a contracted shuttle service to and from the airport. The bar was cozy and the wait staff was friendly. The food at the conference was above average. The layout of the hotel was easy to navigate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay while attending your conference. The contracted shuttle service is top notch. The Food and Beverage team takes great pride in providing a delicious meal while in a great atmosphere. We hope that you will come stay with us again while in the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    369
    137
    51
    27
See reviews for
188
233
43
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is an ideal location for downtown area. Lots of good restaurants. Staff was excellent and always there to help. The meeting rooms were excellent and the food they served during our conference was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about the hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel, the staff and the surrounding area. If you are ever in the Tampa area again, we would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdal, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very helpful staff, very nice hotel... it was remodeled over the last few years, as i stayed here in 2010 for the bar exam... It is definitely even nicer now! Beds were clean and incredibly comfortable, great amenities, room view included the bay, and the Hilton is friendly to government/military discounts! Walking distance to a slew of great places to eat, and a nearby CVS. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you came back to stay with us. Sounds like you noticed the multi million dollar renovation we completed last year. Next time you are traveling in the area, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family came to Tampa for a wedding & this was the designated hotel. It was an above average experience beginning with a clean room and bathroom. Clean white linens. Crisp smell. Good value for the money ($116). No problems. Breakfast on Sunday on the way out was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. The staff here takes great pride at making sure every guest has an Above Standard Experience. We do that by providing clean rooms, good food, and awesome customer service. If you are ever back in the Tampa area, please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had 40+ blocked rooms for guests attending my daughter's wedding plus the wedding party. The personnel here is outstanding, meeting our every need with pleasant, reassuring friendliness. Particularly helpful was Bell Captain Antonio-he is a real asset to the Hilton.
My singular complaint is that the bathrooms are very small and not configured for sharing.
Excellent restaurant, bar and gift shop plus Starbucks.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are so happy that your daughter's group had a wonderful stay. I have shared your comments with Antonio and he was so happy to be recognized. He is a true asset to the hotel. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I work right next to the Hilton & was initially intimidated by the city quick paced flow of people coming through.
Trust me, don't be fooled! The Starbucks barista's are ready to serve AND humor you with the nicknames you put on the coffees.
I just got initiated into happy hour at the Hilton bar with the girls for happy hour. 1/2 off champagne and friendly faces?! Win win in my book.
Try one or the other-everyone will one will know your name by the end of the day, everyone will know your name.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Battlecreek64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hilton Tampa Downtown. I cannot agree with you more. The barista's in Starbucks are super. I don't know how they do it. Next time you are in the hotel, try and find either myself (Randy Kuiken) or Beth Muzik. We would love to meet you. Sounds like we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for a weekend for a conference and can not say enough how well we were treated. Everyone from the front desk, to the bell man, to the lounge. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. When in the lounge ask for Michael, he we fantastic and had great sense of humor. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. When checking out, our room rate was incorrect on our bill, we reserved although a travel company at a special rate, they corrected it immediately without question. If you plan a trip to downtown Tampa, you can not go wrong with this Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicaltwisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about the Hilton Tampa Downtown. The entire staff takes great pride in making sure every guest is treated well. I have shared your comments with Michael and he was very happy to get recognized. Next time your travels bring you to the Tampa area, we hope that you will come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#12 of 161 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Property: Hilton Tampa Downtown
Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing