We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the heart of it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Hilton Tampa Downtown was everything I expected and more. The staff were all TOP-NOTCH. From about an hour before arrival when we called to check on our room, front desk person Melanie was very pleasant and helpful on the phone. At check in, front desk staffer Xena was very kind and friendly, putting us up in a higher room overlooking the pool area, with a view of the bay in the distance. Parking specialist Brie was also very outgoing and personable in getting us set up in self-park. Even the gift shop cashier was great!... The room itself was perfect-- two double beds, VERY nicely appointed, well cleaned. The room came with a mini-fridge you can fill with your own items, and the showers have extremely good water pressure-- something you don't always see in hotels. The outside pool area is very nice-- 5th floor, with plenty of chairs, clean towels, a decent size pool and a hot tub. It's well landscaped with palm trees and shrubs, with views of surrounding skyscrapers. There is also a fitness center adjacent to the pool.... Self-park is a surface lot adjacent to the hotel, but costs an extra $16 a day-- a little less than valet. It was more than a little packed while we were there.... The hotel has plenty of ballrooms and meeting rooms on its second level. Both the 1st floor main entry and the second level common areas are covered by a small atrium skylight... There is a restaurant, bar, gift shop, and a connected Starbucks on the first floor, and plenty of computer stations (with printers) for use by patrons in the lobby. All in all, I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up facing south for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-Rich1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Greetings B-Rich1964,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It was nice to see you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you like the property and everything we have to offer.

Thank you for your comments about our staff, especially Melanie, Xena and Brie. It will be our pleasure to share your comments with them.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Again, I have had the pleasure of returning to the Hilton Tampa Downtown. I can not tell you how nice it is to stay at this hotel, as soon as you pull up to the front door the hospitality is over the top with a warm greeting and professional service. On this last trip in early May I had taken ill with no fault of the hotel, without getting into detail the hotel security had EMS take me to the local hospital and I could not believe how professional the hotel staff handled the situation. I was discharged from the hospital a day later and when I returned to my room there was a follow up call from security, that night the Manager Mr. Kym Nielsen sent up a plate of fresh fruit and some bottled water with a get well card. I went down and met Mr. Nielsen to complement him and his staff for a job well done and to tell him how good I feel his staff is. I can only hope he can see this review and if he does, Thank you Mr. Kym Nielsen for a job well done and for running such a wonderful hotel with a GREAT STAFF! I cant wait to return and stay at the Hilton Tampa Downtown.

Gregg J

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregg j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Greetings gregg j,

Thank you for staying with us again. Your gracious comments mean a lot to us and we were glad to see that you are feeling better.

We are happy you experienced the great customer service we are proud of. It will be a pleasure to thank Kym Nielsen and our whole staff for a job well done.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your good experience at our hotel and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great overall experience! Clean facilities, nice pool for a downtown-business property and great staff. The valet service was surprisingly one of the friendliest I have really ever experienced. Rooms were immaculate and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank johndV666DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Greetings johndV666DS,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We appreciate your comments.

We look forward to having you as our guest soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

On my visit to Tampa Bay I stayed at the Hilton Tampa Downtown.

It was a $25.00 taxi ride from the airport (yellow taxi) and the return (hotel taxi) was the same. From the hotel a typical fare to Ybor City (Night life is $7-10 with white taxis across the street in front of café or $10-15 with the hotel taxi. I also walked to Ybor city to get a feel for the city, it took about 45 minutes at a decent pace.

The room was well appointed and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and my view was nice.

At check in some readjustments were made to my reservation with ease. I did an express check out but stopped by the front desk to confirm. Both check in and out was simple and fast. Also, the staff were excellent and very helpful at the front desk and at the front door.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Greetings Adam F.,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to know that you enjoyed your stay, and things went smoothly with your check in and out.

Thank you for all your comments, especially the one about our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was in Tampa for a training seminar and stayed a few nights here. I thought overall it was a good experience. I really enjoyed the restaurant and service there...shout out to Stacie for taking exceptional care of me!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0nnieJeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Greetings BOonieJeans,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant, especially the service you received from Stacie We will pass along your comments to her and thank her for a job well done.

Thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your seminar.

If you travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the price is right! The breakfast buffet is very good and the pool Area and exercise room are clean. The very best thing this hotel has to offer is its employees. They are very good at their job. Try it and have a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Greetings Paul W,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your comments about the hotel and our staff. They are our #1 asset and their customer service is genuine. We are happy you had the opportunity to experience it.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First time staying at Hilton Downtown Tampa, but would definitely return. Hotel is clean, well maintained and convenient to the convention center. Staff was extremely courteous and attentive. Special shout out to Christie working in the bar for her outstanding & personable service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MackAttack389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Greetings MacAttack389,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your remarks about our hotel and staff, specially the one about the great service you received from Christie. We will make sure to share your comments with her. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#22 of 164 in Tampa
474 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 164 in Tampa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: $216 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing