We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
Ranked #15 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Knoxville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in December 2013. In short, I would definitely stay here again; we had a great experience.

What I liked:
1) Staff--they were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

2) Location--the location is in a very safe part of Tampa, and it was easy to get to from the interstate.

3) Starbucks--They have a full-service Starbucks.

4) Bathroom--The bathroom was small, but great. The water pressure in the shower was very strong, which is awesome.

What I didn't like:
1) Noise: I didn't notice any noise from the hallway, but I could hear the people next door talking. It seems that the sound came through the interconnecting doors. At one point, we could hear their entire conversation.

2) Internet speed--The internet speed is very slow, which isn't great since guests have to pay for the internet use. When hotels charge for the internet, particularly when the hotel is in a large city, I expect super-fast connections.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings Blake-Reagan,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your visit to our hotel. It was nice to know you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your feedback about the things you liked and did not like. We can only correct our shortcomings when we are aware of them and we appreciate you bringing to our attention the noise and internet speed.

We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    432
    159
    58
    32
See reviews for
227
289
51
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Modern decor and an edgy feel pervade the bar and lobby which are conducive to mingling with other travelers or working solo at technology web-stations in the lobby. Hotel is within walking distance to most major downtown office towers and a handful of good restaurants. Harbor Island experience is also nearby along with access to all major freeways.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Theodore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings Theodore S.,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments about our hotel especially about the bar/lobby. It was nice to see that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The wife and I stayed here for the weekend and really enjoyed the hotel. Rooms and attached Starbucks was nice! Very modern with the free use of computers and iPads in the lobby area. Nice hotel...would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings Daniel S.,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see your weekend stay with your wife was enjoyable. Our new Starbucks and Technology lounge with the computers and iPads have been a great addition to our hotel and it is great that you had the opportunity to enjoy it. Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLA.
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed there December 14,2014 with another couple for one night and we were pleasantly surprised. Modern and spotless lobby. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean. I booked through the Hilton Honors site and got a great deal.Only negative was valet parking was $20. I will visit again. convenient to shopping, Ybor city and Hard Rock Casino.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNJAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings Johnjax,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our lobby and newly renovated guest rooms.

We apologize for the valet parking fee. Our prices are comparable with other hotels in the downtown area. We do offer self parking for a little less than valet.

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Other then the ones way streets in Tampa, my stay was wonderful. Starting out, the bellhops are worth their weight and for their tips. The room was I requested. Staff through out where nice. They were very friendly and helpful checking in. Breakfast was good, dinner down in restaurant was very nice. My server Mary, has to be among the best waitress in the business-thank you /

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Battman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings Battman B,

Thank you for staying with us. After reading your comments, we are glad to see that you had a great time. We appreciate your kind comments about the food and the staff, especially Mary, one of our servers in the restaurant. It will be a pleasure to thank her on your behalf for meeting your expectations of great customer service.

We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I drove up to Tampa for a weekend get-a-way. It was our first visit to Tamp and pleasantly surprised by the Hiltons central location near a variety of restaurants and entertainment outlets. We were greeted at the front desk by a a delightful young lady named Jackie. She was professional, helpful and always had a warm smile making our stay memorable with a dedsire to return. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34467John_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Greetings 34467 John_C,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our city, Tampa. We are glad to see that one of the members of our staff, Jackie, made such an impression on you. It will be a pleasure to thank her for representing the Hilton Tampa Downtown so well.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. Very friendly and efficient staff. Had an excellent sleep as beds were very comfortable. Had dinner one evening which was very good and enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning. I even managed to get down to the pool on the last day for a few hours which was a real treat.

Thoroughly recommend and will definitely stay here again when next in town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank scott r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Greetings Scott R,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your remarks about our staff, beds, dinner and pool.

We are glad to see that your stay at our hotel went very well and you had a very good night sleep. Thank you for your comments.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 163 in Tampa
415 reviews
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#23 of 163 in Tampa
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Property: Hilton Tampa Downtown
Address: 211 N Tampa St, Tampa, FL 33602-5805 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing